Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

France.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. For Canadians
  4. >
  5. Living/Travelling in France

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) PASSPORT

1. I am in France or Monaco. How do I renew my Canadian passport?

If your adult passport is close to its expiry date or has expired February 1st 2019 or after (NEW), has not been damaged, declared lost or stolen, complete the Adult Abroad Simplified Renewal Passport Application (PPTC482).  Check all the eligibility criterias before completing this simplified application. 

If your passport expired on January 31st 2019 or before, complete the Adult Abroad General Passport Application (PPTC040).

If you need a passport for a child under the age of 16, complete the Child Abroad General Passport Application (PPTC042).

Note: If you are having trouble opening files, try another internet browser, such as Internet Explorer, or save the document to your computer before opening it. 

2. How can I submit my passport application in France (including overseas departments and regions) or from Monaco?

By mail :

Passport applications must be sent by traceable mail or registered mail to the Consular Service of the Embassy of Canada in Paris, regardless of where you live in France or the Principality of Monaco:

Consular Service
Embassy of Canada
130 rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré>
75008 PARIS

In person at the embassy, by appointment only:

Any applicant who submits a passport application in person must be 16 years of age or older. If you are unable to submit your own application in person, a third party may do so under certain conditions: acceptable third party. 

An appointment is required to submit an application in person at the consular reception desk of the Embassy.

It is also possible to drop off your complete application in a sealed envelope addressed to the Consular Service with the guards at the entrance of the Embassy in Paris between 9 am to 5 pm (without entering the embassy, i.e. without an appointment).

3. How can I collect my passport?

By registered mail (default mode of return):

If you sent your application by mail, your passport will be returned to you by registered mail. You do not have to provide an envelope or pay extra for this postal service.

If you submitted your application in person (by appointment) and chose the option of receiving your passport by mail, it will be sent to you by registered mail. You do not have to provide an envelope or pay extra for this postal service.

In person at the Embassy:

If you submitted your application in person (by appointment) and chose the option to come and collect your passport in person, you must wait for the email notifying you that your passport is ready to be picked up and to make an appointment. Do not book this appointment until you have received this email notification.

If you authorize a third party to pick up your passport (by appointment), this person must be provided with a signed letter of authorization from you and a copy of your valid ID. This person must also present his or her own valid photo ID with signature.

4. How soon will I get my passport?

The processing time for a passport application is 20 business days (approximately 4 weeks), excluding postal delivery time, upon submission of a duly completed file.

5. How can I expedite the processing time and get my passport more quickly?

Since passports are printed in Canada, it is not possible to expedite processing. However, if you have an urgent trip (in less than 20 business days), with proof of travel, or if you need a passport to obtain a residence permit in France, please contact us by email at paris- passeport@international.gc.ca, providing your full contact information, a description of the situation, and the proof of the emergency in an attachment. Please note that additional fees apply and that the applicant must appear in person at the Embassy in Paris at least once during the processing of the application (by appointment only).

6. I am a dual citizen. Can I travel to Canada with my French passport or a passport of another country?

No, you must present a valid Canadian passport to travel to Canada. Since November 2016, all Canadian citizens who travel by air to or transit through Canada must do so with their Canadian passport. If you are travelling to Canada in less than 10 days and are unable to apply for an emergency Canadian passport (see question 5), you may be able to receive a Special Authorization. Find out if you are eligible for a Special Authorization. Please note that the Special Authorization is a temporary measure, and we encourage you to obtain a Canadian passport.

7. I am Canadian. Can my child who was born in France, Monaco or elsewhere in the world obtain a Canadian passport?

You can apply for a Canadian passport for your child as soon as s/he has been determined to be a Canadian citizen and has been issued a Canadian citizenship certificate. You must have an original citizenship certificate to apply for a Canadian passport (see question 22). For more information on Canadian citizenship, please refer to the Frequently Asked Questions on Citizenship, questions 1, 2 and 3.

8. I am Canadian and would like to travel to Canada soon with my child, but I have not yet received his/her Canadian citizenship certificate in order to apply for a passport. What can I do?

Please send us an email at paris-passeport@international.gc.ca indicating the child's full name, date of birth, date you submitted the citizenship certificate application or date the application was received at the embassy (according to your postal delivery notification), proof of travel and/or travel date of your child, if available, as well as your full contact details. 

