Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

China.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home

Canada-China Relations

Fact Sheet | PDF Version * (140 KB)


Pierre Trudeau and Mao Zedong
   

Bilateral relationship

Canada’s relationship with China is long-standing and dates from well before the establishment of diplomatic relations in 1970.

Canada is represented by an embassy in Beijing and consulates general in Chongqing, Guangzhou, Hong Kong and Shanghai. These diplomatic missions are supported by a secondary network of 10 trade offices, spread across the country, which are operated through an arrangement with the Canadian Commercial Corporation.

We work with China at the federal, provincial, territorial and municipal levels. Areas of engagement include trade and investment, environment and climate change, law enforcement, education and culture, and consular affairs.

Cooperation

Through a variety of initiatives, Canada supports work in China on the rule of law, women and children, peaceful pluralism and respect for diversity. We are also actively promoting international norms and values. The Canada Fund for Local Initiatives provides small grants for projects across China that address environmental sustainability, good governance, civil society development and rights protection for disadvantaged groups.

The Canada-China relationship is bolstered by the work of important bilateral mechanisms. These include, but are not limited to:

  • Annual Dialogue between the Prime Minister of Canada and the Premier of China
  • Economic and Financial Strategic Dialogue
  • Foreign Affairs Ministers Dialogue
  • Ministerial Dialogue on Climate Change
  • Ministerial Dialogue on Environment
  • National Security and Rule of Law Dialogue

Trade and economic relationship

The Canadian Trade Commissioner Service has identified significant commercial opportunities for Canadian companies in a number of key sectors that are well suited to Canadian capabilities and interests. These include: aerospace, agriculture and agri-food, clean technology, education, mining and energy, engineering, design and infrastructure services, health services and life sciences. In addition to these priority sectors, important opportunities for Canadian companies exist in automotive and innovative transportation, information and communication technologies, consumer products, and tourism.

Canadian innovation in areas such as agri-food processing, health and life sciences, and clean technology are of particular interest to a Chinese market transitioning to middle-class consumer-led growth. Canadian Trade Commissioners also analyze and interpret China’s outbound capital trends, and build relationships with key stakeholders to assist Canadian businesses seeking strategic investment opportunities and access to this market.

Canada also proactively manages a strategic relationship with China on economic policy, trade policy, market access and regulatory cooperation, an effort supported in-country by a team of professionals drawn from Canadian federal departments and agencies including Finance Canada, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, the Canadian Food Inspection Agency, the Canadian Border Services Agency, Innovation Science and Economic Development, and Natural Resources Canada.

Our connections

Strong people-to-people ties link Canada and China: over 1.8 million Canadian residents are of Chinese origin, and in 2018, more than 140,000 Chinese students attended Canadian educational institutions. Chinese is Canada’s third most spoken language after English and French, and immigrants born in China (including the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region) form one of the largest groups within Canada’s immigrant population. Growing tourism flows and ongoing cultural exchanges enrich bilateral linkages.

Partners and organizations

Both nations also enjoy an active working relationship in international organizations, such as the G20, the United Nations, Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation, and the World Trade Organization, in support of global peace, security, and prosperity.


* If you require a plug-in or a third-party software to view this file, please visit the alternative formats section of our help page.

Footer

Date Modified:
2019-03-22

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Chine.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil

Relations Canada-Chine


Pierre Trudeau et Mao Zedong
   

Fiche documentaire | version PDF * (140 KB)

Relations bilatérales

Le Canada entretient des relations avec la Chine depuis longtemps, bien avant l'établissement des relations diplomatiques en 1970.

Le Canada est représenté par une ambassade à Beijing et des consulats généraux à Chongqing, Guangzhou, Hong Kong, et Shanghai. Ces missions diplomatiques sont soutenues par un réseau secondaire de dix bureaux commerciaux, répartis dans tout le pays, qui sont gérés dans le cadre d'un accord avec la Corporation commerciale canadienne.

