Canada - Croatia Relations

Canada and Croatia established diplomatic ties in 1993. This followed Croatia’s declaration of independence in 1991 from the former Yugoslavia.

Canada is represented in Croatia by its embassy in Zagreb. Croatia has an embassy in Ottawa and a consulate general in Mississauga.

Political relations

Croatia’s positions on international issues align well with Canada’s. The two countries have had similar voting patterns on human rights issues within international bodies, such as at the UN. In March 2009, Canada lifted the visa requirement for Croatian citizens travelling to Canada. Canada supported Croatia’s integration into Euro-Atlantic institutions and welcomed Croatia’s membership in NATO in 2009 and to the European Union in 2013.

Bilateral agreements

Canada and Croatia signed a youth mobility arrangement in May 2010 that lead to the start of the International Experience Canada program for Croatian youth. The youth mobility arrangement helps Canadian and Croatian youths between the ages of 18 and 35 obtain work permits in each country. This lets Canadian and Croatian youth travel and work abroad in either country for a period of up to 12 months.

Canada and Croatia signed an agreement on the avoidance of double taxation in 1999. The two governments also signed a foreign investment promotion and protection agreement in 1997.

Commercial relations

Bilateral commercial relations between Canada and Croatia are modest but growing every year. The Canadian-Croatian Chamber of Commerce in Toronto and the Canadian-Croatian Business Network in Zagreb have been active in promoting bilateral trade and organizing trade missions. Croatian-Canadians play a key role in developing trade and investment opportunities in both countries.

Croatia has been a strong supporter of the Canada-EU Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA) and became the third EU Member state to ratify CETA at the national level, on June 30, 2017. As an inclusive trade agreement, CETA addresses or eliminates barriers in virtually all sectors and aspects of Canada-Croatia bilateral trade, increases jobs and promotes new commercial opportunities for Canadian and Croatian businesses.

Defence cooperation

Croatia is a valued Ally that has served alongside the Canadian Armed Forces in Afghanistan, Kosovo, and other NATO missions and plays an important role in NATO’s Enhanced Forward Presence.  Royal Canadian Navy ships regularly visit Croatian ports, including HMCS Charlottetown in November 2017 and HMCS Ville de Québec in December 2018.

May 2019

Relations Canada - Croatie

Le Canada a établi des liens diplomatiques avec la Croatie en 1993, peu de temps après que la Croatie eut déclaré son indépendance de l’ex-Yougoslavie, en 1991.

Le Canada est représenté en Croatie par son ambassade à Zagreb. La Croatie a une ambassade à Ottawa et un consulat général à Mississauga.

Relations politiques

Le Canada et la Croatie partagent une vision commune sur les questions mondiales. Au sein des organismes internationaux comme l‘ONU, les deux pays ont souvent voté dans le même sens sur les questions relatives aux droits de la personne. En mars 2009, le Canada a levé l’obligation du visa pour les citoyens croates voyageant au Canada. Le Canada a appuyé l’adhésion de la Croatie aux organismes euro-atlantiques et s’est réjoui de l’adhésion de la Croatie à l’OTAN en 2009, puis à l’Union européenne en 2013.

Ententes bilatérales

En mai 2010, le Canada et la Croatie ont signé un accord sur la mobilité des jeunes, qui a mené à la mise en œuvre du programme Expérience internationale Canada pour les jeunes Croates. L’accord sur la mobilité des jeunes facilite les procédures d’obtention du visa de travail dans chaque pays pour les jeunes Canadiens et les jeunes Croates âgés de 18 à 35 ans. Ceci leur permet de voyager et de travailler dans l’un ou l’autre des deux pays pour une période maximale de 12 mois.

En 1999, le Canada et la Croatie ont signé un accord visant à éviter la double imposition. Les gouvernements de ces deux pays ont également signé un accord sur la promotion et la protection des investissements étrangers en 1997.

Relations commerciales

Les échanges commerciaux bilatéraux entre le Canada et la Croatie sont modestes, mais s’accroissent d’année en année. La Chambre de commerce canado-croate à Toronto et le Réseau d’affaires canado-croate à Zagreb font la promotion active du commerce bilatéral et organisent des missions commerciales. Les Canadiens d’origine croate jouent un rôle important dans le développement des possibilités de commerce et d’investissement dans les deux pays.

La Croatie a été un fervent partisan de l’Accord économique et commercial global (AECG) entre le Canada et l’Union européenne, et est devenue le troisième État membre de l’UE à ratifier l’AECG à l’échelle nationale, le 30 juin 2017. En tant qu’accord commercial inclusif, l’AECG permet de réduire ou d’éliminer les obstacles dans pratiquement tous les secteurs et aspects du commerce bilatéral entre le Canada et la Croatie, d’accroître le nombre d’emplois et de créer de nouveaux débouchés commerciaux pour les entreprises canadiennes et croates.

Coopération en matière de défense

La Croatie est un allié précieux qui a servi aux côtés des Forces armées canadiennes en Afghanistan, au Kosovo et dans d’autres missions de l’OTAN, et joue un rôle important dans la Présence avancée renforcée de l’OTAN. Des navires de la Marine royale canadienne visitent régulièrement les ports croates, notamment le NCSM Charlottetown en novembre 2017 et le NCSM Ville de Québec en décembre 2018.


Mai 2019