Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

France.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Bilateral Relations

Canada-France Relations

Canada and France have a long-standing, close relationship based on a common history and language; shared values; and diversified cooperation. The bilateral relationship is framed by the Enhanced Cooperation Agenda, designed to foster cooperation and ensure peace, security, sustainable development and prosperity. Multiple roadmaps and joint action plans have been developed recently to deepen bilateral cooperation, especially in the fields of peacekeeping, environment and climate change, international assistance and sustainable development and culture. Both countries are working together to promote multilateralism and progressive values, including gender equity and the Paris Agreement on climate change.

The first meeting between Prime Minister Justin Trudeau and the President of the French Republic, Emmanuel Macron, took place at the NATO Summit in Brussels in May 2017, and their first bilateral meeting took place on the sidelines of the G7 Summit held in Taormina, Italy the same month.

In addition to meeting frequently at international summits, this partnership is underpinned by frequent high-level meetings on both sides of the Atlantic. Prime Minister Justin Trudeau made a bilateral visit to France on April 16 and 17, 2018, accompanied by the Honourable Chrystia Freeland, Minister of Foreign Affairs; the Honourable François-Philippe Champagne, Minister of International Trade; the Honourable Catherine McKenna, Minister of Environment and Climate Change; and the Honourable Mélanie Joly, Minister of Canadian Heritage, as well as a trade delegation representing the fields of green tech and artificial intelligence.  The prime minister met with President Macron and Prime Minister Philippe Philippe. The first prime minister in a Canadian government to do so, Prime Minister Trudeau also addressed all the members gathered in the Chamber of the French National Assembly. On June 6 and 7, 2018, it was President Emmanuel Macron's turn to visit Canada on the sidelines of the G7 Summit. Prime Minister Trudeau then returned to Paris on May 16-17, 2019, responding to the call for Christchurch to combat violent extremism, including online.

Canada and France regularly take the opportunity to highlight the deep ties of their relationship during the numerous ceremonies commemorating the First and Second World Wars. In 2017, two major Canadian commemorations were held in France: one for the 100th anniversary of the Battle of Vimy Ridge, which the Prime Minister and the Governor General attended, and one for the 75th anniversary of the Dieppe Raid. In November 2018, Prime Minister Trudeau traveled to France to commemorate the 100th anniversary of the Armistice. The Prime Minister also attended the commemorations of the 75th anniversary of D-Day on June 6, 2019.

France is a major international ally for Canada as a permanent member of the United Nations Security Council, the North Atlantic Treaty Organization, the G7 and the G20; a founding member of the European Union; and a key partner in La Francophonie. France and Canada cooperate closely on foreign policy matters, as the two countries have a shared vision for international relations: a commitment to multilateralism; a focus on finding constructive solutions to international security problems; the protection of the environment; and the promotion of democracy, human rights, gender equality, good governance and development.

Canada and France work closely together in many of the world’s hot spots, including the Sahel, the Baltics and the Middle East. As part of Canada’s return to peace operations, Canada committed to deploy a Royal Canadian Air Force tactical group to the United Nations Multidimensional Integrated Stabilization Mission in Mali for a period of 12 months. Canadian and French troops are also part of NATO’s deployment in the Baltics. Canada and France are also fully engaged in the campaign against Daesh in Iraq.

Canada and France enjoy excellent relations in the world of academia. With numerous Canadian Studies Centres in France and hundreds of student exchange agreements signed between Canadian and French institutions of higher education, a large number of French students come to Canada every year. France is also one of the most popular destinations for Canadian post‑secondary students, particularly among non-anglophone destinations. Canada signed its first Youth Mobility Agreement with France in 1956. The latest agreement, in effect since 2015, allows Canadian and French young adults aged 18 to 35 to work, travel and intern in the other country for up to 24 months.

In France, Canada is represented by the Embassy of Canada in Paris. Canada has consulates headed by honorary consuls in Lyon, Nice, Saint-Pierre and Miquelon, and Toulouse. France is represented in Canada by its embassy in Ottawa and has consulates in Vancouver, Toronto, Montréal, Quebec and Moncton.

Footer

Date Modified:
2019-06-19

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

France.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Relations bilatérales

Relations Canada-France

Le Canada et la France entretiennent depuis longtemps des relations étroites fondées sur une histoire, une langue et des valeurs communes, ainsi qu’une coopération diversifiée. Le Programme de coopération renforcée sert de cadre à nos relations bilatérales et vise à favoriser une coopération en matière de paix, de sécurité, de développement durable et de prospérité. Les deux pays ont récemment adopté plusieurs feuilles de route et plans d'action communs pour approfondir leur coopération bilatérale, notamment dans des domaines comme le maintien de la paix, l'environnement et les changements climatiques, l’aide internationale et le développement durable  ainsi que la culture. Ils s’emploient ensemble à promouvoir le multilatéralisme et des valeurs progressistes, y compris l'équité entre les sexes et l'Accord de Paris sur les changements climatiques.

