Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

France.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home

IRCC COVID-19 – INFORMATION FOR IRCC PARIS CLIENTS

  1. Travel restrictions and requirements for all travelers
  2. Exemptions from the travel restrictions
  3. Travel for essential purposes
  4. Approved applications  – document validity
  5. New applications and applications in process
  6. Other questions

1. Travel restrictions and requirements for all travelers

To manage the outbreak of the coronavirus disease (COVID-19), travel restrictions are in place to limit travel to Canada. Most people cannot travel to Canada at this time.

These measures are currently in effect until July 31, 2020, and may be extended*. 

These restrictions stop all non-essential (discretionary) travel to Canada.

To travel to and be permitted to enter Canada, you must prove that you are exempt from the travel restrictions AND that your travel is for an essential reason.

Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) has published information online on How the coronavirus disease (COVID-19) is affecting immigration, refugees, citizenship and passport services. IRCC has also published a FAQ for International Experience Canada (IEC) participants :  Coronavirus disease (COVID-19): International Experience Canada applicants.  Please visit these sites regularly for updated information.

The following requirements apply to all travelers:

  • Anyone who shows symptoms of COVID-19 will not be allowed to enter Canada by air. Temperature checks will be required prior to departure.
  • They must respect the measures for non-medical masks or face coverings during their trip, even if they do not show any symptoms.  
  • When they arrive in Canada, their health will be assessed at the port of entry and they will be required to provide basic information using the traveler contact information form (ArriveCAN app, web-based form or paper form).
  • They must have a plan to quarantine for 14 days, even if they do not show any symptoms. 

 2. Exemptions from the travel restrictions

Who can enter Canada :

  • Canadian citizens
  • Canadian permanent residents
  • persons registered under Canada’s Indian Act
  • protected persons
  • immediate family members of Canadian citizens and permanent residents of Canada, if entering to be with an immediate family member for a period of at least 15 days
  • foreign nationals who are coming for an essential (non-discretionary) purpose from the United States
  • foreign nationals who are coming for an essential (non-discretionary) purpose from a country other than the U.S. and are exempt from the travel restrictions (see below)

The following persons may travel to Canada for an essential (non-discretionary) purpose from a country other than the United States, including France:

  • temporary foreign workers
  • some international students
  • some approved permanent residents
  • immediate family members of a Canadian citizen or Canadian permanent resident who intend to stay in Canada for 14 days or less
  • immediate family members with written authorization from the Government of Canada to reunite with a family member living temporarily in Canada
  • transiting passengers (must remain in a Canadian airport to complete their connection)
  • members of the Canadian forces, visiting forces, Department of National Defence and their immediate family members
  • accredited diplomats and immediate family members (includes North Atlantic Treaty Organization [NATO], those under the United Nations Headquarters Agreement, other organizations)
  • air and marine crew members
  • French citizens who live in Saint-Pierre and Miquelon and have been in only Canada, the U.S. or Saint-Pierre and Miquelon during the 14 days before the day they seek to enter Canada
  • any person who does not pose a significant harm to public health, in the opinion of the Chief Public Health Officer of Canada, and who will provide an essential service while in Canada
  • any person whose presence in Canada is in the national interest, in the opinion of the Minister of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship; Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness; or Foreign Affairs
  • any person who is coming at the invitation of the Minister of Health for the purpose of COVID-19 assistance
  • any person whose purpose is to make medical deliveries

An immediate family member is defined as a

  • spouse or common-law partner
  • dependent child
  • dependent child of a dependent child
  • parent or step-parent
  • guardian or tutor

 3. Travel for essential (non-discretionary) purposes

Travel for optional or discretionary purposes is defined as including (but not limited to) travel for the purposes of tourism, recreation and entertainment.  Here are some examples of travel that would not be considered essential:

  • to visit family for a vacation
  • for the birth of a grandchild, nephew, niece, cousin, etc.
  • to spend time at a secondary residence
  • to attend the funeral of a family member

Travel for the following purposes could be considered non-optional or non-discretionary:

  • economic services and supply chains
  • critical infrastructure support
  • health (immediate medical care), safety and security
  • supporting Indigenous communities
  • transiting through Canada for non-optional or non-discretionary purposes
  • studying in Canada if already approved for a study permit on or before March 18
  • tending to family matters for non-optional or non-discretionary purposes (such as bringing supplies to elderly parents or tending to sick family members) when there is no one else available in Canada to assist
  • any other activities that are deemed non-optional or non-discretionary by the Government of Canada or based on an officer’s assessment

It is up to all travelers to prove that they are exempt from the travel restrictions AND that they are travelling for an essential (non-discretionary) purpose, for example:

  • Immediate family members of a Canadian citizen or permanent resident who intend to stay in Canada for 14 days or less must provide documents proving the relationship and explain the reason for travel.  
  • International students must present their study permit or letter of introduction for the port of entry (LOI) issued before March 18th 2020 along with proof that their study session is maintained.  If their courses are on-line, the trip may be considered non-essential or discretionary.  
  • Temporary workers must present their valid work permit or port of entry letter of introduction and proof that their travel is essential (non-discretionary).
  • A temporary worker’s travel is essential (non-discretionary) if they are in either of these situations:
    • They have a valid work permit and normally live in Canada. This applies even if they have been laid off.
    • They are a worker who
      • has a letter of introduction for a work permit (open or employer-specific), and
      • has a valid job offer, and
      • can work once they have completed their 14-day quarantine in Canada.
  • A temporary worker’s travel is non-essential (discretionary) if they are in either of these situations:
    • They have a letter of introduction for an employer-specific work permit, but their employer has closed their business due to the COVID-19 outbreak.
    • They have a letter of introduction for an open work permit, but they don’t have a job contract and are planning to find a job once they arrive in Canada.

4. Approved applications – document validity

Temporary residence: Individuals who have received a positive decision letter (letter of introduction regarding their application for temporary residence (work or study permit) ) that expires in 30 days or less and who are unable or unwilling to travel to Canada must inform IRCC using the web form.

Under International Experience Canada (IEC), persons who have received a decision letter that expires in 30 days or less may also benefit from this procedure and must communicate with IRCC via the web form by selecting 'International Experience Canada' from the 'Type of Application Submitted' menu.

Permanent residence: Applicants for permanent residence who are in possession of a confirmation of permanent residence (COPR) and a permanent resident visa (PRV) must inform IRCC using the web form that they are unable to travel within the validity period of their documents.

5. New applications and applications in process

All applications currently in progress will continue to be processed but may experience delays.

Applications from persons who are exempt from the travel restrictions and who are travelling for a non-discretionary reason will be processed in priority.  This includes new applications and applications in progress.  Applicants must continue to meet the requirement of the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act (IRPA) and Regulations with regards to eligibility and admissibility.  

Applicants who are in a situation described below and who need to urgently travel to Canada, can email IRCC Paris at paris.im-visitor@international.gc.ca to explain their situation and obtain specific instructions.  Please include your family name, given name and date of birth.     

  • Permanent resident travel documents for individuals who have recently left  Canada;
  • Visitor visas for individuals who are close family members of Canadian citizens or permanent residents of Canada;
  • Visitor visas for individuals who have urgent humanitarian and compassionate reasons for travelling to Canada.

No application in progress will be closed or refused because of documents missing or inability to complete the next steps in the process on time, such as providing biometrics or undergoing a medical examination for immigration purposes.  

The Embassy does not receive the public on matters related to immigration procedures. You cannot provide biometrics to the Embassy. The Embassy does not accept applications in person.  No information concerning immigration is available by phone.

New applications for temporary residence, work permits or study permits must be submitted online.  If you are a permanent resident of Canada and do not have a valid permanent resident card to return to Canada, please send an email to paris-im.visitor@international.gc.ca and ask for instructions to apply for a Permanent Resident Travel Document.

Consult the www.canada.ca/biometrics website for information on when Visa Application Centres (VAC) reopen and resume biometrics collection. Only persons with an appointment to give their biometrics will be allowed to enter the VAC.