9. I am applying for a passport for my whole family. Can I send everything in the same envelope?

Yes, you can include multiple applications in one envelope. You can also make a payment for the total of the processing fees for all applications (see question 10). Please attach photos and supporting documents to the appropriate application to facilitate processing. Once processing is complete, all passports will be returned together by registered mail.

10. How do I pay the fees for one or more passport applications?

Please pay the fees online via the IRCC website and submit a copy of the payment receipt with your application(s). It is possible to provide a single online payment receipt for the fees of several passport applications submitted at the same time in the same envelope. You will find all the information on passport service fees and payment methods on the Accepted methods of payment page of our website.

11. I’m nervous about submitting original documents. Will they be returned?

Yes, your original documents will be returned to you by registered mail with your new passport.

12. Will my previous passport be returned?

Yes, your previous passport will be returned to you if in Section 2 of the Adult Abroad Simplified Renewal Passport Application or in Section 3 of the Adult Abroad General Passport Application or in Section 3 of the Child Abroad General Passport Application you check the box next to “Yes, please return it to me.”

13. Can I extend the validity of my passport?

No, passport validity is not extendable. You must apply for a new passport.

14. Can I get more pages added to my passport?

No, you must apply for a new passport.

15. My passport has been lost / stolen / damaged. What should I do?

If your passport has been lost, stolen or damaged, you must notify us immediately by email at paris-passeport@international.gc.ca . Please see this page for more information and the list of documents to submit for a new passport.

16. I have changed my surname (through marriage, divorce, legal name change, etc.).  Can I obtain a new passport?

Yes. You must complete an Adult Abroad General Passport Application (PPTC040), pay the processing fee and enclose supporting documents, if applicable. Your new name must appear on the identification document(s) that you must provide in support of your application (e.g. valid driver's license, valid passport from another country, residence permit, etc.). Please refer to this page for the list of additional documents to be provided.

17. Who can I use as a guarantor?

Your guarantor must know you personally for at least 2 years. S/He must be easily reachable by telephone during the processing of your passport application. You can select your guarantor from the following two options:

1. Your guarantor is a member of an occupational group (judge, pharmacist, dentist, notary, doctor, lawyer, etc.). S/He does not have to be a Canadian citizen; however s/he must be practising her/his profession in France (including the French overseas territories) or in the Principality of Monaco at the time s/he completes and signs your form, your photograph, and the copy of your identification document after having seen the original. (Retired professionals are generally not eligible).

OR

2. Your guarantor has a valid Canadian passport (does not need to be in an occupational group). To be eligible as guarantor, s/he must hold a five or ten-year Canadian passport that is still valid or has been expired for less than one year. To act as guarantor, the Canadian passport holder must be 18 years of age or over and must have been at least 16 years old when her/his passport was issued. S/He can reside in France, Canada or elsewhere in the world.

A member of your family or another person residing at the same address as you can act as guarantor provided that this person meets the requirements mentioned above in options 1 or 2.

Please see this page for more information on choosing your guarantor.

18. Can I be guarantor for my child's passport application?

If you are the applicant (parent or legal guardian, whether you are Canadian or not) for a child’s passport application, you cannot act as guarantor. You cannot be both applicant and guarantor at the same time. However, the other parent or legal guardian can act as guarantor provided that s/he meets the eligibility criteria mentioned in question 17. 

19. I do not have a guarantor. What can I do?

If you do not have a guarantor, please request the Statutory Declaration In Lieu of Guarantor (PPTC 132) form by sending an email to paris-passeport@international.gc.ca explaining why you do not have a guarantor.  You will need to have your signature on the form witnessed before an official authorised by law to administer an oath or solemn affirmation. This official could be:


           - a Canadian diplomatic or consular representative (fees apply)

 or
          - a lawyer, a notary

This official does not need to know you but you must be able to provide identification to show them. They must also sign one of your photographs on the reverse with the following statement: “This is Exhibit A in support of the applicant’s Statutory Declaration.”

20. Who can I use as a reference?

You can use anyone who is neither a family member nor your guarantor, who is 18 years of age and over, and has known you for at least two years.

A reference must accept that you mention her/his name and contact details on your application form.  S/he may be contacted by phone during the processing of your application.

Please see this page for more information on choosing your references.

