CaMINA Award, a recognition for landmine victims in Colombia

From left to right: Mario Jesús Gonzalez (VICMA), Martha Guerrero (Network of Women from Chaparral), Jana Zikmundova (Ambassador of Belgium), Marcel Lebleu (Ambassador of Canadá), Alvaro Jiménez (Colombian Campaign Against Landmines), Mileyni Ramirez (ASOVIVIR), Adelmo Uni (ASODESAN) y Christina Plazas Michelsen (Reconciliación Colombia).

Bogotá, December 6, 2018

The Embassies of Canada and the Kingdom of Belgium, with the Colombian Campaign Against Landmines and the support of Reconciliación Colombia, held the ceremony for the second edition of the CaMINA Award (Walk, in Spanish), a recognition of local organizations that work to promote the rights of landmine victims and to empower them.

Three organizations were recognized by the CaMINA Award: the Association of Survivors Victims of Antipersonnel Mines and Unexploded Artifacts (ASOVIVIR) from Norte de Santander; the Landmine Victims Foundation (VICMA) from Santander; and the Network of Women from Chaparral (Tolima). The three organizations carry out mine risk education activities, as well as actions to support, accompany and guide landmine victims regarding their rights and how to access available services. These organizations are created by victims, who work for the rehabilitation and social and economic inclusion of other victims.

Mileyni Ramirez, legal representative of ASOVIVIR, received the CaMINA 2018 Award. Visibly moved, Mileyni said that she was overwhelmed with joy by this recognition: "I am the only woman, and the youngest, in our organization, representing a battalion of men. I am thrilled, and I thank you and all the members of ASOVIVIR." In 2014, Mileyni lost her leg in an accident caused by a landmine. Since then she has remained strong, not only leading ASOVIVIR, but also advancing her university studies and becoming a mother.

As part of the award, ASOVIVIR will receive COP$ 10 million (Can$4000) to continue its work in the violence and conflict-affected Catatumbo region. In addition, thanks to Reconciliación Colombia and its partners, ASOVIVIR and the VICMA Foundation will receive mentoring to strengthen their organization.

The ceremony was hosted by the Ambassador of Canada Marcel Lebleu, the Ambassador of Belgium Jana Zikmundova, the Coordinator of the Colombian Campaign against Mines Alvaro Jiménez, the Director of Reconciliation Colombia Christina Plazas Michelsen and Adelmo Uni of ASODESAN, winner of the CaMINA Prize in 2017. Guests included representatives of organizations that carry out mine action activities in the country, civil society, government representatives and the diplomatic community.

The CaMINA Award was created in 2017 to commemorate  the 20th anniversary of the Ottawa Convention, the international treaty that banned the production and use of landmines and other non-conventional devices.

Le Prix CaMINA, une reconnaissance pour les victimes de mines antipersonnel en Colombie

De gauche à droite : Mario Jesús Gonzalez (Fondation d'aide aux victimes des mines antipersonnel), Martha Guerrero (Réseau des femmes de Chaparral), Mme Jana Zikmundova (Ambassadeur de Belgique), Marcel Lebleu (Ambassadeur du Canada), Alvaro Jiménez (Campagne colombienne contre les mines antipersonnel), Mileyni Ramirez (ASOVIVIR), Adelmo Uni (ASODESAN) et Christina Plazas Michelsen (Reconciliación Colombia).

Bogota, le 6 décembre 2018

Les ambassades du Canada et du Royaume de Belgique, en partenariat avec la Campagne colombienne contre les mines antipersonnel et le soutien de Reconciliación Colombia, ont organisé, pour la deuxième année consécutive, une cérémonie de remise du Prix CaMINA (« Marche », en espagnol). Ce prix souligne le travail des organisations locales qui font la promotion des droits des victimes des mines et aident à leur autonomisation.

Trois organisations ont été récompensées par le prix CaMINA : l'Association des victimes de survivants des mines antipersonnel et des munitions non explosées (ASOVIVIR) de la région Norte de Santander, la Fondation d'aide aux victimes des mines terrestres (VICMA) de Santander et le Réseau des femmes de Chaparral (Tolima). Les trois organisations mènent des activités d’éducation aux dangers des mines ainsi que des actions visant à soutenir, accompagner et guider les victimes de mines terrestres par rapport à leurs droits et les moyens d’accéder aux services disponibles. Ce sont des organisations créées par les victimes, qui travaillent pour la réhabilitation et l'inclusion sociale et économique des autres victimes.

Mileyni Ramirez, représentante légale d'ASOVIVIR, a reçu le Prix CaMINA 2018. Visiblement touchée, Mileyni ne contenait plus sa joie et sa fierté face à cette reconnaissance : « Je suis la seule femme et la plus jeune de notre organisation, représentant un bataillon d’hommes. Je suis si heureuse, merci à vous et à tous les membres d’ASOVIVIR. » En 2014, Mileyni a perdu sa jambe suite à un accident causé par une mine. Depuis, elle est restée forte, a travaillé d’arrache-pied non seulement avec ASOVIVIR, mais a aussi a poursuivi  ses études universitaires et est devenue  mère.

Dans le cadre de cette récompense, ASOVIVIR recevra 10 millions de pesos colombiens pour poursuivre ses travaux dans la région de Catatumbo. De même, grâce à Reconciliación Colombia et à ses partenaires, ASOVIVIR et la Fondation VICMA recevront des services de mentorat pour favoriser leur renforcement organisationnel.

L'ambassadeur du Canada, M. Marcel Lebleu, l'ambassadrice de Belgique, Mme Jana Zikmundova, la coordinatrice de la Campagne colombienne contre les mines antipersonnel, Alvaro Jiménez, la directrice de  Réconciliación Colombia, Christina Plazas Michelsen et Adelmo Uni d'ASODESAN, lauréat du prix CaMINA 2017, ont assisté à la cérémonie. De plus, des représentants d’organisations menant des activités de déminage dans le pays, la société civile, des représentants du gouvernement, ainsi que la communauté diplomatique comptaient parmi les invités.

Le prix CaMINA a été créé en 2017 lors de la commémoration du 20e anniversaire de la Convention d'Ottawa, le traité international interdisant la production et l'utilisation de mines antipersonnel et d'autres dispositifs non conventionnels.