Canada - Djibouti Relations

Canada established diplomatic relations with Djibouti in 1978 following its independence from France in 1977. The Embassy of Canada to Ethiopia, located in Addis Ababa, is responsible for relations with Djibouti. Canada also has an Honorary Consul in Djibouti City. The Permanent Mission of the Republic of Djibouti to the United Nations, in New York, is responsible for Djibouti’s relations with Canada.

Djibouti is the seat for the Secretariat of the Inter-Governmental Authority on Development (IGAD), the regional development, peace and security forum.

Both Montréal and Ottawa are home to organized Djiboutian diaspora communities, and there is an active community of returned Djibouti-Canadians in Djibouti.

In 2017-18, Canada provided $3.24 million in international aid to Djibouti, mainly through multilateral organizations and humanitarian assistance. Djiboutian nationals benefit from access to the Canadian Francophonie Scholarship Program, which supports eligible students from developing Francophonie countries pursuing educational programs in Canada. Djibouti also benefits from other initiatives funded by Canada, such as the Strengthening Climate Resilience in Africa Programme, and the Global Fund to Fight AIDS, Tuberculosis and Malaria. Canada was also the major financial supporter of the World Food Programme for its establishment of the Humanitarian Logistics Hub in Djibouti, which enables faster, more cost-effective responses to humanitarian crises in the region. 

Canada funds gender-responsive humanitarian assistance in Djibouti, based on need. Canada channels this assistance through United Nations agencies, the International Red Cross/Red Crescent Movement, and non-governmental organizations to provide food, safe water and sanitation, treatment for acute malnutrition and other healthcare, emergency shelter, livelihoods support, and protection to vulnerable populations. 

In 2018, the value of two-way merchandise trade totalled $7.6M, consisting of $6.3M in exports to, and $1.3M in imports from, Djibouti. Top Canadian merchandise exports to Djibouti included machinery and parts; airplanes, helicopters and parts; vehicles and parts; and electric machinery and parts. Top Canadian merchandise imports from Djibouti comprised mainly coffee, milling products, electric equipment and parts.

Other Relevant Information

Relations Canada - Djibouti

Le Canada entretient des relations diplomatiques avec Djibouti depuis 1978, donc depuis que le pays a obtenu son indépendance de la France en 1977. L’ambassade du Canada située à Addis-Abeba, en Éthiopie, est responsable des relations avec Djibouti. Le Canada a également un consul honoraire à Djibouti. La mission permanente de Djibouti auprès des Nations Unies à New York est responsable des relations avec le Canada.

C’est à Djibouti que se trouve le siège du Secrétariat de l'Autorité intergouvernementale pour le développement (IGAD), un forum régional sur le développement, la paix et de la sécurité.

Montréal et Ottawa comptent une diaspora djiboutienne organisée, et il y a un groupe dynamique de Canadiens d’origine djiboutienne qui sont retournés à Djibouti.

En 2017-2018, le Canada a versé 3,24 millions de dollars en aide internationale à Djibouti, principalement sous forme d'aide humanitaire et par l’entremise d'organismes multilatéraux. Les ressortissants djiboutiens peuvent profiter du Programme canadien de bourses d’études de la francophonie, qui offre aux ressortissants éligibles des pays en développement de la Francophonie des bourses et de la formation au Canada. Djibouti bénéficie également d'autres initiatives financées par le Canada, comme le Programme de renforcement de la résilience au climat en Afrique et le Fonds mondial de lutte contre le sida, la tuberculose et le paludisme. Le Canada est également un partenaire important du Programme alimentaire mondial, et il a appuyé la création du Centre de logistique humanitaire à Djibouti, qui permet de réagir plus rapidement et de manière plus rentable aux crises humanitaires dans la région.

Le Canada finance l’aide humanitaire sexospécifique à Djibouti, en fonction des besoins. Le Canada achemine cet appui par le biais d’agences des Nations Unies, le Mouvement international de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant-Rouge et des organisations non gouvernementales, cette aide est axée sur la nourriture, l'eau potable, les installations sanitaires, les traitements contre la malnutrition aiguë et d'autres soins de santé, les abris d'urgence, ainsi que des moyens de subsistance et de protection pour les populations vulnérables. 

En 2018, le commerce bilatéral de marchandises s'est élevé à 7,6 millions de dollars, dont 6,3 million de dollars en exportations et 1,3 million de dollars en importations de Djibouti. Les principales exportations canadiennes de marchandises à Djibouti comprenaient des machines et des pièces, des avions, des hélicoptères et des pièces d’aéronefs, des véhicules et des pièces automobiles, des machines et pièces électriques. Les principales importations de marchandises de Djibouti au Canada étaient le café, des produits de mouture, du matériel électrique et des pièces.

Autre information pertinente