Canada - Ecuador Relations

Bilateral Relations

Canada and Ecuador have enjoyed official diplomatic bilateral relations since 1960. However, our bilateral ties extend back to the early 1900’s when Canadian railway engineers, mining experts and missionaries worked in Ecuador. 

Today our relationship is constantly growing in commercial, political and cultural spheres. We also have growing people-to-people ties, thanks to the 25,410 Canadians of Ecuadorian origin, and the 5,000 or so Canadians residing in Ecuador.

Canada and Ecuador enjoy a shared commitment to free trade, fighting corruption, and promoting social inclusion and human rights, particularly those of disabled persons, indigenous groups and women.   

The bilateral relationship was further bolstered by the meeting between Prime Minister Justin Trudeau and President Lenin Moreno held on the margins of the United Nations General Assembly in September 2017.

Canada and Ecuador also share a common approach in multilateral forum such as the United Nations (UN) and the Organization of American States (OAS).

Canada is represented in Ecuador by the Embassy of Canada in Quito and also maintains an Honorary Consul in Guayaquil. Ecuador is represented in Canada by the Embassy of Ecuador in Ottawa, and also maintains Consulates in Toronto, Montreal and Vancouver.

Trade and Investment

Trade and investment between Canada and Ecuador are a positive and growing aspect of our bilateral relationship. Ecuador is Canada’s sixth largest trading partner in South America. In 2017, bilateral trade between Canada and Ecuador totalled $522.6 million. Canadian exports totalled $311.5 million (mainly wheat, paper products, vegetables, machinery and vehicles). Canadian imports totalled $211.1 (mainly fruits and nuts, live trees and plants, cocoa, fish and seafood and preserved foods). Canada and Ecuador have a double taxation avoidance agreement which came into force in 2002 and an air transport agreement that came into force in 2018.

Canadian companies are leading investors in Ecuador’s nascent mining sector, which is a key area of continued growth for our economic relations. Canadian mining companies have invested in Ecuador with a long-term vision that supports a socially and environmentally responsible mining industry.  Canadian mining assets in Ecuador were $525 million in 2016. The estimated potential Canadian investment in the sector is at $32 billion over the next 20 years, once the largest projects are developed and in production.

The Ecuadorian Canadian Chamber of Commerce (Quito and Guayaquil chapters) is actively promoting and strengthening commercial and personal ties between Ecuador and Canada.

Academic Relations

Canada and Ecuador have both undertaken initiatives to encourage a greater flow of academic exchanges. As a result, 1,080 Ecuadorian students were studying in Canada as of December 31st, 2017, for a period of six months or more; this represents a 27% increase from 2016. In June 6, 2014 a Cooperation Agreement was signed between Ecuador’s Ministry of Higher Education, Science, Technology and Innovation (SENESCYT) and CALDO to finance High Study Abroad. Canada’s Emerging Leaders in the Americas Program (ELAP) launched in 2009 provides students and researchers from Latin America and the Caribbean with short-term exchange opportunities for study or research at the college, undergraduate and graduate levels in Canada. Between 2010 and 2016, 126 students from Ecuador participated in the Emerging Leaders in the Americas Program (ELAP).

Technical and other Assistance

Immediately following the April 2016 earthquake in Ecuador, Canada provided a $2 million donation to support humanitarian partners on the ground. Additionally, the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives (CFLI), managed by the Embassy in Quito, is supporting local projects. Current CFLI funding promotes human rights, democracy and ecological sustainability. The Anti-Crime and Capacity Building Program (ACCBP) is providing modest support to combat human and small arms trafficking as well as the smuggling of illicit drugs and precursor chemicals in Ecuador.

The Partnerships for Development Innovation Branch is implementing the Strengthening Capacity and Innovation through Volunteer Expertise (STRIVE) project to improve the performance of the small and medium-sized enterprises (SME) sector and support a business-enabling environment in Ecuador. Through STRIVE, the Canadian Executive Service Organization is working with the Canada-Ecuador Chamber of Commerce in Guayaquil, the Canada-Ecuador Chamber of Commerce in Quito and the Council of Manufacturing Chambers of Associations of Ecuador to improve the business support services offered by the chambers to their members and the chambers’ long-term sustainability. To this end, 270 individuals (including staff and members of the chambers, municipalities and independent businesses) have thus far received training in the following areas: business support services and institutions, urban development and management, local economic development, tourism as well as hospitality and governance.

May 2018

Relations Canada-Équateur

Relations bilatérales

Le Canada et l’Équateur entretiennent des relations diplomatiques depuis 1960. Nos liens bilatéraux datent cependant du début des années 1900 quand des ingénieurs ferroviaires, des experts miniers et des missionnaires venus du Canada ont travaillé en Équateur.

Aujourd’hui nos relations grandissent constamment dans les domaines commerciale, politique, et culturelle. Nous avons aussi des liens personnels grandissant grâce aux 25,410 canadiens d’origine équatorienne et les 5,000 canadiens qui habitent en Équateur.

