Canada - Dominican Republic

The Dominican Republic is an important partner for Canada in the Caribbean, sharing a commitment to democracy and free markets. Canada has significant commercial interests in the country, mostly in the mining, financial and manufacturing sectors, and is the most active foreign investor in the Dominican Republic.

The Dominican Republic remains the second most popular destination in the Caribbean for Canadians and the seventh most popular destination worldwide.

Diplomatic relations between Canada and the Dominican Republic were established in 1954. The two countries have a good relationship, enabling them to work together in areas such as security and governance.

Our countries are members of several continental and international organizations and actively participate in multilateral forums such as the United Nations and the Organization of American States.

From a cultural standpoint, the two countries are members of the International Organization of La Francophonie, Canada as a full-fledged member, and the Dominican Republic as an observer.

Bilateral trade between Canada and the Dominican Republic amounted to nearly $1.4 billion in 2017, making it Canada’s largest trading partner in the Caribbean. Merchandise exports to the Dominican Republic were $165 million in 2017, while imports from the Dominican Republic totaled over $1.2 billion. Canada's foreign direct investment in the Dominican Republic is significant, particularly in the areas of mining, finance and manufacturing.

Canada does not have a development assistance program in the Dominican Republic, but provides assistance and support through multilateral programs and through the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives, which is directly managed by the Embassy of Canada in Santo Domingo.

The Emerging Leaders in the Americas Program (ELAP) offers short-term scholarships to students from Latin America and the Caribbean (including the Dominican Republic) to study in Canada. In 2016, 177 Dominican students received scholarships through this program.

May 2018

Relations Canada - République dominicaine

La République dominicaine est un partenaire important du Canada dans les Caraïbes, les deux pays partageant le même engagement envers la démocratie et le libre-marché. Le Canada possède d’importants intérêts commerciaux en République dominicaine, surtout dans les secteurs miniers, financiers et de la manufacture, et il est l’investisseur étranger le plus actif dans le pays.

La République dominicaine reste la deuxième destination la plus populaire dans les Canadiens des Caraïbes et la septième destination la plus populaire dans le monde.

Les relations diplomatiques entre le Canada et la République dominicaine furent établies en 1954. Les deux pays jouissent d’une bonne relation ce qui leur permet de collaborer dans des domaines tels que la sécurité et la gouvernance.

Nos pays sont membres de plusieurs organisations continentales et internationales, et participent activement dans des forums multilatéraux  tels que l'Organisation des Nations Unies et l'Organisation des États américains .

Sur le plan culturel, les deux pays font partie de l’Organisation internationale de la Francophonie, le Canada en tant que membre à part entière et la République dominicaine comme observateur..

Les échanges commerciaux bilatéraux entre le Canada et la République dominicaine s’élevaient à près de 1,4 milliard de dollars canadiens en 2017, ce qui en fait le plus important partenaire commercial du Canada dans les Caraïbes. Les exportations de marchandises vers la République dominicaine étaient de 165 millions de dollars canadiens en 2017, tandis que les importations en provenance de la République dominicaine totalisaient plus de 1,2 milliard de dollars canadiens. Les investissements directs étrangers du Canada en République dominicaine sont importants, particulièrement dans les domaines de l'exploitation minière, des finances et de la manufacture.

Le Canada ne dispose pas de programme d'aide au développement en République dominicaine, mais fournit une assistance et un soutien grâce à des programmes multilatéraux et à travers le Fonds canadien pour les initiatives locales, qui est directement géré par l'ambassade du Canada à Santo Domingo.

Le Programme des futurs leaders dans les Amériques (PFLA) offre des bourses de courte durée aux étudiants de l'Amérique latine et des Caraïbes (y compris la République dominicaine) afin d’étudier au Canada. En 2016, 177 étudiants dominicains ont bénéficié de bourses grâce à ce programme.

Mai 2018