La première rencontre entre le Premier ministre Justin Trudeau et le Président de la République française, Emmanuel Macron, a eu lieu lors du Sommet de l’OTAN, à Bruxelles, en mai 2017, et leur premier entretien bilatéral a eu lieu en marge du Sommet du G7 tenu à Taormine, en Italie, le même mois.

En plus de se rencontrer fréquemment lors de sommets internationaux, des échanges bilatéraux réguliers des deux côtés de l’Atlantique contribuent à la poursuite de ce partenariat. Le Premier ministre Justin Trudeau a effectué une visite bilatérale en France les 16 et 17 avril 2018, accompagné de la Ministre des Affaires étrangères, l’honorable Chrystia Freeland, du Ministre du Commerce international, l’honorable François-Philippe Champagne, de la Ministre de l’Environnement et du Changement climatique, l’honorable Catherine McKenna, et de la Ministre du Patrimoine canadien, l’honorable Mélanie Joly, ainsi que d'une délégation commerciale représentant les domaines de la technologie verte et de l'intelligence artificielle.  Le Premier ministre a notamment rencontré le Président Macron et le Premier ministre Edouard Philippe. Premier chef d’un gouvernement canadien à le faire, le Premier ministre Trudeau s’est également adressé à l’ensemble des députés réunis dans l’hémicycle de l’Assemblée nationale française. Les 6 et 7 juin 2018, c’était au tour du Président Emmanuel Macron de se rendre au Canada, en marge du Sommet du G7. Le Premier Ministre Trudeau est par la suite retourné à Paris les 16 et 17 mai 2019, répondant à l’appel pour Christchurch visant à combattre l’extrémisme violent, y compris en ligne.

Le Canada et la France ont également l’occasion de souligner la solidité de leurs relations bilatérales au cours des nombreuses cérémonies commémoratives des Première et Seconde Guerres mondiales. En 2017, deux grandes commémorations canadiennes ont eu lieu en France; l’une pour le 100e anniversaire de la bataille de la crête de Vimy, à laquelle le Premier Ministre et le Gouverneur général se sont rendus, et l’autre pour le 75e anniversaire du raid sur Dieppe. En novembre 2018, le Premier Ministre Trudeau s’est rendu en France pour les commémorations du centième anniversaire de l’Armistice. Le Premier Ministre a également assisté aux commémorations du 75e anniversaire du débarquement de Normandie, le 6 juin 2019.      

Membre permanent du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies, de l’Organisation du Traité de l’Atlantique Nord, du G7 et du G20, pays fondateur de l'Union européenne et partenaire principal au sein de La Francophonie, la France est un allié majeur pour le Canada sur la scène internationale. Le Canada et la France entretiennent une collaboration étroite en matière de politique étrangère, les deux pays partageant une vision commune des relations internationales : engagement envers le multilatéralisme, recherches de solutions constructives aux problèmes de sécurité internationale, protection de l’environnement, et promotion de la démocratie, des droits de la personne, de l’égalité femmes-hommes, de la bonne gouvernance et du développement.

Le Canada et la France travaillent en étroite collaboration dans de nombreux points chauds du monde, y compris le Sahel, les pays baltes et le Moyen-Orient. Dans le cadre du retour du Canada dans les opérations de paix, le Canada s'est engagé à déployer un groupe tactique de l'aviation royale canadienne à la Mission multidimensionnelle intégrée des Nations Unies pour la stabilisation au Mali pour une période de 12 mois. Les troupes canadiennes et françaises font également partie du déploiement de l'OTAN dans les pays baltes. Le Canada et la France sont aussi pleinement engagés dans la campagne contre Daech en Irak. 

Le Canada et la France entretiennent d’excellentes relations au niveau universitaire. Comme la France compte de nombreux centres d'études canadiennes et que des centaines d’accords d’échanges d'étudiants ont été conclus entre des établissements d'enseignement supérieur canadiens et français, les étudiants français sont très nombreux à se rendre au Canada chaque année. Par ailleurs, la France est l’une des destinations les plus prisées des étudiants de niveau postsecondaire canadiens, notamment parmi les pays non anglophones. Le Canada a signé un premier accord relatif à la mobilité des jeunes avec la France en 1956. Le dernier accord, en vigueur depuis 2015, permet aux jeunes Canadiens et Français de 18 à 35 ans de travailler, voyager et faire des stages dans l’autre pays pendant une période pouvant aller jusqu’à 24 mois.  

En France, le Canada est représenté par l’ambassade du Canada à Paris. Le Canada a des consulats dirigés par des consuls honoraires à Lyon, Nice, Saint-Pierre-et-Miquelon et Toulouse. La France est représentée au Canada par son ambassade à Ottawa et elle a des consulats à Vancouver, Toronto, Montréal, Québec et Moncton.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2019-06-19