Message from the Ambassador

On behalf of the entire team, I am pleased to welcome you to the website of the Embassy of Canada in the Dominican Republic.

Since the beginning of diplomatic relations established in 1954, we have been working to strengthen the bilateral ties that exist between our two nations. It is with great pride that I represent my country with the intention of being able to contribute to the promotion of interests and values that unite us, such as the defense of human rights, diversity and inclusion, gender equality and a strong and open democracy.

From a trade perspective, Canada is a world leader in agriculture, infrastructure, clean energy, information and communications technologies, and of course mining. Our on-site team of trade commissioners will be pleased to accompany you to take advantage of the many business opportunities in these fields.

Canadians love to spend their vacations in the Dominican Republic. They feel welcome here and appreciate the efforts of the local government to provide a safe tourist destination. As we recover on a more sustainable and inclusive path, following the crisis caused by COVID-19, I am confident that the Canadian tourists who visit each year will return in large number.

Whether you are interested in doing business in the Dominican Republic, investing or studying in Canada, I encourage you to explore our website. You can also learn more about consular, passport and citizenship services, as well as about our embassy in Santo Domingo, our consulate in Puerto Plata and our office in Punta Cana. You will also find additional information on our bilateral relations and collaboration in multilateral institutions.

If you are a Canadian who visits, works or lives in the Dominican Republic, please take a few moments to register on the Registration of Canadians Abroad web page so that we can contact you in case of an emergency.

I would like to take this opportunity to invite you to follow us on social media to join the conversation or to be informed of recent and upcoming events.

Facebook

Twitter

Sincerely,

Christine Laberge
Ambassador of Canada in the Dominican Republic


Biography

Christine Laberge (BA [Political Science], Université de Montréal, 1998; MA [management], HEC Montréal, 2000) joined Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada in 2000. During her time at Headquarters, she served in various roles, including director of the Centre of Learning for International Affairs and Global Leadership (2018 to 2020), deputy director in divisions responsible for Investments Attraction (2015 to 2020), and Science, Technology and Innovation (2005 to 2009) and as Chief of Staff of the Chief Trade Commissioner and Assistant Deputy Minister of Asia and Africa (2010). She has held various positions abroad, including Consul and Head of Mission at the Canadian Consulate in Barcelona (2011 to 2015), Science and Technology Councillor at the Embassy of Canada in The Hague (2007) and Vice-Consul at the Consulate General of Canada in Rio de Janeiro (2001 to 2004). She speaks French, English, Spanish, Portuguese and Catalan.

Message de l’ambassadrice

Au nom de toute l’équipe, je suis heureuse de vous souhaiter la bienvenue sur le site de l'ambassade du Canada en République dominicaine.

Depuis le début des relations diplomatiques établies en 1954, nous travaillons à raffermir les liens bilatéraux qui existent entre nos deux nations. C’est avec beaucoup de fierté que je représente mon pays avec l’intention de pouvoir contribuer à la promotion d’intérêts et valeurs qui nous unissent tels que la défense des droits humains, la diversité et l’inclusion, l’égalité des genres et une démocratie forte et ouverte.

Du point de vue commercial, le Canada est un leader mondial dans les domaines de l’agriculture, des infrastructures, des énergies propres, des technologies de l’information et des communications, et bien sûr de l’exploitation minière. Notre équipe sur place de délégués commerciaux se fera un plaisir de vous accompagner afin de profiter des nombreuses opportunités d’affaires dans ces domaines.

Les Canadiens aiment passer leurs vacances en République dominicaine. Ils s’y sentent bien accueillis et apprécient les efforts déployés par le gouvernement local pour offrir une destination touristique sûre. Alors que nous nous redressons vers une voie plus durable et plus inclusive, après la crise provoquée par COVID-19, j’ai confiance que les touristes canadiens qui visitent chaque année reviendront nombreux.

Que vous soyez intéressés à faire des affaires en République dominicaine, à investir ou à étudier au Canada, je vous encourage à explorer notre site Web. Vous pourrez aussi en apprendre davantage sur les services consulaires, de passeport et de citoyenneté, ainsi que sur notre ambassade à Santo Domingo, notre consulat à Puerto Plata et notre bureau à Punta Cana. Vous trouverez également des informations complémentaires sur nos relations bilatérales et collaboration au sein des institutions multilatérales.

Si vous êtes un(e) Canadien(ne) qui visite, travaille ou vit en République dominicaine, veuillez prendre quelques instants pour vous inscrire sur la page Web d’inscription des Canadiens à l'étranger afin que nous puissions vous contacter en cas d'urgence.

Je profite de l’occasion pour inviter à nous suivre sur les médias sociaux pour vous joindre à la conversation ou pour être informés des événements récents.

Facebook

Twitter

Cordialement,

Christine Laberge
Ambassadrice du Canada en République dominicaine


Biographie

Christine Laberge (BA [science politique], Université de Montréal, 1998 ; MA [gestion], HEC Montréal, 2000) a rejoint le ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international en 2000. À l'administration centrale, elle a occupé divers postes, dont ceux de directrice du Centre d'apprentissage pour les affaires internationales et le leadership mondial (2018 à 2020), de directrice adjointe dans les directions responsables de l'attraction des investissements (2015 à 2020) et de la science, de la technologie et de l'innovation (2005 à 2009), et de chef de cabinet du délégué commercial en chef et du sous-ministre adjoint de l'Asie et de l'Afrique (2010). Elle a occupé divers postes à l'étranger, notamment en tant que consul et chef de mission au consulat canadien à Barcelone (2011 à 2015), conseillère en sciences et technologie à l'ambassade du Canada à La Haye (2007) et vice-consul au consulat général du Canada à Rio de Janeiro (2001 à 2004). Elle parle français, anglais, espagnol, portugais et catalan.