Canada - Ethiopia Relations

Canada established diplomatic relations with Ethiopia in 1965. In Ethiopia, Canada maintains an embassy in Addis Ababa, which is also accredited to Djibouti. The embassy is also responsible for Canada’s relations with the African Union and the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa, which are both headquartered in Addis Ababa, and the Intergovernmental Authority on Development, which is headquartered in Djibouti. In Canada, Ethiopia is represented by an embassy in Ottawa.

Ethiopia and Canada share common goals based on development partnership, an open and constructive political dialogue, shared regional security interests and growing commercial ties. Canada values Ethiopia’s contribution in promoting peace and security in East Africa and is encouraged by Ethiopia’s commitment to widening political space, fighting corruption, engaging with youth, and ensuring the full participation of women in Ethiopia’s development. Canada and Ethiopia hold strategic annual bilateral consultations, which cover issues as diverse as foreign policy, trade and investment, innovation, science and technology, the environment and climate change, education and culture.

The Ethiopian diaspora in Canada numbers some 44,000 people.

International assistance

Ethiopia is one of the largest recipients of Canada’s international assistance ($198.15 million in 2017-2018). Canada’s assistance to Ethiopia focuses on:

  • increasing food security and nutritional status among undernourished and food insecure women, men, girls and boys
  • increasing production and profitability among women and men smallholder farmers
  • promoting growth in non-farm employment, particularly for women and youth
  • empowering of women and girls
  • strengthening human rights, governance and democracy
  • increasing resilience to climate change among poor women and men while promoting green economic growth

Ethiopia benefits from Canada’s specific regional programming in Africa, in sectors such as food security, regional trade, natural resource governance and climate change resilience. This includes improving bean productivity markets, in partnership with the International Center for Tropical Agriculture, and, in partnership with the African Risk Capacity Agency, using innovative tools—such as climate risk insurance, early warning systems and disaster risk planning—to improve capacity to better plan, prepare and respond to extreme weather events and natural disasters caused by climate change. 

Canada also provides funding for humanitarian assistance in Ethiopia. This assistance is channeled through UN agencies, the International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement, and non-governmental organizations to provide food, safe water and sanitation, treatment for acute malnutrition and other health care, emergency shelter, livelihood support, and protection to vulnerable populations. For further information, please visit the Government of Canada web page Canadian international assistance in Ethiopia.

Commercial relations 

Two-way merchandise trade between Canada and Ethiopia totalled over $170 million in 2018. This consisted of $130 million in exports to and $40 million in imports from Ethiopia.

Other relevant information

 

June 2019

Relations Canada - Éthiopie

Le Canada a établi des relations diplomatiques avec l'Éthiopie en 1965. Le Canada a établi en Éthiopie une ambassade à Addis-Abeba qui est également accréditée auprès de Djibouti. L’ambassade est aussi responsable des relations qu’entretient le Canada avec l’Union africaine et la Commission économique pour l’Afrique des Nations Unies, qui ont leur siège social à Addis-Abeba, et avec l’Autorité intergouvernementale pour le développement, qui a son siège social à Djibouti. Au Canada, l’Éthiopie est représentée par une ambassade à Ottawa.

L’Éthiopie et le Canada ont des objectifs en commun qui se fondent sur les partenariats en matière de développement, un dialogue politique constructif, des intérêts communs en matière de sécurité dans la région et des liens commerciaux qui gagnent en importance. Le Canada apprécie les contributions de l’Éthiopie en ce qui a trait à la promotion de la paix et de la sécurité en Afrique orientale, et est encouragé de voir l’engagement de l’Éthiopie à l’égard d’un élargissement de l’espace politique, de la lutte contre la corruption, de la mobilisation des jeunes et de l’atteinte d’une participation pleine et entière des femmes au développement de l’Éthiopie. Le Canada et l’Éthiopie tiennent des consultations bilatérales annuelles sur des questions aussi diversifiées que la politique étrangère, le commerce et l’investissement, l’innovation, les sciences et la technologie, l’environnement et les changements climatiques ainsi que l’éducation et la culture.

La diaspora éthiopienne au Canada compte environ 44 000 personnes.

Aide internationale

L’Éthiopie est l’un des principaux bénéficiaires de l’aide internationale canadienne (198,15 millions de dollars en 2017-2018). L’aide que le Canada offre à l’Éthiopie est axée sur ce qui suit :

  • Améliorer la sécurité alimentaire et la situation nutritionnelle chez les femmes, les hommes, les filles et les garçons sous-alimentés ou frappés par l’insécurité alimentaire.
  • Améliorer la production et la rentabilité parmi les femmes et les hommes faisant partie des petits exploitants agricoles.
  • Favoriser le travail ailleurs que dans les environnements agricoles, et plus particulièrement pour les femmes et les jeunes.
  • Renforcer le pouvoir des femmes et des filles.
  • Renforcer les droits de la personne, la gouvernance et la démocratie.
  • Améliorer la résilience face aux changements climatiques pour les femmes et les hommes pauvres tout en faisant la promotion d’une croissance économique soucieuse de l’environnement.

L’Éthiopie est bénéficiaire de programmes du Canada dans des régions de l’Afrique dans des domaines comme la sécurité alimentaire, le commerce régional, la gouvernance des ressources naturelles et la résilience face aux changements climatiques. Ces programmes comprennent l’amélioration de la productivité dans les marchés de légumineuses, en partenariat avec le Centre international d’agriculture tropicale et, en partenariat avec la Mutuelle panafricaine de gestion des risques, l’utilisation d’outils novateurs, comme l’assurance climat, les systèmes d’alerte rapide et la planification des risques de catastrophe afin de mieux planifier, de mieux se préparer et de mieux intervenir en cas de phénomènes météorologiques extrêmes et de catastrophes naturelles attribuables aux changements climatiques. 

Le Canada verse également du financement pour l’aide humanitaire en Éthiopie. Cette aide est fournie par l’entremise d’organismes des Nations Unies, du Mouvement international de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant-Rouge et d’organisations non gouvernementales et vise à fournir de la nourriture, de l’eau potable, des services d’assainissement, un traitement pour la malnutrition aiguë, d’autres soins de santé, des abris d’urgence, un soutien à la subsistance ainsi qu’une protection aux populations vulnérables. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la page du gouvernement du Canada sur l’aide internationale canadienne en Éthiopie.

Relations commerciales 

Le commerce de marchandises bilatéral entre le Canada et l’Éthiopie a dépassé les 170 millions de dollars en 2018. Ces échanges comprenaient des exportations vers l’Éthiopie d’une valeur de 130 millions de dollars et des importations à partir de l’Éthiopie d’une valeur de 40 millions de dollars.

Autres renseignements pertinents

 

June 2019