Message from the Ambassador

I am honoured to represent Canada in Colombia. Canada has much to offer this great country. Canada has one of the highest standards of living in the world, and is consistently rated as a global leader in quality of life. Our country is a world leader in innovation, education and technology. Canada is a major market, and source of global investment. We have built a tolerant and inclusive society, where people from all over the world are welcome. Mobility between our two countries is easier than ever, and young Colombians interested in studying in Canada now have increased opportunities.

Canada is convinced that Colombia in peace will realize its extraordinary potential. Rooted in our strategic engagement with the Americas, our goals in Colombia are to increase economic opportunity, strengthen security and institutions, and promote human rights. As like-minded-countries, Canada and Colombia have succeeded in broadening our relationship. We have worked together to:

  • Strengthen our mutual prosperity through an innovative free trade agreement.
  • Promote peace and development in Colombia through post-conflict support programs.
  • Reduce poverty for thousands through a diverse development-assistance program.
  • Increase mobility and people-to-people relationships between our peoples.
  • Enhance our mutual security by working together to combat transnational crime and terrorism.
  • Advance regional and international cooperation in areas such as climate change and peace operations.

As Colombia moves towards a comprehensive peace settlement the prospects for an enduring peace and enhanced economic development are stronger than ever. The Canadian Embassy team looks forward to working with our Colombians friends to build this important relationship, as well as with the Pacific Alliance, a regional initiative created in 2011 by Chile, Colombia, Mexico and Peru that seeks the free movement of goods, services, capital and people. I also look forward to working with the creative youth of Colombia, and introducing them to Canada has to offer.

I hope you will enjoy our website which is designed to provide you with useful information about how can connect with Canada. I also invite you to follow me on Twitter@marcel_lebleu

Sincerely,

Marcel Lebleu
Ambassador of Canada in Colombia


Biography

B.Sc., Montreal University/University of Massachusetts) and completed the coursework of the M.Sc. Management program of the « École des Hautes Études Commerciales » (affiliated to Montreal University). He is also a "Certified International Trade Professional" (FITT).

Following assignments in Cameroon, Costa Rica, Argentina and Spain as Commercial Counsellor, he was appointed Director and Senior Trade Commissioner of the Quebec Regional office of the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade. He was subsequently appointed Director General for Regional Operations and Intergovernmental Affairs in 2013. He served as Canada’s Ambassador to Chile (2015–2017) before being appointed Ambassador to Colombia in August 2017.

Distinctions:

  • Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal – 2013
  • "Employer of the year – Department of Foreign Affairs Regional Office" awarded by the "Forum for International Trade Training" – 2011

Message de l'Ambassadeur

C’est un honneur pour moi de représenter le Canada en Colombie. Le Canada a beaucoup à offrir à ce grand pays. Le Canada se place en tête des classements mondiaux de niveau de vie et occupe une position de chef de file international pour la qualité de vie. Notre pays est un leader mondial en innovation, éducation et technologie. Le Canada est un marché important à l’échelle mondiale et c’est une source globale d'investissement. Nous avons construit une société basée sur la tolérante et l’inclusion où des communautés du monde entier sont les bienvenues. La mobilité entre nos deux pays est plus facile que jamais, les jeunes Colombiens qui souhaitent étudier au Canada ont maintenant de nombreuses opportunités. Je suis également impatient de travailler avec la jeunesse créative colombienne et de montrer ce que le Canada peut offrir, notamment en terme de services éducatifs.

Le Canada est convaincu qu’une Colombie en paix pourra exploiter davantage son extraordinaire potentiel. Nos objectifs en Colombie visent à accroître les opportunités économiques, à renforcer la sécurité et les institutions et à promouvoir les droits de l’homme. Les valeurs en commun que nos deux pays partagent nous ont permis de renforcer nos relations.

Nous avons travaillé ensemble dans les domaines suivants :

  • Renforcer notre prospérité mutuelle grâce à un accord de libre-échange innovant.
  • Promouvoir la paix et le développement en Colombie par le biais de programmes appuyant le processus de paix.
  • Réduire la pauvreté pour des milliers de personnes grâce à divers programmes d’aide au développement.
  • Accroître la mobilité et les relations entre nos citoyens.
  • Améliorer notre sécurité mutuelle en travaillant ensemble pour lutter contre la criminalité et le terrorisme transnational.
  • Promouvoir la coopération régionale et internationale dans les domaines tels que le changement climatique et les opérations de maintien de la paix.

L’engagement de la Colombie sur la voie d’un processus intégral de paix accroît plus que jamais les perspectives de construction d’une paix durable et de renforcement du développement économique. Mon équipe et moi sommes impatient de travailler avec ses  nos amis colombiens pour renforcer cette importante relation ainsi qu’avec ses partenaires de l’Alliance du Pacifique, un bloc économique régionale formé par le Chili, la Colombie, le Mexique et le Pérou avec qui le Canada a entamé des négociations portant sur un éventuel accord de libre-échange, à Cali, Colombie le 23 octobre 2017

J'espère que vous apprécierez notre site internet qui est conçu pour vous fournir des informations utiles pour vous connecter avec le Canada. Je vous invite également à me suivre sur Twitter @marcel_lebleu.

Cordialement,

Marcel Lebleu
Ambassadeur du Canada en Colombie


Biographie

Marcel Lebleu a rejoint le Service des délégués commerciaux après avoir obtenu un B.Sc Économie (Université de Montréal/Université du Massachusetts) et une Maîtrise en Sciences de la Gestion à l'École des Hautes Études Commerciales de Montréal. Il est également « Professionnel accrédité en commerce international ».

Suite à des affectations au Cameroun, au Costa-Rica, en Argentine et en Espagne à titre de Conseiller commercial, il a assumé la direction du Bureau régional du Québec du Ministère des Affaires étrangères (MAE).  Il fut ensuite nommé directeur-général des opérations commerciales régionales et affaires intergouvernementales du MAE en 2013 puis Ambassadeur du Canada au Chili de 2015 à 2017. Il a été nommé ambassadeur du Canada en Colombie en août 2017.

Distinctions :

  • Médaille du jubilé de diamant de la reine Elizabeth II  - mai 2013
  • « Employeur de l’année - Bureau régional du Ministère des Affaires étrangères du commerce international»   Prix remis par le « Forum for International Trade Training » 2011