Contact and Office Information

General Contact Information

Street address:
Behind the “Contraloría” in the
Oficentro Ejecutivo La Sabana
Building 5, Third floor
San José, Costa Rica

Mailing address:
Embassy of Canada
PO Box: 351-1007, Centro Colón
San José, Costa Rica

Tel.: (506) 2242-4400
Fax: (506) 2242-4410
Email: 
sjcra@international.gc.ca

Hours of operation:
Monday to Thursday
8:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.
12:40 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Friday
7:30 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.

Facebook

Services for Canadians

Canadian Citizen Services Appointments

The Embassy of Canada to Costa Rica in San Jose provides services for Canadian Citizens (passport, citizenship and notarial services) on an appointment-only basis.

Book your appointment online

Consular section - Hours of operation

Monday to Friday 
8:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.

Email: sjcraconsular@international.gc.ca

The Consular Section provides assistance to Canadians who are in difficulties and also offers services linked to passports, Canadian citizenship and legalization of documents.  More detailed information on consular services offered can be found at www.travel.gc.ca/assistance/emergency-info/consular

Notary services (authentication of signatures – general, power of attorney, travel authorization for minors and others) by appointment only.

In case of an emergency abroad, contact the Consular Services

Toll free from land line: 0 800 015 1161
Collect calls, dial operator 1024 and 613 996 8885

E-mail: SOS@international.gc.ca
Website: www.travel.gc.ca

The Consular Section does not provide information about immigration or visas to Canada.  Please visit www.cic.gc.ca

Contact information is also available for the following office:

Statutory Holidays

Our offices are closed on the following days:

2019
Date 
Holiday Costa RicaHondurasNicaragua
Tuesday, January 1 New Year's Day
Monday, February 18 Family Day x
Thursday, April 18 Holy Thursday
Friday, April 19 Holy Friday
Wednesday, May 1 Labour Day x x
Monday, May 20 Victoria Day x
Monday, July 1 Canada National Day
Thursday, August 1 Treida de Santo Domingo x x
Thursday, August 15 Mother's Day x x
Monday, September 16 Independence Day
Monday, October 14 Thanksgiving
Monday, November 11 Remembrance Day x x
Monday, December 9 Immaculate Conception  x x
Wednesday, December 25 Christmas Day
Thursday, December 26 Boxing Day