21. My photographer has no stamp to put on the back of the photo. What can I do?

The photographer’s name and address and the date the photos were taken can be written by hand on the back of the photos. Please see the passport photos page for more information on the photos.

22. Do you accept photos taken in a photo booth (Photomaton)?

Photos taken in a photo booth (e.g. Photomaton) are not accepted because they do not meet the specifications set out in the instructions of the passport application. Please see the passport photos page for more information on the photos.

23. What proof of Canadian citizenship is acceptable in support of a passport application?

The original of one of the following documents must be submitted with your passport application. Photocopies are not accepted.


If you were born in Canada:

  • Original birth certificate in detailed or abbreviated format, issued by the province or territory where you were born;

    To obtain an original Canadian birth certificate, please contact the provincial or territorial  vital statistics office directly. Contact details for provincial and territorial vital statistics services are available at: http://www.statcan.gc.ca/eng/health/vital/2012001/con
    IMPORTANT
    : If you were born in Quebec, only certificates issued by the Directeur de l’état civil of Quebec after January 1, 1994 are accepted.
  • Original citizenship certificate issued by Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC).


If you were born abroad, the original of one of the following documents issued by IRCC:

• Citizenship Certificate;
• Certificate of Naturalization;
• Certificate of Registration of Birth Abroad;
• Certificate of Retention of Canadian citizenship.

IMPORTANT: The Commemorative Certificate that accompanied the citizenship card issued between 1977 and 2012 is not proof of citizenship.

Please see the Proof of Canadian Citizenship page for more information.

24. What identification documents are acceptable in support of the passport application?

When applying for a passport, you must provide at least one document to prove your identity.
The ID must:

  • Contain all of the following:
    • Name
    • Date of birth
    • Photo
    • Signature
  • and respect the following criteria:
    • Be valid (not expired);
    • Have been issued by a federal, provincial, territorial or state government authority or by an equivalent authority abroad.

You can submit more than one piece of valid ID if you do not have a single document that contains all of the requested information. Please see the valid ID page for more information.

25. Does my child have to sign her/his passport application and her/his passport?

Children under the age of 16 are not required to sign the application form or her/his passport but children between the ages of 11 and 15 can do so. No one other than the child must sign in the space reserved for this purpose in section 1 of the application.

Important: Never sign your child’s passport or other travel document. A parent’s or legal guardian’s signature makes the document invalid. Print the Signature policy and bring it with you when you travel in case you are asked to sign it.

26. In the event of separation or divorce, who can apply for a passport on behalf of a child?

The parent or tutor who has legal custody of the child and with whom the child habitually resides according to the most recent divorce judgment, separation agreement, or court order must be the applicant parent on the passport application. Where a joint custody provision exists, either parent may apply, but both parents must sign the application. Please note that ALL existing documents that refer to custody of, mobility of, or access to the child must be submitted (not just the most recent document).

We recommend the parents submit a proof of ID along with the application as it might be requested during the process.

27. Must my Canadian passport be valid at least six months before arriving in the country I want to visit?

All countries have their own entry requirements. Read the Travel Advice and Advisories for the entry and exit requirements for each country.

28. How can I reach you?

We invite you to check if an answer to your question is provided on the Embassy website or on the Passport Help Centre page before contacting us. Given the high number of enquiries that we receive each day, it is unfortunately impossible for us to respond individually to the questions for which an answer is already provided on our official websites. If you still cannot find the answer you are looking for, send a detailed email to paris-passeport@international.gc.ca, specifying your name and telephone number so that we can call you if necessary.

Updated: July 21, 2020

 

 

Footer

Date Modified:
2020-09-18

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

France.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Pour les Canadiens
  4. >
  5. Vivre et voyager en France

FOIRE AUX QUESTIONS PASSEPORT

1. Je suis en France ou à Monaco. Comment faire pour renouveler mon passeport canadien ?

Si votre passeport est proche de sa date d'expiration ou a expiré le 1er février 2019 ou après (NOUVEAU), qu’il n’a pas été endommagé, déclaré perdu ou volé, remplissez la Demande de renouvellement simplifié de passeport pour adulte à l’étranger (PPTC 483). Vérifiez tous les critères d’admissibilité avant de remplir cette demande simplifiée.

Si votre passeport a expiré le 31 janvier 2019 ou avant, remplissez la Demande de passeport général adulte à l'étranger (PPTC041).

