Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

France.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Bilateral Relations
  4. >
  5. Canada-France Trade Relations

Declaration on the Joint Economic Action Plan Canada-France 2016-2017

We acknowledge the 2016–2017 Canada-France Joint Economic Action Plan endorsed during the 19th session of the Canada-France Economic Meeting, held in Paris, France, on May 11, 2016.

The 2016−2017 Canada-France Joint Economic Action Plan extends and builds on the direction of previous bilateral cooperation and information exchange plans, and it seeks to revitalize the economic and commercial ties between Canada and France by implementing concrete initiatives.

Three areas of cooperation were identified in this regard and will be carried out as follows:

  1. Supporting Canadian and French companies in the areas of business development, market access and promotion of cross-investment

    Canada and France pledge to promote closer cooperation among the various economic development agencies, the regular exchange of information and the implementation of joint initiatives. Plans include joint consultations when developing annual strategies for economic and commercial services, periodic exchanges of information on France’s presence and trade activity in Canada, and Canada’s presence and trade activity in France, and regular contact to plan trade missions and shows.
  2. Promoting the ratification and implementation of the Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement between Canada, of the one part, and the European Union and its Member States, of the other part (CETA)

    Canada and France pledge to promote the ratification and implementation of CETA and to help companies fully benefit from the agreement, once it has been implemented, through targeted activities and regular information-sharing with the private sector. According to the Agreement, the Canadian and French business communities must be informed so they can take advantage of this agreement once it is implemented, and thus help to strengthen bilateral trade ties. Economic and commercial services will be an excellent channel of information to support the Canadian and French business communities in these efforts.
  3. Strengthening cooperation in the areas of competitiveness, innovation, and science and technology

    Canada and France pledge to help ensure that innovation, science and technology leverage growth and further contribute to the economic development of the two countries. The tool for this development is the Bilateral Working Group on Innovation and Science and Technology, or “GT Innovation.” Through this group, Canada and France will make efforts to help market new technologies, exchange best practices and put start-ups in touch with mature companies. Special attention will also be focused on projects involving advanced manufacturing, electric vehicles and sustainable agriculture (as well as any other sector that the two countries view as presenting genuine opportunities for bilateral technological partnerships).

Follow-up

With a view to achieving the objectives set out in this declaration, France and Canada will maintain an ongoing dialogue and information exchange to identify and implement collaborative and partnership initiatives.

We understand that a mid-term review of the implementation of the 2016–2017 Joint Economic Action Plan will be conducted by the Canadian and French co-chairs of the Joint Economic Action Plan.

We also understand that the 20th Canada-France Economic Meeting will be held in Canada at the end of 2017, at which time the first item on the agenda will be to assess the results achieved through the implementation of the 2016–2017 Joint Economic Action Plan.

 

Signed in duplicate at                               , on the            day of                 , 2016, in the English and French languages, each version being equally valid.

 

__________________________________
For the Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development of Canada

 

__________________________________
For the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Development of the French Republic

Footer

Date Modified:
2016-10-12

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

France.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Relations bilatérales
  4. >
  5. Relations commerciales Canada-France

Déclaration sur le Plan d’Action Conjoint Économique Canada-France 2016-2017

Nous prenons acte du Plan d’action conjoint économique Canada-France 2016-2017 approuvé lors de la XIXe session de la Rencontre économique Canada-France, qui s’est tenue le 11 mai 2016 à Paris (France).

Le Plan d’action conjoint économique Canada-France 2016-2017 prolonge et renforce les orientations des plans précédents en matière de coopération bilatérale et d’échange d’information, et s’engage à redynamiser les liens économiques et commerciaux entre le Canada et la France par la mise en œuvre de projets concrets.

Trois axes de coopération ont été identifiés dans ce contexte et seront réalisés comme suit :

  1. Appuyer les entreprises canadiennes et françaises en matière de développement des affaires, d’accès aux marchés et de promotion des investissements croisés

    Le Canada et la France s’engagent à favoriser une coopération plus étroite entre les différents organismes de développement économique, l’échange d’information sur une base régulière et la mise en œuvre d’activités conjointes. Seront notamment prévus des consultations croisées lors de l’élaboration des stratégies annuelles des services économiques et commerciaux, des échanges périodiques de données sur la présence et l’activité commerciale françaises au Canada et canadiennes en France, et des contacts réguliers pour la planification de missions et foires commerciales.
  2. Promouvoir la ratification et la mise en œuvre de l’Accord économique et commercial global entre le Canada, d’une part, et l’Union européenne et ses États membres, d’autre part (AECG)

    Le Canada et la France s’engagent à promouvoir la ratification et la mise en œuvre de l’AECG et à aider les entreprises à tirer pleinement profit de l’accord, une fois mis en œuvre, grâce à des activités ciblées et au partage régulier d’information avec le secteur privé. En fonction de l’AECG, les milieux d’affaires canadiens et français doivent être informés de manière à profiter des avantages de cet accord, dès sa mise en oeuvre, et contribuer ainsi au renforcement des liens commerciaux bilatéraux. Les services économiques et commerciaux constitueront un excellent relais d’information pour appuyer les milieux d’affaires canadiens et français dans cette démarche.
  3. Renforcer la coopération en matière de compétitivité, d’innovation et de science et technologie

    Le Canada et la France s’engagent à contribuer à ce que l’innovation et la science et technologie servent de leviers de croissance et contribuent davantage au développement économique des deux pays. L’instrument de ce développement est le Groupe de travail bilatéral sur l’Innovation, la Science et la Technologie ou « GT Innovation ». Dans le cadre de ce groupe, le Canada et la France déploieront des efforts pour soutenir la commercialisation des nouvelles technologies, l’échange de meilleures pratiques et la mise en relation des entreprises émergentes et matures. Une attention particulière sera également portée aux projets ayant trait à la fabrication de pointe, aux véhicules électriques et à l’agriculture durable (ainsi qu’à tout autre secteur pour lequel les deux pays considèreront qu’existent de réelles opportunités en matière de partenariats technologiques bilatéraux).

Suivis

Dans la perspective d’atteindre les objectifs établis dans la présente déclaration, la France et le Canada maintiendront un dialogue et un échange d’information continus afin d’identifier et de mettre en œuvre des initiatives de collaboration et de partenariat.

Nous comprenons qu’un suivi de la mise en application du Plan d’action conjoint économique 2016-2017 sera effectué à mi-parcours par les co-présidents canadien et français du Plan d’action conjoint économique.

Nous comprenons également qu’à la fin de l’année 2017 se tiendra au Canada la XXe Rencontre économique Canada-France, dont le premier point à l’ordre du jour sera de procéder à l’évaluation des résultats atteints au terme de la mise en application du Plan d’action conjoint économique 2016-2017.

 

Signé, en deux exemplaires à                           , ce         jour de                     2016, dans les langues française et anglaise, les deux versions étant également valides.

 

__________________________________
Pour le ministère des Affaires étrangères, du Commerce et du Développement du Canada

 

__________________________________
Pour le ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Développement international de la République Française

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2016-10-12