Statement by the Lima Group in response to the retaliatory actions taken by Venezuela against Panama for their imposition of increased financial scrutiny on Venezuelan officials and companies

Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Honduras, Guatemala, Mexico, Paraguay and Peru expressed their support for Panama following measures adopted by Venezuela against Panamanian authorities and companies in retaliation for the list of high-risk Venezuelans that Panama recently issued.

The above-noted countries regret that the Venezuelan government, instead of contributing to the global community’s efforts to defend democracy and human rights, as well as protecting international financial systems, continues to violate constitutional order as well as international standards , adopting measures to the detriment of the region’s countries and its citizens through a list that lacks both substance and a legal framework. The countries also condemn the fact that these measures limit the region’s connectivity and make travel difficult for thousands of Venezuelans and Latin Americans who use Panama as an air-transportation hub.

The countries reiterate their call for the Government of Venezuela to commit to seeking a solution to the political, economic, social and humanitarian crisis that affects its citizens and all the countries of the region.

Déclaration du Groupe de Lima en réponse aux mesures de rétorsion prises par le Venezuela contre le Panama suite à l’imposition d’un contrôle financier accru aux autorités et entreprises vénézuéliens

L’Argentine, le Brésil, le Canada, le Chili, la Colombie, le Costa Rica, le Honduras, le Guatemala, le Mexique, le Paraguay et le Pérou ont exprimé leur soutien au Panama, dont les autorités et les entreprises font face à des mesures de représailles de la part de la République bolivarienne du Venezuela, cela parce que le Panama a publié récemment une liste de Vénézuéliens à risque élevé.

Les pays mentionnés ci-dessus déplorent que le gouvernement vénézuélien, plutôt que de contribuer aux efforts de la communauté internationale pour défendre la démocratie et les droits de la personne, et pour protéger le système financier mondial, continue à agir à l’encontre de l’ordre constitutionnel et des normes internationales, en adoptant des mesures nuisibles aux pays de la région et à leurs populations, au moyen d’une liste qui n’a pas de substance ni de fondement juridique. Ces pays condamnent le fait que ces mesures restreignent la connectivité de la région et entravent les déplacements aériens de milliers de Vénézuéliens et de Latino-Américains pour lesquels le Panama est une plaque tournante.

Ces pays réitèrent leur appel au gouvernement du Venezuela pour qu’il s’engage à chercher une solution à la crise politique, économique, sociale et humanitaire qui touche ses propres citoyens et se répercute sur tous les pays de la région.