Si vous avez besoin d’un passeport pour un enfant de moins de 16 ans, remplissez la Demande de passeport pour enfant (moins de 16 ans) (PPTC043) .

Note : si vous avez des difficultés à ouvrir les fichiers, veuillez essayer avec un autre navigateur internet, tel Internet Explorer, ou enregistrez le document sur votre ordinateur avant de l’ouvrir.

2. Comment puis-je soumettre ma demande passeport en France (départements et régions d'outre-mer inclus) ou depuis Monaco ?

Par voie postale :

Les demandes de passeport doivent être envoyées par courrier suivi ou par courrier recommandé au service consulaire de l’Ambassade du Canada à Paris, quel que soit votre lieu de résidence en France ou en Principauté de Monaco.:

Service consulaire
Ambassade du Canada
130 rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré
75008 PARIS

En personne à l’ambassade, sur rendez-vous uniquement :

Tout requérant qui dépose une demande de passeport en personne doit être âgé de 16 ans et plus. Si vous êtes dans l’impossibilité de vous présenter en personne, une tierce personne peut le faire sous certaines conditions : tiers acceptable.

Un rendez-vous est obligatoire pour déposer une demande en personne à la réception consulaire de l’ambassade.

Il est également possible de déposer votre demande complète sous enveloppe cachetée auprès des gardes à l’entrée de l’ambassade à Paris entre 9 h et 17 h (sans entrer dans l’ambassade, donc sans rendez-vous).

3. Comment puis-je récupérer mon passeport ?

Par voie postale (mode privilégié) :

Si vous avez envoyé votre demande par courrier, votre passeport vous sera renvoyé par courrier recommandé. Vous n’avez pas à fournir d’enveloppe ou à payer des frais supplémentaires pour ce service de courrier.

Si vous avez déposé votre demande en personne (par prise de rendez-vous) et que vous avez choisi l’option de le recevoir par courrier, il vous sera envoyé par courrier recommandé. Vous n’avez pas à fournir d’enveloppe ou à payer des frais supplémentaires pour ce service de courrier.

En personne à l’ambassade :

Si vous avez déposé votre demande en personne (par prise de rendez-vous) et que vous avez choisi l’option de venir retirer votre passeport en personne, vous devez attendre le courriel notifiant que votre passeport est prêt pour son retrait pour prendre un rendez-vous de retrait de passeport. Ne prenez pas ce rendez-vous avant d’avoir reçu cette notification par courriel.

Si vous autorisez une tierce personne à retirer votre passeport (en prenant rendez-vous), celle-ci devra être munie d’une autorisation signée de votre part et de la copie d’une de vos pièces d’identité valide. Elle devra également présenter une de ses pièces d’identité valide comportant sa photo et sa signature.

4. Dans combien de temps vais-je obtenir mon passeport ?

Le délai de traitement d’un passeport est de 20 jours ouvrables (soit environ 4 semaines), hors délais postaux, sur présentation d'un dossier dûment complété.

5. Que puis-je faire pour accélérer les choses et obtenir mon passeport plus rapidement ?

Puisque les passeports sont imprimés au Canada, il n’est pas possible d’accélérer le traitement. Toutefois, si vous avez un voyage urgent (dans moins de 20 jours ouvrés), avec preuve de voyage, ou besoin d’un passeport pour l’obtention d’un titre de séjour en France, merci de nous contacter par courriel à paris-passeport@international.gc.ca en indiquant vos coordonnées complètes, une description de la situation et le justificatif de l’urgence en pièce jointe. Veuillez noter que des frais supplémentaires s’appliquent et que le requérant devra obligatoirement se présenter en personne à l’ambassade à Paris au moins une fois durant le traitement de la demande (sur rendez-vous uniquement).

6. J’ai la double nationalité. Puis-je me rendre au Canada avec mon passeport français ou un passeport d’une autre nationalité ?

Non, vous devez présenter un passeport canadien valide. Depuis novembre 2016, tous les citoyens canadiens qui voyagent par avion et/ou transitent au Canada doivent le faire avec leur passeport canadien. Si vous voyagez au Canada dans moins de 10 jours et que vous êtes dans l’impossibilité de faire une demande de passeport canadien d’urgence (voir question 5), vous pourriez peut-être recevoir une Autorisation spéciale. Déterminez si vous êtes admissible à une Autorisation spéciale. Veuillez noter que l’Autorisation spéciale est une mesure temporaire, vous êtes encouragé à obtenir un passeport canadien.

