Canada launch of the Women's Voice and Leadership project during “Mesa por la vida” event in Cali, Colombia

Canada believes that societies are more prosperous, peaceful and secure when women’s rights are respected, when their voices are heard, when their priorities are reflected in policy outcomes and when they can exercise their leadership at all levels of society.

Today, Canada’s Ambassador to Colombia, Marcel Lebleu, announced CAD $5 million in funding over five years to strengthen the capacity of local women’s rights organizations in Colombia, in partnership with Oxfam-Quebec. Ambassador Lebleu made this announcement during a speech he delivered at an event with the Inspector General Fernando Carrillo, the National Ombudsman Carlos Negret, the Presidents of all Colombian High Courts, the local Governor and Mayor, the Directors of several local and national government entities, local leaders and human rights defenders.

Women’s rights organizations have long played a key role as agents of change in Colombia, helping to advance democratic, economic and peacebuilding agendas. The Women’s Voice and Leadership – Colombia project will support local women’s rights organizations, especially in rural areas, to increase their capacity to advance their priorities while strengthening networks to advance women’s rights on a national scale. Oxfam-Québec plans to launch a call for proposals later this year and more information will be available soon.

The Women’s Voice and Leadership initiative was launched in 2017 as part of Canada’s Feminist International Assistance Policy. It responds to the needs of local women’s organizations and movements in developing countries, which are working to advance the rights of women and girls and promote gender equality. Globally, Canada committed $150 million over five years to the Women’s Voice and Leadership initiative.

Lancement par le Canada du projet Voix et leadership des femmes lors de l'événement « Mesa por la vida » à Cali, en Colombie

Le Canada estime que les sociétés sont plus prospères, pacifiques et sûres lorsque les droits des femmes sont respectés, lorsque leurs voix sont entendues, lorsque leurs priorités sont reflétées dans les résultats des politiques et quand elles peuvent exercer leur leadership à tous les niveaux de la société.

L’ambassadeur du Canada en Colombie, Marcel Lebleu, a annoncé aujourd’hui un financement de 5 millions de dollars canadiens sur cinq ans pour renforcer la capacité des organisations locales de défense des droits des femmes en Colombie, en partenariat avec Oxfam-Québec. L’Ambassadeur Lebleu a fait cette annonce lors du discours prononcé devant le Procureur Général Fernando Carrillo, le Médiateur National Carlos Negret, les présidents des cours supérieures de Colombie, le Gouverneur et le Maire local, ainsi que les directeurs entités gouvernementales locales et nationales, dirigeants locaux et défenseurs des droits de l'homme.

Le programme Voix et leadership des femmes - Colombie aidera les organisations locales de défense des droits des femmes, en particulier dans les zones rurales, à renforcer leurs capacités à faire progresser leurs priorités tout en renforçant les réseaux de défense des droits des femmes à l'échelle nationale. Oxfam-Québec planifie lancer un appel de propositions plus tard cette année.   

L’initiative Voix et le leadership des femmes a été lancée en 2017 dans le cadre de la Politique canadienne d’assistance internationale féministe. Elle répond aux besoins des organismes et mouvements de défense des droits des femmes au niveau local, dans les pays en développement, qui s’emploient à promouvoir les droits des femmes et des filles et à promouvoir l’égalité entre les sexes. Mondialement, le Canada a consacré 150 millions de dollars sur cinq ans à l’initiative Voix et leadership des femmes.