The VACs in Paris and Lyon will reopen on June 15 and the VAC in Madrid on June 22, but with limited services.  Applicants who have received a biometric instruction letter can check VFS Global’s website for more info and to book an appointment.

Visitors: While the travel restrictions are in force, IRCC will only issue new temporary resident visas (TRV) to applicants who meet one of the exemption criteria and who are travelling for a non-discretionary purpose.  Certain Electronic Travel Authorizations (eTA) continue to be issued, but an approved eTA does not constitute an exemption from the travel restrictions or confirmation that the purpose of travel is considered essential and non-discretionary. 

Temporary workers:  Applications for positions considered essential will be processed in priority.  For an application to be considered complete, biometrics must be provided.  Once their application has been processed and approved, temporary workers must determine if they are exempt from the travel restrictions in force at that time.   Given that a work permit or letter of introduction indicating that the work permit application has been approved is required to prove that a temporary worker is exempt from travel restrictions, applications may not be submitted at a port of entry to Canada.

International Experience Canada (Working Holiday, Young Professional, International Coop) : IRCC is continuing to accept submissions of profiles into IEC pools. However, rounds of invitations are on hold until further notice and applications are not being processed at this time.

International students: Students destined to the province of Québec must obtain a Certificat d’acceptation du Québec (CAQ) before applying for a study permit. For an application to be considered complete, biometrics must be provided.  Once their application has been processed and approved, international students must determine if they are exempt from the travel restrictions in force at that time.

Permanent residents returning to Canada: Permanent residents who do not have a valid permanent resident card must write to paris-im.visitor@international.gc.ca and ask for instructions to apply for a Permanent Resident Travel Document. 

6. Other questions

Help Centre: Find quick and direct answers to frequently asked questions, including technical questions about your online application, at IRCC`s Help Centre.

 


Footer

Date Modified:
2020-07-01

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

France.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil

IRCC COVID-19 – INFORMATION POUR LES CLIENTS D’IRCC PARIS

  1. Restrictions de voyages et mesures pour tous les voyageurs
  2. Exemptions aux restrictions de voyages
  3. Voyages pour motifs essentiels
  4. Demandes approuvées – validité des documents
  5. Nouvelles demandes et demandes en cours
  6. Autres questions

1. Restrictions de voyages et mesures pour tous les voyageurs

Afin de gérer l’éclosion de la maladie du coronavirus (COVID-19), des restrictions de voyage ont été mises en place pour limiter les voyages vers le Canada. La très grande majorité des personnes ne peuvent pas se rendre au Canada.

Ces mesures sont actuellement en vigueur jusqu’au 31 août 2020 et peuvent être prolongées. 

Ces restrictions suspendent tous les voyages non essentiels (discrétionnaires) au Canada.

Immigration, Réfugiés et Citoyenneté Canada (IRCC) a mis en ligne des renseignements sur les Incidences des restrictions de voyage sur les clients d’IRCC. IRCC a aussi développé une FAQ sur les Incidences qu’a la réponse du gouvernement du Canada à la maladie du coronavirus (COVID-19) sur des participants d’Expérience internationale Canada (EIC). Veuillez consulter régulièrement ces sites pour obtenir des mises-à-jour.

Les mesures suivantes s’appliquent à tous les voyageurs :

  • S’ils présentent des symptômes de COVID-19 ils ne seront pas autorisés à prendre l'avion vers le Canada. Une vérification de température de tous les passagers à destination du Canada avant l’embarquement.
  • Ils devront respecter les mesures relatives au port de masques non médicaux ou de couvre-visages pendant leur voyage, et ce, même s’ils ne présentent aucun symptôme.
  • À leur arrivée au Canada, leur état de santé sera vérifié au point d’entrée et ils devront fournir des informations de base en utilisant le formulaire de coordonnées des voyageurs (appli ArriveCAN, formulaire en ligne ou formulaire papier).
  • Même s’ils ne présentent aucun symptôme, ils devront avoir un plan pour se placer en quarantaine pendant 14 jours.

