Canada - Democratic Republic of Congo Relations

Diplomatic Relations

Canada is active in the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) through diplomatic, international aid, humanitarian, security and trade channels. Canada contributes to the development of the DRC through its program of international aid and humanitarian assistance. Through its support to the UN peacekeeping mission in the DRC (MONUSCO), Canada contributes to national and international efforts to ensure the establishment of a lasting peace in the DRC, particularly in the eastern part of the country.

Canada in the Democratic Republic of Congo

In the DRC, Canada is represented by the Canadian Embassy in the Democratic Republic of Congo. The first Canadian ambassador was accredited in the DRC in 1962 and the embassy in Kinshasa opened its doors in 1965. The Embassy was closed from 1993 to 1997 to protest against human rights abuses by the Mobutu regime.

Democratic Republic of Congo in Canada

The Democratic Republic of Congo has been represented in Canada by an embassy in Ottawa since 1965.

Common Memberships

Both countries collaborate in multilateral fora such as the Organisation internationale de la Francophonie, and the United Nations.

Trade and Investments

Trade Relations

Canadian mining investments in the DRC are important, however, the business environment poses serious challenges to Canadian companies.

Trade relations between Canada and the DRC are modest. In 2018, Canadian exports reached nearly $15.1 M, while imports were close to $99.9 M. The top exports to the DRC are textiles, machinery, transport equipment and meat. The majority of imports is copper.

Canadian direct investments in the DRC amounted to $387 M in 2018.

Trade Agreements

There is currently no trade agreement between both countries.

Congolese Students in Canada

In 2018, there were 1 370 Congolese studying in Canada.

Development and Humanitarian Assistance

Canada has a development program in the DRC that prioritizes sexual and reproductive health and respect for the rights of women and girls, the protection of children and youth, and support for good governance. Canada is also supporting the fight against impunity for sexual and gender-based violence in order to challenge harmful and discriminatory social practices and provide assistance to thousands of women who have been victims of sexual violence. An important portion of Canadian international aid is delivered in the form of humanitarian assistance to populations affected by the conflicts in the DRC. Overall, Canada has contributed approximately $ 113 M (2017-2018) in international aid to the DRC. The DRC ranks 10th among countries receiving Canadian international aid. For more information on development projects with the DRC, see the Project Browser.

Canada funds local projects through the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives (CFLI), managed by the Embassy of Canada in Kinshasa, and also awards scholarships through the Canadian Francophonie Scholarships Program.

Security

Canada is concerned about human rights violations in the DRC, including acts of sexual violence, as well as conflicts and violence especially in the eastern part of the country. The DRC hosts the largest UN peacekeeping mission worldwide, MONUSCO, in terms of authorized deployment. In December 2019, the United Nations Security Council extended MONUSCO’s mandate (resolution 2502) until December 2020. The mandate maintains the dual core tasks of the mission: protection of civilians and supporting the stabilization and strengthening of the DRC’s state institutions.

Since 2011, Canada has provided more than $ 340 M (USD) in assessed contributions to MONUSCO. There are currently nine officers from the Canadian Armed Forces deployed to MONUSCO, they are experts in military operations, liaison and training. They serve in two places: at MONUSCO headquarters in Kinshasa, and at the secondary headquarters in Goma.

Other Relevant Information

January 2020

Relations Canada - République démocratique du Congo

Relations générales

Le Canada est engagé en République démocratique du Congo (RDC) à travers la diplomatie, l’aide internationale et humanitaire, un soutien sécuritaire et les échanges commerciaux. Le Canada contribue au développement de la RDC à travers son programme d’aide internationale et son soutien humanitaire. Avec son appui à la mission onusienne de maintien de la paix en RDC (MONUSCO), le Canada contribue aux efforts nationaux et internationaux afin d’assurer l’établissement d’une paix durable, particulièrement dans l’Est du pays.

Le Canada en République démocratique du Congo

Le Canada est représenté en RDC par l'ambassade du Canada en République démocratique du Congo. Le premier ambassadeur canadien a été accrédité en RDC en 1962 et l’ambassade à Kinshasa a ouvert ses portes en 1965. L’ambassade a été fermée entre 1993 et 1997 pour protester contre les violations des droits de la personne du régime Mobutu. 

La République démocratique du Congo au Canada

La RDC est représentée au Canada par une ambassade à Ottawa depuis 1965.

Organisations communes

Les deux pays collaborent au sein des organisations multilatérales telles que l’Organisation internationale de la Francophonie et les Nations Unies.

Commerce et investissements

Investissements et échanges commerciaux

Les investissements miniers canadiens en RDC sont importants, cependant, l’environnement des affaires pose de sérieux défis aux entreprises canadiennes.

Les relations commerciales entre le Canada et la RDC sont modestes. En 2018, les exportations canadiennes ont atteint près de 15,1 M$ tandis que les importations étaient de près de 99,9 M$. Les principales exportations vers la RDC sont le textile, la machinerie, le matériel de transport et la viande. La majeure partie des importations est constituée de cuivre.

Les investissements directs canadiens en RDC se sont élevés à 387 M$ en 2018.

Accords commerciaux

Il n’y a aucun accord en vigueur entre les deux pays.

Étudiants de la République démocratique du Congo au Canada

En 2018, il y avait 1 370 Congolais étudiant au Canada.

Développement et assistance humanitaire

Le Canada a un programme de développement en RDC priorisant la santé sexuelle et reproductive et le respect des droits des femmes et des filles, la protection des enfants et des jeunes, et l’appui à la bonne gouvernance. Le Canada apporte également un soutien à la lutte contre l’impunité liée aux violences sexuelles et basées sur le genre en vue de remettre en cause les pratiques sociales néfastes et discriminatoires et venir en aide à des milliers de femmes victimes de violences sexuelles. Une partie importante de l’appui canadien est livré sous la forme d’assistance humanitaire aux populations touchées par les conflits en RDC. En somme, le Canada a investi environ 113 M$ (2017-2018) en aide internationale pour la RDC. La RDC est au 10e rang en tant que pays bénéficiaire de l’aide internationale canadienne.

Pour plus d’informations sur les projets de développement concernant la RDC, voir la banque de projets.

Le Canada finance également des projets locaux par l’intermédiaire du Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales (FCIL) géré par l’ambassade du Canada à Kinshasa et octroie des bourses d'études par l’entremise du programme canadien de bourses de la Francophonie.

Sécurité

Le Canada est préoccupé par les violations des droits de la personne en RDC, notamment les actes de violence sexuelle, et par les conflits, notamment à l’Est du pays. La RDC est l’hôte de la plus importante mission de paix onusienne au monde, la MONUSCO, en termes de déploiement autorisé. En décembre 2019, le Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies a prorogé le mandat de la MONUSCO (résolution 2502) jusqu’en décembre 2020. Le mandat conserve les priorités stratégiques de la mission : la protection des civils et l’appui à la stabilisation et au renforcement des institutions étatiques de la RDC.

Depuis 2011, le Canada a versé plus de 340 M$ (USD) en quotes-parts à la MONUSCO. Il y a actuellement neuf membres des Forces armées canadiennes déployés à la MONUSCO. Ce sont des experts des opérations militaires, de la liaison et de l’instruction. Ils servent à deux endroits : au quartier général de la MONUSCO, à Kinshasa, et à un quartier général secondaire, à Goma.

Autres informations pertinentes

Janvier 2020