Le Canada et l’Équateur jouissent d’une vision similaire quant au libre commerce, la lutte contre la corruption et la promotion de l’inclusion sociale et les droits humains, particulièrement des personnes handicapées, des peuples autochtones et des femmes.

La relation bilatérale fût d’autant plus renforcée par la rencontre entre le Premier ministre Justin Trudeau et le Président Lenin Moreno en marge de l’Assemblée générale des Nations unies en Septembre 2017.

Le Canada et l’Équateur partagent aussi une approche commune dans des forums internationaux comme l’Organisation des Nations Unies (ONU) et l’Organisation des États Américains (OEA).

L’Ambassade du Canada à Quito représente le Canada en Équateur. Le Canada maintient aussi un Consul honoraire à Guayaquil. L’Équateur est représenté au Canada par l’Ambassade de l’Équateur à Ottawa et par des Consulats à Toronto, Montréal et Vancouver.

Commerce et investissement

Les relations commerciales entre le Canada et l’Équateur sont un aspect positif et progressif de notre relation bilatérale. L’Équateur est le sixième partenaire commerciale du Canada en importance en Amérique du sud. En 2017, le commerce bilatéral entre le Canada et l’Équateur atteignait 522.6 millions de dollars. Les exportations canadiennes étaient de 311.5 millions (principalement du blé, des produits à base de papier, des légumes, de la machinerie et des véhicules). Les importations canadiennes s’élevaient à 211.1 millions (principalement des fruits et des noix, des arbres et des plantes, du cacao, du poisson et des fruits de mer et des aliments en conserve). Le Canada et l’Équateur ont un accord supprimant la double imposition mis en place en 2002 et un accord de transport aérien qui est entré en vigueur en 2018.

Les entreprises canadiennes sont les principaux investisseurs dans le secteur minier émergeant en Équateur; un élément important de nos relations économiques croissantes. Les compagnies minières canadiennes ont investi en Équateur avec une vision à long terme d’une industrie minière qui se veut responsable d’un point de vue social et environnemental. Les actifs des compagnies minières canadiennes en Équateur atteignaient un total de 525 millions de dollars en 2016. Le potentiel d’investissement canadien dans le secteur s’estime à 32 milliards au cours des 20 prochaines années, lorsque les plus gros projets seront développés et en production.

Les chambres de commerce équatorienne-canadiennes de Quito et de Guayaquil promeuvent et renforcent activement les liens commerciaux et personnels entre l’Équateur et le Canada.  

Relations académiques

Le Canada et l’Équateur ont tous deux entrepris des initiatives afin d’encourager un plus grand flux d’échanges académiques. De ce fait, en date du 31 décembre 2017, 1,080 étudiants équatoriens ont étudié au Canada pour une période de six mois ou plus; représentant une augmentation de 27% depuis 2016. Un accord de coopération a été signé entre le Ministère d’éducation supérieure, science, technologie et innovation (SENESCYT) et CALDO le 6 juin 2014 afin de financer les études supérieures à l’étranger. Le Programme des futurs leaders dans les Amériques (PFLA) offre, depuis 2009, des opportunités d'échanges de courte durée aux étudiants et chercheurs de l’Amérique latine ou des Caraïbes au niveau du collège, du premier cycle et des cycles supérieurs universitaires (maîtrise et doctorat) au Canada. Entre 2010 et 2016, 126 étudiants de l’Équateur ont participé au Programme des futurs leaders dans les Amériques (PFLA).

Assistance technique et autre

Immédiatement après le tremblement de terre de 2016 en Équateur, le Canada a offert 2 millions de dollars afin d’appuyer les partenaires humanitaires sur le terrain. De plus, le Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales (FCIL), opéré par l‘Ambassade à Quito, appui des projets locaux. Les fonds actuels du FCIL servent à promouvoir les droits humains, la démocratie et la durabilité écologique. Le Programme d’aide au renforcement des capacités de lutte contre la criminalité (PARCLC) fournit un appui modeste pour combattre le trafic humain et de petites armes ainsi que la contrebande de drogues et de substances chimiques précurseurs en Équateur.

La Direction générale des partenariats pour l’innovation dans le développement a mis en œuvre un projet pour renforcer les capacités à travers l’innovation et l’expertise volontaire (STRIVE) afin d’améliorer la performance dans le secteur des petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) et de fomenter un environnement propice aux affaires en Équateur. À travers de STRIVE, le Service d’assistance canadienne aux organismes (SACO) travaille avec les Chambres de commerce de Quito et Guayaquil et le Conseil des chambres et des associations de l’Équateur afin d’améliorer les services de support aux entreprises offerts par les chambres de commerce à leurs membres et afin d’assurer la durabilité des chambres de commerce à long terme. Dans ce but, plus de 270 individus (employés, membres des chambres de commerce, municipalités et commerces indépendants) ont reçu de la formation dans les domaines suivants: services de support aux entreprises et institutions, développement urbain et administration, développement économique local, tourisme ainsi qu’hospitalité et gouvernance.

Mai 2018