2. Exemptions aux restrictions de voyage

Qui peut entrer au Canada :

  • un citoyen canadien;
  • un résident permanent du Canada;
  • une personne inscrite en vertu de la Loi sur les Indiens du Canada;
  • une personne protégée;
  • les membres de la famille immédiate d’un citoyen canadien ou d’un résident permanent du Canada, s’ils entrent pour être avec un membre de leur famille immédiate pendant une période d’au moins 15 jours;
  • un étranger qui vient pour un motif essentiel (non discrétionnaire) en provenance des États-Unis;
  • un étranger qui vient pour un motif essentiel (non discrétionnaire) d’un pays autre que les États-Unis, et qui est exempté des restrictions de voyage (voir ci-dessous).

Les personnes suivantes peuvent se rendre au Canada pour un motif essentiel (non discrétionnaire) d’un pays autre que les États-Unis, y compris la France :

  • les travailleurs étrangers temporaires;
  • certains étudiants étrangers;
  • certains résidents permanents autorisés;
  • les membres de la famille immédiate d’un citoyen canadien ou d’un résident permanent du Canada qui ont l’intention de rester au Canada pendant 14 jours ou moins ;
  • les membres de la famille immédiate cherchant à rejoindre un membre de la famille vivant temporairement au Canada et qui ont obtenu une autorisation écrite de la part du gouvernement du Canada ;
  • les passagers en transit (qui doivent rester dans un aéroport canadien pour terminer leur correspondance);
  • les membres des Forces canadiennes, des forces étrangères présentes au Canada, du ministère de la Défense nationale et les membres de leur famille immédiate ;
  • les diplomates accrédités et les membres de leur famille immédiate (y compris l’Organisation du Traité de l’Atlantique Nord [OTAN], les diplomates en vertu de l’Accord de Siège des Nations Unies, d’autres organisations);
  • les membres d’équipage aérien et maritime;
  • les citoyens français résidant à Saint-Pierre et Miquelon et ayant séjourné uniquement au Canada, aux États-Unis ou à Saint-Pierre et Miquelon au cours des 14 jours précédant la date de leur entrée au Canada;
  • toute personne qui, de l’avis de l’administrateur en chef de la santé publique du Canada, ne cause aucun préjudice important à la santé publique et fournira un service essentiel pendant son séjour au Canada;
  • toute personne dont la présence au Canada est dans l’intérêt national, de l’avis des ministres de l’Immigration, des Réfugiés et de la Citoyenneté; de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile; ou des Affaires étrangères;
  • toute personne invitée par la ministre de la Santé qui contribuera aux mesures prises en réponse à la COVID-19;
  • toute personne qui fera des livraisons médicales.

Les membres de la famille immédiate comprennent :

  • les époux ou conjoints de fait;
  • les enfants à charge;
  • les enfants à charge des enfants à charge;
  • les parents et les beaux-parents;
  • les tuteurs.

 3.  Voyages pour motifs essentiels (non-discrétionnaires)

Les voyages pour des motifs facultatifs ou discrétionnaires (non essentiels) comprennent (sans s’y limiter) les voyages touristiques, récréatifs et de divertissement.  Voici quelques exemples de motifs qui ne seraient pas acceptés :

  • pour voir de la famille pour des vacances;
  • pour la naissance d’un petit enfant, d’un neveu, d’une nièce, d’un cousin, etc.;
  • pour passer du temps dans une résidence secondaire, notamment à des fins d’entretien ou de maintenance;
  • pour assister aux funérailles d’un membre de la famille.

Les voyages effectués aux fins suivantes peuvent être considérés comme non facultatifs ou non discrétionnaires :

  • services économiques et chaînes d’approvisionnement;
  • soutien aux infrastructures essentielles;
  • santé (soins médicaux immédiats), sûreté et sécurité;
  • soutien aux communautés autochtones;
  • transit par le Canada à des fins non facultatives ou non discrétionnaires;
  • études au Canada si un permis d’études avait déjà été approuvé au plus tard le 18 mars;
  • affaires familiales pour des motifs non facultatifs ou non discrétionnaires (par exemple, apporter des provisions à des parents âgés ou s’occuper de membres de la famille malades) lorsqu’il n’y a personne d’autre au Canada pour offrir de l’aide;
  • toute autre activité jugée non facultative ou non discrétionnaire par le gouvernement du Canada ou d’après l’évaluation d’un agent.

