Protecting Human Rights by Training Congolese Journalists


Participants celebrate their achievements

Fifteen journalists from across the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) are freshly equipped to fight against human rights violations, thanks to a two-day workshop organized by the Embassy of Canada, the Gmedia Center and Journaliste en Danger.

The course was a continuation of training conducted in parallel with the 19th Universal Periodic Review (UPR), in which five Congolese journalists traveled to Switzerland to participate in the unique process of reviewing the human rights records of all 192 member states of the United Nations.

The UPR is conducted every four years, and aims to improve human rights worldwide as well as to denounce violations.


Participants focus during the training session

The objective of the DRC workshop was not only to increase reporters’ knowledge of the UPR and its procedures, but also to provide journalists with the tools to contribute to the protection of human rights.

Discussions during the training covered recommendations made ​​by different countries for the DRC to pursue over the course of the next four years, and how journalists play a role in ensuring accountability and progress.

Experts from international institutions and human rights NGOs based in the DRC also led discussions with the contribution of the five DRC journalists who participated in the UPR training in Geneva.

At the end of the two-day workshop, participants agreed to establish a chain of solidarity and to fight against human rights violations together. Canada’s funding and support for this workshop will help journalists in the DRC pursue a fairer, more open and more democratic society, just as Canada has helped journalists in Kuwait and Ghana.

Protéger les droits de la personne en formant des journalistes congolais


Les participants célèbrent leurs réalisations

Grâce à un atelier de deux jours organisé par l’ambassade du Canada, le Gmedia Center et Journaliste en Danger, 15 journalistes de toute la République démocratique du Congo (RDC) ont de nouveaux outils pour lutter contre les violations des droits de la personne.

Ce cours faisait suite à une formation donnée en parallèle avec le 19e Examen périodique universel (EPU), pour laquelle cinq journalistes congolais s’étaient rendus en Suisse en vue d’un processus unique en son genre : l’examen du bilan des droits de la personne dans l’ensemble des 192 États membres des Nations Unies.

L’EPU se tient tous les quatre ans, avec pour objectif d’améliorer le respect des droits de la personne dans le monde et de dénoncer les violations.


Les participants travaillent pendant la session de formation

L’atelier organisé en RDC visait non seulement à mieux faire connaître l’EPU et ses procédures auprès des journalistes, mais aussi à leur procurer les outils nécessaires pour contribuer à la protection des droits de la personne.

Les discussions ont porté sur les recommandations de différents pays concernant la RDC, en vue de leur mise en œuvre au cours des quatre prochaines années. Il a aussi été question du rôle des journalistes dans le suivi et le progrès de ces efforts.

Des experts d’institutions internationales et d’ONG congolaises qui défendent les droits de la personne ont aussi animé des discussions auxquelles ont contribué les cinq journalistes ayant participé à la formation sur l’EPU à Genève.

Au terme de ces deux jours, les participants ont convenu de créer une chaîne de solidarité et de lutter ensemble contre les violations des droits de la personne. L’aide financière et le soutien du Canada à cet atelier aideront les journalistes de la RDC à promouvoir une société plus juste, ouverte et démocratique, comme l’ont fait l’aide et le soutien canadiens au profit de journalistes au Koweït et au Ghana.