Nous travaillons avec la Chine aux niveaux fédéral, provincial, territorial et municipal, dans les domaines du commerce et de l'investissement, de l'environnement et des changements climatiques, de l’application de la loi, de l'éducation et de la culture, ainsi que des affaires consulaires.

Coopération

Pas le biais de diverses initiatives, le Canada s’efforce de renforcer la primauté du droit, les droits des femmes et des enfants, le pluralisme pacifique et d’augmenter le respect pour la diversité. Nous promouvons aussi activement les normes et valeurs internationales. Le Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales accorde de petites subventions à des projets en Chine qui traitent de la durabilité environnementale, de la bonne gouvernance, du développement de la société civile et de la protection des droits des groupes défavorisés.

Les relations entre le Canada et la Chine sont renforcées par le travail d'importants mécanismes bilatéraux, notamment, mais sans s'y limiter:

  • Dialogue annuel entre le premier ministre du Canada et le premier ministre de la Chine
  • Dialogue stratégique économique et financier
  • Dialogue des ministres des affaires étrangères
  • Dialogue ministériel sur le changement climatique
  • Dialogue ministériel sur l'environnement
  • Dialogue sur la sécurité nationale et l'état de droit

Relations commerciales et économiques

Le Service des délégués commerciaux du Canada a identifié d’importants débouchés commerciaux pour les entreprises canadiennes dans certains secteurs clés qui conviennent bien aux capacités et aux intérêts canadiens. Ceux-ci incluent : l’aérospatiale, l’agriculture et l’agroalimentaire, les technologies propres, l’éducation, les mines et l’énergie, l’ingénierie, les services de conception et d’infrastructure ainsi que les services de santé et les sciences de la vie. Outre ces secteurs prioritaires, il existe d’importantes possibilités pour les entreprises canadiennes dans les secteurs de l’automobile et du transport innovateur, des technologies de l’information et des communications, des produits de consommation et du tourisme.

L'innovation canadienne dans des domaines tels que la transformation agroalimentaire, les sciences de la vie et de la santé et les technologies propres présente un intérêt particulier pour un marché chinois en transition vers une croissance principalement stimulée par la consommation au sein de la classe moyenne. Les délégués commerciaux du Canada contribuent aussi à analyser et interpréter les tendances en matière de capital sortant de la Chine et établir des relations avec des intervenants clés afin d’aider les entreprises canadiennes à la recherche d’investissements stratégiques ou désirant accéder au marché chinois.

Le Canada gère également de manière proactive un engagement stratégique avec la Chine en matière de politique économique, d'accès au marché et de coopération réglementaire. Ces efforts sont soutenus dans le pays par une équipe de professionnels représentant les intérêts d’organismes canadiens, notamment Finances Canada, Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada, l’Agence d'inspection des aliments du Canada, l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada, Innovation, science et développement économique Canada et Ressources naturelles Canada.

Nos liens

Le Canada et la Chine entretiennent des liens étroits: plus de 1,8 million de résidents canadiens sont d'origine chinoise, et, en 2018, plus de 140 000 étudiants chinois ont fréquenté des établissements d'enseignement canadiens. Le chinois est la troisième langue la plus parlée au Canada après l'anglais et le français. Les immigrants nés en Chine (y compris dans la région administrative spéciale de Hong Kong) forment l'un des plus grands groupes de la population immigrante au Canada. Les flux touristiques croissants et les échanges culturels en cours enrichissent les liens bilatéraux.

Partenaires et organisations

Nos deux pays entretiennent également des relations de travail actives au sein d’organisations internationales telles que le G20, l’Organisation des Nations Unies, la Coopération économique Asie-Pacifique et l’Organisation mondiale du commerce, en faveur de la paix, de la sécurité et de la prospérité mondiales.


* Si vous avez besoin d'un plugiciel ou d'un logiciel tiers pour accéder à ce fichier, veuillez consulter la section formats de rechange de notre page aide.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2019-03-22