C’est la responsabilité du voyageur de démontrer qu’il est exempté des restrictions de voyage ET que son voyage est essentiel (non-discrétionnaire), par exemple :

  • Les membres de la famille immédiate d’un citoyen ou résident permanent qui ont l’intention de rester au Canada pendant 14 jours ou moins doivent présenter des documents prouvant le lien de parenté et expliquer les motifs du voyage.
  • Les étudiants étrangers doivent présenter leur permis d’études ou la lettre d’introduction pour le point d’entrée (LOI) émise avant le 18 mars 2020 et une preuve que leur session d’étude est maintenue.  Si les cours se déroulent à distance, le voyage pourrait être considéré comme facultatif ou discrétionnaire.
  • Les travailleurs temporaires doivent présenter leur permis de travail ou la lettre d’introduction pour le point d’entrée (LOI) valide et la preuve que son voyage est essentiel (non-discrétionnaire). 

Le voyage d’un travailleur temporaire est essentiel (non discrétionnaire) s’il se trouve dans l’une de ces situations :

    • Il a un permis de travail valide et il vit normalement au Canada. Cela s’applique même s’il a été mis à pied.
    • Il est un travailleur qui remplit tous les critères suivants :
      • avoir une lettre d’introduction pour un permis de travail (ouvert ou lié à un employeur donné);
      • avoir une offre d’emploi valide;
      • pouvoir travailler après avoir terminé sa quarantaine de 14 jours au Canada.

Le voyage d’un travailleur temporaire est non essentiel (discrétionnaire) s’il se trouve dans l’une de ces situations :

    • Il a une lettre d’introduction pour un permis de travail lié à un employeur donné, mais son employeur a fermé son entreprise en raison de l’épidémie de COVID-19.
    • Il a une lettre d’introduction pour un permis de travail ouvert, mais il n’a aucun contrat de travail et il prévoit de trouver un emploi après son arrivée au Canada.

4. Demandes approuvées – validité des documents

Résidence temporaire : Les personnes qui ont reçu une lettre de décision positive (lettre d’introduction) concernant leur demande de résidence temporaire (permis de travail ou d’études), qui expire dans moins de 30 jours et qui ne peuvent ou ne veulent pas se rendre au Canada doivent en informer IRCC au moyen du formulaire Web.

Dans le cadre d’Expérience internationale Canada (EIC), les personnes qui ont reçu une lettre de décision qui expire dans les 30 jours peuvent également bénéficier de cette procédure et doivent communiquer avec IRCC via le formulaire Web en sélectionnant ‘Expérience internationale Canada’ dans le menu ‘Type de demande présentée’.

Résidence permanente : Les personnes dont la demande de résidence permanente a déjà été approuvée mais qui ne peuvent pas voyager au Canada avant l’expiration de leur confirmation de résidence permanente (CDRP) doivent utiliser le formulaire Web pour expliquer pourquoi ils ne peuvent pas voyager.

5. Nouvelles demandes de visa ou permis et demandes en cours

Toutes les demandes en cours de traitement continueront d’être traitées, mais pourraient subir des retards.

Les demandes de personnes qui satisfont à l’un des critères d’exemption et qui voyagent pour un motif non discrétionnaire seront traitées en priorité.  Cela inclut les nouvelles demandes et celles qui sont en cours de traitement. Les demandeurs doivent toujours satisfaire aux exigences de la LIPR (Loi sur l’immigration et la protection des réfugiés) en ce qui concerne l’éligibilité et l’admissibilité.

Si vous vous trouvez dans l’une des situations suivantes et si vous devez vous rendre au Canada de façon urgente, envoyez un courriel à paris.im-visiteur@international.gc.ca  pour expliquer votre situation et obtenir des instructions précises. N’oubliez pas d’inclure votre nom, prénom et date de naissance.
 

  • Titres de voyage pour résidents permanents (TVRP) qui ont quitté récemment le Canada ;
  • Visa de visiteur (VRT) pour les membres de la famille proche de citoyens canadiens ou de résidents permanents du Canada ;
  • Visa de visiteur (VRT) pour considérations d’ordre humanitaire et urgentes.

