Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

France.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Bilateral Relations

Canada-France Economic Relations

Canada and France maintain strong and mutually beneficial economics relations. Trade in high value-added products and services continues to be strong. The two countries are expanding their partnership in the form of direct invest- ments, strategic alliances, and scientific, technology and innovation collaborations.

Trade and Investment1

Economic relations between Canada and France offer significant growth potential. The two countries are part of the Canada-United-States-Mexico Agree- ment and the European Union, respectively, and are gateways to these two major regional mar- kets. Canada and the European Union signed a historic economic agreement, the Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA), provisionally applied since September 2017. The main purpose of CETA is to reduce the costs of goods by eliminating tariffs, to increase mobility of people and to intensify trade in goods and services. In 2018, compared to prior-CETA 2017, bilateral trade between Canada and France increased by 11% for goods, trade in services stabi- lized and bilateral direct investment stock grew by 14%.

In 2018, France was Canada’s tenth largest partner in the world and the third largest in Europe in terms of overall trade of goods and services.

In trade of goods, France was Canada's ninth global partner and the fourth largest in Europe in 2018, with bilateral trade of 10.6 billion Canadian dollars ($). Canadian exports to France amounted to $3.4 billion, while French exports to Canada were $7.2 billion. Half of all Canadian exports to France are from hi-tech sectors (aeronautics, electrical/electronic/mechanical equip- ment, medical and measurement instruments) in addition to diversified products (minerals and metals, chemicals and pharmaceuticals, forestry and agri-food products). France exports to Can- ada capital goods (aeronautics, electrical and electronic equipment, machinery, medical instru- ments) and consumer goods (wines and spirits, pharmaceuticals, cosmetics, books and newspa- pers, various agri-food products).

In trade of services, France was Canada’s fourth largest global partner and the second largest in Europe in 2018. Bilateral trade in services stabilized at $6.7 billion. Canada is a net importer of French services ($46 million). Regarding tourism, the record of 604.200 French tourists in Canada was reached while 1.2 million Canadian tourists visited France. France is the fourth source country for international visitors to Canada, the fourth most popular country in the world for Canadians, and the second European country in both directions.

Cross investments are also important and diversified. The attractiveness of France for Canadian investors is confirmed. Nearly 250 French subsidiaries of Canadian companies, employing ap- proximately 25,000 people2, are spread across the French territory. Major companies are present, such as Bombardier, Boralex, CGI, Innergex, Magna, McCain, Mitel-Aastra, OpenText, Vermilion. Many are among the leaders in their sector. France, as a country of immediate destination3 for Canadian direct investment abroad, is the sixth European destination and the twentieth world- wide, with a stock of $7.4 billion at the end of 2018, up 9.5% on 2017.

France is an increasing source of investment for Canada. Approximately 1,130 Canadians subsid- iaries of French companies are established in Canada and employ nearly 105,500 people4. In 2016, French companies held $77 billion worth of assets in Canada. They are mainly located in Quebec and Ontario, and are growing across Canada. Almost all French multinational groups, big names in industry and services and more and more SMEs are present. France, as an immediate5 foreign investing country in Canada, is the sixth largest investor from Europe and the twelfth worldwide, with a stock of $ 13.5 billion at the end of 2018, up 17% on 2017. As an ultimate6 foreign investing country, France held direct investment stock worth $ 17.8 billion at the end of 2017 and was one of the top 10 investing countries in Canada.

Science, technology and innovation

France is one of Canada’s priority countries for scientific cooperation and technology partnerships. Canada and France pledged to strengthen their cooperation in science, technology and innovation. High value-added partnerships with a focus on innovation are being developed in strategic sec- tors: aerospace; medical technologies; biotechnology as applied to medicine and agro-industry; technologies for precision agriculture; green technologies; renewable energy; advanced materi- als; nanotechnologies; and information and communication technology.

Additional data:

Canada-France Economic Relations Table

Comparative table: main economic indicators

 [August 2019]



1 All data from Statistics Canada, unless otherwise stated.

2 Eurostat & Business France data.

3 Country of immediate destination: first country by which the investment transits leaving Canada.

4  Eurostat data.

5 Immediate investing country: the last country through which foreign direct investment transits before entering the Canadian economy.

6 Ultimate investor country: country of residence of the parent company or the ultimate controlling person on the investment.

Footer

Date Modified:
2019-08-09

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

France.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Relations bilatérales

Relations économiques Canada-France

Le Canada et la France entretiennent des liens écono- miques solides et mutuellement bénéfiques. Les échanges commerciaux de biens et services à forte valeur ajoutée sont soutenus. Un partenariat élargi s’intensifie sous forme d’investissements directs croisés, d’alliances stratégiques, de coopérations sectorielles et de partenariats technolo- giques, scientifiques et d’innovation.

