Canadian Embassy in Addis Ababa hosted trade delegations focused on Agriculture, Food Security and Nutrition

Mera Food Group, Gedco and the Saskatchewan Trade & Export Partnership (STEP) trade delegation met
with the Ethiopian Institute of Agricultural Research.
 

Ethiopia’s agriculture sector constitutes 40% of the nation’s GDP and employs roughly 80% of the population. Ethiopia has relied on traditional practices. This is now changing because of the launch of the Ethiopian government’s second five-year Growth and Transformation Plan (GTP II), which is aiming to increase crop productivity and boost food security and nutrition in the country.

In this context, an Agriculture, Food Security and Nutrition-focused trade delegation from Canada visited Addis Ababa from February 23-25, 2016. The Embassy of Canada to Ethiopia and the Saskatchewan Trade & Export Partnership (STEP) organized the business mission. Mission participants looked to develop better understanding of Ethiopia’s agriculture, food security and nutrition sectors in order to identify opportunities to provide Canadian commercial expertise, and establish technology transfer mechanisms. The mission fit nicely under the banner of the international Year of Pulses.

Three Canadian firms were part of the trade delegation:

  • Saskatchewan Trade & Export Partnership (STEP): Canada’s leading export industry development organization, champions diverse sectors including agriculture, agro-processing, and fertilizer.
     
  • MERA Food Group:  Specializes in food processing technologies, the implementation of whole-grain protein beverages, and other food products made from soybeans and pulses.
     
  • Gedco: A trading agricultural company that focuses on products like pulses, spices, dried fruit, nuts, rice, and milk powder.

The delegation held discussions with the Ethiopia Ministry of Agriculture and Natural Resources, the Ethiopia Agriculture Transformation Agency, the Ethiopian Institute for Agricultural Research, the World Food Programme (WFP), the African Development Bank (AfDB), private sector companies, and non-governmental organizations engaged in relevant sectors.

During their time in Ethiopia, the delegates learned that Canadian companies have the innovation and technology that can support Ethiopia’s agricultural production and productivity process. Furthermore, they can help strengthen the management and marketing practices of smallholders and cooperatives in Ethiopia, such as in areas of post-harvest losses, soil/land degradation, the absence of proper storage facilities, and logistical challenges.

The Ethiopian Government and donor agencies appreciated the Canada’s interest in Ethiopia’s agriculture sector, since Canada has various innovative technologies that can transform agricultural, food processing and nutrition sectors. Likewise, mission participants indicated that the visit increased their awareness of the sectors and how the market can be accessed by Canadian companies.

L’Ambassade du Canada à Addis-Abeba a reçu une délégation commerciale axée sur les domaines de l’agriculture, de la sécurité alimentaire et de la nutrition

La délégation commerciale composée du groupe alimentaire Mera, de Gedco et du Saskatchewan Trade & Export Partnership (STEP) a rencontré l’Institut éthiopien pour la recherche agricole.
 

En Éthiopie, le secteur de l’agriculture constitue 40 % du PIB du pays et emploie environ 80 % de la population. L’Éthiopie s’appuyait sur des pratiques traditionnelles. Cela commence à changer en raison du lancement du second Plan quinquennal de croissance et de transformation (Growth & Transformation Plan, GTP II) de l’État éthiopien, dont le but est d’augmenter la productivité agricole et de stimuler la sécurité alimentaire et la nutrition dans le pays.

C’est dans ce contexte qu’une délégation commerciale du Canada spécialisée dans les domaines de l’agriculture, de la sécurité alimentaire et de la nutrition a visité Addis-Abeba du 23 au 25 février 2016. L’Ambassade du Canada en Éthiopie et le Saskatchewan Trade & Export Partnership (STEP) ont organisé la mission commerciale. Les participants à cette mission souhaitaient mieux comprendre les secteurs de l’agriculture, de la sécurité alimentaire et de la nutrition en Éthiopie afin d’identifier les opportunités pour le Canada d’apporter son expertise commerciale et de mettre en place des mécanismes de transfert de technologie. La mission s’insère bien dans le cadre de l’Année internationale des légumineuses.

Trois compagnies canadiennes formaient cette délégation commerciale :

  • Saskatchewan Trade & Export Partnership (STEP) : L’organisation canadienne leader dans le domaine du développement de l’industrie d’exportation défend divers secteurs, notamment l’agriculture, l’agro-alimentaire et les engrais.
     
  • Groupe alimentaire MERA : se spécialise dans les technologies de transformation des aliments, dans la mise sur pied de boissons protéinées aux céréales complètes et d’autres produits alimentaires à base de soja et de légumineuses.
     
  • Gedco : Société agricole qui commercialise des produits tels que les légumineuses, les épices, les fruits secs, les noix, le riz et le lait en poudre.

La délégation a pu discuter avec le ministère éthiopien de l’Agriculture et des ressources naturelles, l’Agence éthiopienne de transformation agricole, l’Institut éthiopien pour la recherche agricole, le Programme alimentaire mondial (PAM) et la Banque africaine de développement (BAD) ainsi qu’avec des entreprises du secteur privé et des organisations non-gouvernementales qui travaillent dans les secteurs en question.

Au cours de leur visite en Éthiopie, les participants à la délégation ont appris que les entreprises canadiennes possédaient les capacités technologiques et d’innovation qui pouvaient soutenir les processus de production et de productivité agricoles de l’Éthiopie. De plus, elles peuvent aider au renforcement des pratiques de gestion et de marketing des petits exploitants et des coopératives en Éthiopie, par exemple dans les domaines des pertes après récolte, de la dégradation des sols/terres, de l’absence d’installations correctes de stockage, et des problèmes logistiques à résoudre.

L’État éthiopien et les agences de donateurs ont bien accueilli l’intérêt du Canada pour le secteur agricole éthiopien, car le Canada maîtrise diverses technologies innovantes qui peuvent transformer les secteurs de l’agriculture, de la transformation des aliments et de la nutrition. De façon similaire, les participants à la mission ont indiqué que la visite augmentait leur connaissance de ces secteurs et de la façon d’accéder à ce marché pour les entreprises canadiennes.