Aucune demande en cours ne sera fermée ou refusée en raison d’un manque de documents ou de l’incapacité de terminer le processus de demande à temps en raison de la COVID-19, comme fournir des données biométriques ou se soumettre à un examen médical aux fins de l’immigration.

L’Ambassade ne reçoit pas le public pour les questions liées aux démarches d’immigration. Vous ne pouvez pas fournir la biométrie à l’Ambassade. L’Ambassade n’accepte pas les demandes en personne.  Aucun renseignement concernant l’immigration n’est donné par téléphone.

Toute nouvelle demande de résidence temporaire, de permis de travail, ou de permis d’études doit être soumise en ligne.  Si vous êtes un résident permanent du Canada et vous n’avez pas de carte de résident permanent valide pour retourner au Canada, veuillez écrire à paris-im.visiteur@international.gc.ca et demander les instructions pour soumettre une demande de Titre de voyage pour résident permanent. 

La réouverture des Centres de réception des demandes de visa (CRDV), points de service pour la collecte des données biométriques, sera annoncée sur le site www.canada.ca/biometrie. Seuls les demandeurs ayant un rendez-vous pour fournir leurs données biométriques seront autorisés à entrer dans le CRDV.

Les CRDV de Paris et Lyon ont réouvert le 15 juin et celui de Madrid le 22 juin mais avec des services limités et sur rendez-vous seulement. Les personnes qui ont reçu une lettre d’instructions biométriques peuvent consulter le site de VFS Global pour plus d’information et pour prendre rendez-vous. 

Visiteurs : Depuis le 1er juillet, IRCC a repris le traitement des demandes de visas de résident temporaire (VRT) et d’Autorisation de voyage électronique (AVE), mais l’émission d’un VRT ou d’une AVE ne constitue pas en soi une exemption des restrictions de voyage ou une confirmation que le voyage est pour un motif essentiel.

Travailleurs temporaires :  Les demandes pour les postes considérés essentiels seront traitées en priorité. Pour être considérée complète, la demande devra inclure les données biométriques.  Une fois leur demande de permis de travail traitée et approuvée, les travailleurs temporaires devront déterminer s’ils sont exemptés des restrictions de voyage qui seraient en place à ce moment-là.  Etant donné qu’un permis de travail ou une lettre d’approbation de permis de travail est requis pour rencontrer les exemptions de restrictions de voyage, aucune demande de permis de travail ne peut être soumise au point d’entrée au Canada.

Expérience internationale Canada (Vacances-travail, Jeunes professionnels, Stage coop international) : IRCC continue d’accepter les profils et les demandes de participation dans les bassins de candidatures d’EIC mais les rondes d’invitations sont suspendues jusqu’à nouvel ordre et les demandes ne sont pas traitées pour le moment.

Etudiants étrangers : Les étudiants destinés au Québec doivent avoir demandé un Certificat d’acceptation du Québec (CAQ) avant de soumettre leur demande de permis d’études. Pour être considérée complète, la demande devra inclure les données biométriques.  Si un étudiant n’est pas en mesure de présenter une demande complète, IRC traitera sa demande en 2 étapes.  Pour plus d’information : https://www.canada.ca/fr/immigration-refugies-citoyennete/services/coronavirus-covid19/etudiants.html#deux-etapes. Une fois leur demande de permis d’études traitée et approuvée, les étudiants devront déterminer s’ils sont exemptés des restrictions de voyage qui seraient en place à ce moment-là.

Résidents permanents qui retournent au Canada : Les résidents permanents qui n’ont pas de carte de résident permanent valide doivent écrire à paris-im.visiteur@international.gc.ca et demander les instructions pour soumettre une demande de Titre de voyage pour résident permanent. 

6. Autres questions

Centre d’aide : Trouvez des réponses rapides et directes aux questions fréquemment posées, y compris des questions techniques sur votre demande en ligne, via le centre d'aide de IRCC.

 


Pied de page

Date de modification :
2020-08-04