Commerce et investissement1

Les relations économiques entre le Canada et la France présentent un important potentiel de crois- sance. Les deux pays font respectivement partie de l’Accord Canada-Etats-Unis-Mexique et de l’Union européenne et représentent des portes d’accès à ces deux grands marchés régionaux. Le Canada et l’Union européenne ont signé un accord économique historique, l’Accord économique et commercial global (AECG), en application provisoire depuis septembre 2017. Il vise à réduire les coûts des marchandises par la suppression des tarifs douaniers, accroître la mobilité des personnes et intensifier les échanges de biens et services. En 2018, comparé à l’année 2017 pré-AECG, les échanges bilatéraux entre le Canada et la France ont augmenté de 11% pour les marchandises, les échanges de services sont restés stables et le stock bilatéral d’investissements directs a crû de 14%.

En 2018, la France est le 10ème partenaire mondial et le 3ème européen du Canada en termes d’échanges de biens et de services.

Côté commerce de marchandises, la France est le 9ème partenaire mondial et le 4ème européen du Canada, avec des échanges de 10,6 milliards de dollars canadiens ($) en 2018. Les exportations canadiennes vers la France se sont élevées à $3,4 milliards, tandis que les exportations françaises à destination du Canada ont totalisé $7,2 milliards. La moitié des ventes canadiennes provient de secteurs de pointe (aéronautique, équipements électriques, électroniques et mécaniques, instru- ments médicaux et de mesure), auxquels s’ajoutent des produits diversifiés (minerais, métaux, produits chimiques et pharmaceutiques, produits forestiers et agroalimentaires). La France exporte au Canada des biens d’équipement (aéronautique, équipements électriques et électroniques, ma- chines, instruments médicaux) et des biens de consommation (vins et alcools, produits pharma- ceutiques, produits de beauté, livres et journaux, produits agroalimentaires variés).

Du côté des services, la France est le 4ème partenaire mondial et le 2ème européen du Canada en 2018. Les échanges bilatéraux atteignent $6,7 milliards. Le Canada est importateur net de services français pour $46 millions. Concernant les échanges touristiques, le record de 604.200 touristes français au Canada a été atteint tandis qu’1,2 million de touristes canadiens a visité la France. La France demeure le 4ème pays d’origine des voyageurs au Canada, le 4ème pays étranger visité par les Canadiens, et dans les deux sens, le 2ème pays européen.

Les investissements croisés sont également importants et diversifiés. L’attrait de la France pour les investisseurs canadiens se confirme. Environ 250 filiales françaises d’entreprises canadiennes, em- ployant quelque 25.000 personnes2, sont réparties sur l’ensemble du territoire métropolitain. Des compagnies majeures sont présentes, comme Bombardier, Boralex, CGI, Innergex, Magna, McCain, Mitel-Aastra, OpenText, Vermilion. Plusieurs figurent parmi les chefs de file de leurs activités. La France, en tant que pays de destination immédiate3 des investissements directs canadiens à l’étran- ger, est la 6ème destination européenne et la 20ème mondiale, avec un stock de $7,4 milliards fin 2018, en hausse de 9,5% sur 2017.

La présence française s’intensifie au Canada. Environ 1.130 filiales canadiennes d’entreprises fran- çaises sont implantées au Canada et emploient environ 105.500 personnes4. Elles détenaient des actifs de $77 milliards fin 2016. Elles sont établies principalement au Québec et en Ontario, et progressent dans l’ensemble du territoire canadien. La quasi-totalité des groupes français multina- tionaux, les grands noms de l’industrie et des services et de plus en plus de PME sont présents. La France, en tant que pays investisseur étranger immédiat5 au Canada, est le 6ème investisseur européen et le 12ème mondial, avec un stock de $13,5 milliards fin 2018, en hausse de 17% sur 2017. En tant que pays investisseur étranger ultime6 au Canada, la France détenait fin 2017 un stock d’investissements directs de $17,8 milliards et figurait au top 10 des pays investisseurs au Canada.

Sciences, technologie et innovation

La France est un pays prioritaire en coopération scientifique et partenariat technologique pour le Canada. Le Canada et la France se sont engagés à renforcer leurs coopérations en sciences, tech- nologies et innovation. Des partenariats à forte valeur ajoutée, orientés vers l’innovation, s’inten- sifient dans des secteurs stratégiques : aéronautique, technologies médicales, biotechnologies ap- pliquées à la santé et à l’agro-industrie, technologies pour l’agriculture de précision, matériaux avancés, écotechnologies, énergies renouvelables, technologies de l’information et de la commu- nication.

Données complémentaires :

Tableau des échanges économiques Canada-France 2018

Tableau comparatif : principaux indicateurs économiques

[Août 2019]



1 Données Statistique Canada sauf indication contraire.

2 Données Eurostat & Business France.

3 Pays de destination immédiate : premier pays par lequel l’investissement transite en sortant du Canada.

4 Données Eurostat.

5 Pays investisseur immédiat : dernier pays par lequel l’investissement étranger transite avant d’entrer au Canada.

6 Pays investisseur ultime : pays de résidence de la société-mère ou de la personne qui exerce le contrôle ultime sur l’investissement.

 

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2019-08-09