Canada – Costa Rica Relations

Canada and Costa Rica enjoy strong and diverse bilateral relations. The two countries share similar views in many areas, including human rights, rule of law, security and free trade, as well as views on regional and international issues raised in multilateral institutions.

In Costa Rica, Canada is represented by the Embassy of Canada in San Jose which opened in 1961. Costa Rica is represented in Canada by an Embassy in Ottawa, a consulate in Toronto and an Honorary Consulate in Vancouver.

Canada supports Costa Rica’s security efforts through GAC’s Anti-Crime Capacity Building Program (ACCBP). Since 2009, GAC has provided nearly $8 million in security programming to Costa Rica through the ACCBP, with bilateral or regional projects focused on tackling illicit drugs, corruption, human trafficking and migrant smuggling, crime prevention, security sector reform and proceeds of crime (including money laundering).

The Emerging Leaders in the Americas Program (ELAP) provides short-term scholarship opportunities for students from Latin America and the Caribbean to study or conduct research in Canada. The program is notably predicated on Canadian and Costa Rican institutional linkages which facilitate the creation of scholarship opportunities. These academic agreements help foster research collaboration and student exchanges. In addition to the ELAP scholarships, Costa Rican students are encouraged to apply for other Canadian awards open to all international students including the prestigious Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarships and the Banting Postdoctoral Fellowships. For a complete list of available scholarships, go to www.scholarships-bourses.gc.ca.

There are nearly 10,000 Canadian residents in Costa Rica, including dual nationals, and tens of thousands of Canadians travel to Costa Rica every year.

A Memorandum of Understanding between the Government of Canada and the Government of the Republic of Costa Rica Concerning Youth Mobility signed in August 2010 came into effect in July 2011. This arrangement enables youth ages 18-35 to travel and work in each other’s country for up to two years.

Costa Rica is Canada’s largest trading partner in Central America. Bilateral merchandise trade reached $675 million in 2017. Merchandise exports totalled $159 million in 2017 and imports from Costa Rica totalled $516 million. Canadian exports consisted primarily of grain products, machinery, electrical machinery, and vegetables, while primary import products included fruits and nuts, electrical machinery, and medical instruments.

The entry into force of the Canada-Costa Rica Free Trade Agreement (CCRFTA) in November 2002 enabled the development of trade relations between the two countries. Parallel agreements on environment and labour cooperation were also signed at that time. One of the main objectives of the CCRFTA is to create new business opportunities for our respective countries.

An open skies-type Air Transport Agreement between Canada and Costa Rica entered into force in April 2012. This Agreement allows any airline from Canada or Costa Rica to operate as frequently as desired between both countries and via any point in third countries. The Agreement gives our airlines greater flexibility and in turn means more options for travellers.

In 2012, Costa Rica expressed its desire to join the OECD, which Canada supports. Costa Rica began its accession process in July 2015. As of April 2018, 12 committees had concluded their reviews, and the reviews by the remaining 22 committees are well advanced. Costa Rica’s accession may be completed in 2019. Canada has assisted Costa Rica’s efforts in the form of guidance and technical assistance.

May 2018

Relations Canada – Costa Rica

Le Canada et le Costa Rica jouissent de relations bilatérales solides et diverses. Les deux pays partagent des vues similaires dans de nombreux secteurs, y compris les droits de la personne, l'état de droit, la sécurité et le libre-échange, de même que des vues sur les questions régionales et internationales, au sein des instances multilatérales.

Au Costa Rica, le Canada est représenté par l'Ambassade du Canada à San José, laquelle a ouvert ses portes en 1961. Le Costa Rica est représenté au Canada par une Ambassade à Ottawa, un consulat à Toronto et un consulat honoraire à Vancouver.

Le Canada soutient les efforts du Costa Rica en matière de sécurité au travers du Programme visant à renforcer les capacités de lutte contre la criminalité (PRCLC) d’AMC. Depuis 2009, AMC a fourni au Costa Rica près de 8 millions de dollars dans des programmes de sécurité par l’entremise du Programme visant à renforcer les capacités de lutte contre la criminalité (PRCLC), conjointement avec des projets bilatéraux ou régionaux axés sur la lutte contre les drogues illicites, la corruption, la traite de personnes et le passage de clandestins, la prévention du crime, la réforme du secteur de la sécurité et les produits de la criminalité (y compris le blanchiment d’argent).

Le Programme des futurs leaders dans les Amériques (PFLA) offre la possibilité aux étudiants de l’Amérique latine et des Caraïbes d’obtenir des bourses d’études à court terme pour étudier ou faire de la recherche au Canada. Ce programme repose sur les accords entre institutions universitaires unissant le Canada et le Costa Rica, notamment, lesquels facilitent la création des possibilités d’obtention de bourses. Ces accords universitaires favorisent la collaboration en recherche et les échanges étudiants. En plus des bourses du PFLA, les étudiants costariciens sont encouragés à poser leur candidature pour d’autres prix canadiens ouverts à tous les étudiants internationaux, dont les prestigieuses Bourses d’études supérieures du Canada Vanier et les Bourses postdoctorales Banting. Pour la liste complète des bourses disponibles, rendez vous sur www.scholarships-bourses.gc.ca.

Il y a près de 10 000 résidents canadiens au Costa Rica, y compris ceux ayant une double nationalité, et des dizaines de milliers de Canadiens voyagent au Costa Rica chaque année.

Un protocole d’entente entre les gouvernements du Canada et du Costa Rica sur la mobilité des jeunes signé en août 2010 est entré en vigueur en juillet 2011. Cet accord permet aux jeunes de 18 à 35 ans de voyager et travailler dans l’autre pays pour une période allant jusqu’à deux ans.

Le Costa Rica est le plus important partenaire commercial du Canada en Amérique centrale. Le commerce bilatéral de marchandises a atteint 675 millions de dollars en 2017. Les exportations de marchandises ont totalisé 159 millions de dollars en 2017 et les importations en provenance du Costa Rica ont été de 516 millions de dollars. Les exportations canadiennes comprenaient principalement des produits céréaliers, des machineries, des machineries électriques, et des légumes, tandis que les principaux produits d’importation se composaient de fruits et de noix, de machineries électriques et d’instruments médicaux.

L'entrée en vigueur de l'Accord de libre-échange Canada-Costa Rica (ALECCR), en novembre 2002, a permis un développement des rapports commerciaux entre les deux pays. Des accords parallèles de coopération sur l'environnement et le travail ont également été signés à cette occasion. Un des principaux objectifs du CCRFTA est de créer de nouvelles occasions d’affaires pour nos pays respectifs.

Un Accord de transport aérien «Ciel ouvert» entre le Canada et le Costa Rica est entré en vigueur en avril 2012. Cet accord permet à n'importe quelle ligne aérienne du Canada ou du Costa Rica d'opérer aussi fréquemment qu'il sera souhaité entre les deux pays et à travers n'importe quel point dans des pays tiers. L'accord donne à nos lignes aériennes une plus grande flexibilité et signifie plus d'options pour les voyageurs.

En 2012, le Costa Rica a fait part de son désir de joindre l’OCDE, que le Canada appuie. Le Costa Rica a entamé les procédures de son admission au mois de juillet 2015. En avril 2018, 12 comités avaient achevé leurs examens; quant aux 22 autres comités, les examens progressent bien. L’adhésion du Costa Rica pourrait être acceptée en 2019. Le Canada a soutenu les efforts du Costa Rica sous forme de conseils et d’assistance technique.

Mai 2018