7. Je suis Canadien.ne. Mon enfant né en France, à Monaco ou ailleurs dans le monde, peut-il obtenir un passeport canadien ?

Votre enfant peut demander un passeport canadien dès que la citoyenneté canadienne lui aura été attribuée. Il est nécessaire d’être titulaire d’un certificat de citoyenneté original pour présenter une demande de passeport canadien (voir la question 22). Pour plus de renseignements sur la citoyenneté canadienne, veuillez-vous référer à la Foire aux questions sur la citoyenneté, aux questions 1, 2 et 3.

8. Je suis Canadien.ne et j’aimerais voyager bientôt au Canada avec mon enfant mais je n’ai pas encore reçu son certificat de citoyenneté canadienne pour faire sa demande de passeport. Que faire ?

Veuillez nous envoyer un courriel à paris-passeport@international.gc.ca en indiquant le nom complet de l’enfant, sa date de naissance, la preuve ou date d’envoi de sa demande de certificat de citoyenneté ou l’accusé réception de sa demande, la preuve et/ou date de voyage de votre enfant, si disponible, ainsi que les coordonnées complètes où vous joindre.

9. Je fais une demande de passeport pour toute ma famille, puis-je envoyer le tout dans la même enveloppe ?

Oui, vous pouvez inclure plusieurs demandes dans une même enveloppe. Vous pouvez également faire un paiement au montant total des frais de traitement pour l’ensemble des demandes (voir question 10). Veuillez joindre les photos et preuves d’identité à la demande appropriée pour faciliter le traitement. Une fois le traitement terminé, tous les passeports seront retournés ensemble par courrier recommandé.

10. Comment payer les frais d’une ou plusieurs demandes de passeport ?

Veuillez payer les frais en ligne via le site web d’IRCC et soumettre une copie du reçu de paiement avec votre/vos demandes de passeport(s). Il est possible de fournir un seul reçu de paiement pour plusieurs demandes de passeport soumises en même temps dans la même enveloppe.

Les informations générales sur les différents frais de services de passeport et les modes de paiement sont disponibles sur notre site à la page Tarifs et modes de paiement de notre site web.

11. Cela m’inquiète d’envoyer des documents originaux. Me seront-ils retournés ?

Oui, vos documents originaux vous seront retournés par courrier recommandé avec votre nouveau passeport.

12. Mon précédent passeport me sera-t-il retourné ?

Oui, si à la Section 2 de la Demande de renouvellement simplifié de passeport pour adulte à l’étranger ou à la Section 3 de la Demande de passeport général adulte à l'étranger ou de la Demande de passeport pour enfant (moins de 16 ans), vous cochez la case à côté de « Oui, veuillez me le retourner ».

13. Est-il possible de prolonger la période de validité de mon passeport ?

Non, les passeports ne sont pas prolongeables. Vous devez demander un nouveau passeport.

14. Puis-je ajouter des pages à mon passeport ?

Non, vous devez demander un nouveau passeport.

15. Mon passeport a été perdu/volé/endommagé. Que dois-je faire?

Si votre document de voyage est perdu, volé ou endommagé, vous devez nous en aviser immédiatement via paris-passeport@international.gc.ca . Veuillez consulter la page suivante pour en savoir davantage et connaître quels documents soumettre pour l’obtention d’un nouveau passeport.

16. J’ai changé de nom (soit par mariage, divorce, acte formaliste unilatéral, etc.), puis-je obtenir un nouveau passeport ?

Oui. Vous devez remplir une Demande de passeport générale pour adulte à l’étranger, payer les frais de traitement et joindre les documents justificatifs, le cas échéant. Votre nouveau nom doit figurer sur la pièce d’identité que vous devez fournir à l’appui de votre demande (ex. permis de conduire valide, passeport valide d’un autre pays, carte de séjour, etc.). Merci de vous référer à la page suivante afin de connaître les documents supplémentaires à fournir.

17. Qui peut me servir de répondant ?

Votre répondant doit vous connaître personnellement depuis au moins 2 ans. Il doit être facilement joignable par téléphone durant le traitement de votre demande de passeport. Vous pouvez sélectionner votre répondant selon les deux options suivantes :

1. Votre répondant est un membre d’un groupe professionnel (juge, pharmacien, dentiste, notaire, médecin, avocat, etc.). Il ne doit pas forcément être de nationalité canadienne cependant il doit obligatoirement exercer sa profession sur le territoire français ou sur la Principauté de Monaco lorsqu’il complète et signe votre formulaire, votre photographie et la copie de votre pièce d’identité dont il doit avoir vu l’originale, le cas échéant. (Les professionnels à la retraite ne sont généralement pas admissibles).

OU

2. Votre répondant est détenteur d’un passeport canadien valide (il n’a pas besoin de faire partie d’un groupe professionnel). Pour être admissible à être répondant, il doit être titulaire d’un passeport canadien d’une durée de validité de cinq ans ou dix ans qui est toujours valide ou expiré depuis un an tout au plus. Pour agir en tant que répondant, le titulaire du passeport canadien doit être âgé de 18 ans ou plus et avoir eu au moins 16 ans lorsque le passeport a été délivré. Il peut résider en France, au Canada ou ailleurs dans le monde.

Un membre de votre famille ou une autre personne résidant à la même adresse que vous peut agir comme répondant à condition que cette personne réponde aux exigences 1 ou 2 ci-haut mentionnées.

Veuillez consultez cette page pour plus d’informations sur le choix de votre répondant.

18. Puis-je être répondant sur la demande de passeport de mon enfant ?

Si vous êtes le requérant (parent ou tuteur légal, que vous soyez canadien ou non) d’une demande de passeport pour un enfant, vous ne pouvez pas lui servir de répondant. Vous ne pouvez pas agir à titre de requérant et de répondant en même temps. Cependant, l’autre parent ou tuteur légal peut agir comme répondant à condition qu’il réponde aux critères d’admissibilité mentionnés à la question 17.

19. Je n’ai pas de répondant. Que puis-je faire ?

Si vous n’avez pas de répondant, veuillez demander le formulaire de « Déclaration faute de répondant (PPTC 132) » par courriel à paris-passeport@international.gc.ca expliquant la raison pour laquelle vous n’avez pas de répondant. La signature du formulaire devra être apposée en présence d'une personne qui, selon la loi, est autorisée à faire prêter un serment ou une affirmation solennelle. Il peut s'agir de :

- un représentant diplomatique ou consulaire canadien (des frais s’appliquent) ou

-  un avocat ou un notaire

Il n'est pas obligatoire que cette personne vous connaisse, mais vous devez être en mesure de lui fournir des pièces d'identité. Cette personne devra également certifier/signer l'une de vos photos à l'aide de la phrase suivante au verso :  « Pièce A au soutien de la Déclaration du requérant. »

20. Qui puis-je utiliser à titre de référence ?

Toute personne qui ne soit ni un membre de votre famille ni votre répondant, qui soit âgée de 18 ans et plus et qui vous connaisse depuis au moins deux ans.

Une référence doit accepter que vous mentionniez son nom et ses coordonnées sur votre formulaire de demande. Cette personne pourrait être contactée durant le traitement de la demande.

Veuillez consultez cette page pour plus d’informations sur le choix de vos références.

21. Mon photographe n’a pas de cachet à mettre au verso de la photo. Que puis-je faire ?

Le nom et l’adresse du photographe et la date à laquelle les photos ont été prises peuvent être écrits à la main au verso des photos. Veuillez consulter la page photos de passeport pour plus de renseignements sur les photos.

22. Acceptez-vous les photos prises dans une cabine photographique (photomaton) ?

Les photos prises dans une cabine photographique (photomaton) ne sont pas acceptées car elles ne respectent pas les spécifications énoncées dans le formulaire de demande. Veuillez consulter la page photos de passeport pour plus de renseignements sur les photos.

23. Quelle preuve de citoyenneté canadienne est acceptable à l’appui d’une demande de passeport ?

Le document original d’un de ces documents doit être soumis avec votre demande de passeport, les photocopies ne sont pas acceptées :

Si vous êtes né.e au Canada :

  • Certificat de naissance original en format détaillé ou abrégé, délivré par la province ou le territoire où vous êtes né.e ;

Pour obtenir l’original d’un acte de naissance canadien, veuillez contacter directement le service d’état civil provincial concerné afin de leur transmettre une demande. Les coordonnées des services de l’état civil provinciaux sont disponibles sur le site : http://www.statcan.gc.ca/fra/sante/vital/2012001/con

IMPORTANT : Si vous êtes né.e au Québec, seuls les certificats délivrés par le Directeur de l’état civil du Québec après le 1er janvier 1994 sont acceptés.

  • Certificat de citoyenneté original délivré par Immigration, Réfugiés et Citoyenneté Canada (IRCC).

Si vous êtes né.e à l’étranger, l’original d’un de ces documents délivrés par IRCC :

  • Certificat de citoyenneté ;
  • Certificat de naturalisation ;
  • Certificat d’enregistrement de naissance à l’étranger ;
  • Certificat de rétention de la citoyenneté canadienne.

IMPORTANT : le Certificat de commémoration qui accompagnait la carte de citoyenneté délivrée entre 1977 et 2012 n’est pas une preuve de citoyenneté.

Veuillez consulter la page sur la preuve de citoyenneté canadienne pour plus d’informations.

24. Quels documents d’identité sont acceptables à l’appui de la demande de passeport ?

Lorsque vous présentez une demande de passeport, vous devez fournir au moins un document permettant de prouver votre identité.

La pièce d’identité doit :

-Contenir tous les éléments suivants :

  • Nom
  • Date de naissance
  • Photo
  • Signature

-Respecter les critères suivants :

  • Être valide (non expirée) ;
  • Avoir été délivrée par une autorité gouvernementale fédérale, provinciale, territoriale ou étatique ou par une autorité équivalente à l’étranger.

Vous pouvez présenter plusieurs pièces d’identité valides si vous ne possédez aucune pièce d’identité qui contient tous les renseignements demandés.

Veuillez consulter la page pièces d’identité valides pour plus d’information.

25. Est-ce que mon enfant doit signer sa demande de passeport et son passeport ?

Les enfants de moins de 16 ans ne sont pas tenus de signer le formulaire de demande et le passeport mais les enfants âgés de 11 à 15 ans peuvent le faire. Nul autre que l’enfant ne doit signer dans l’espace réservé à cette fin à la section 1 du formulaire.

Important : Ne signez jamais le passeport de votre enfant. La signature d’un parent ou d’un tuteur légal rend le document invalide. Imprimez la politique sur la signature et apportez-la avec vous lorsque vous voyagez, au cas où l’on vous demanderait de signer le document.

26. En cas de séparation ou de divorce, qui peut présenter une demande de passeport au nom de l’enfant ? 

Selon la plus récente entente de séparation, jugement de divorce ou ordre de la cour, le parent ou tuteur légal qui a la garde de l’enfant et chez qui la résidence habituelle est fixée peut agir à titre de parent requérant sur la demande de passeport de l’enfant. Si la garde est partagée, l’un ou l’autre des parents peut agir à titre de requérant, mais les deux parents doivent signer la demande. Veuillez noter que TOUS les documents concernant la garde de l’enfant, la mobilité ou les droits de visite de l’enfant doivent être présentés à chaque demande (pas uniquement les documents les plus récents).

Nous recommandons aux parents de joindre à la demande une pièce d’identité, car celle-ci peut être requise durant le processus.

27. Mon passeport doit-il être valide au moins six mois avant d’arriver dans le pays que je veux visiter ?

Tous les pays ont leurs propres conditions d’entrée. Lisez les conseils aux voyageurs et avertissements pour prendre connaissance des exigences d’entrée et de sortie de chaque pays.

28. Comment vous joindre ?

Nous vous invitons à vérifier si une réponse à votre question se trouve sur le site de l’ambassade ou sur la page du Centre d’aide du Programme de passeport avant de nous contacter. Au vu du nombre de demandes que nous recevons chaque jour, il nous est malheureusement impossible de répondre individuellement aux questions auxquelles une réponse est apportée sur nos sites internet officiels. Si vous ne trouvez toujours pas la réponse recherchée, envoyez un courriel détaillé à paris-passeport@international.gc.ca en précisant votre nom et un numéro de téléphone afin de pouvoir vous appeler si nécessaire.

MAJ : 21 juillet 2020

 

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2020-09-18