Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

France.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Our Offices

Biography of Chargée d'Affaires Ms. Amy Baker

Ms. Amy Baker is, since August 1, 2021, Chargée d’affaires at the Embassy of Canada in France.  Ms. Baker joined the Embassy in August 2019 as Deputy Head of Mission and Minister Plenipotentiary. Ms. Baker came to this position following her assignment as Director General of Health and Nutrition at Global Affairs Canada. In that role, she was Canada’s representative on international boards for the Global Fund, Gavi, the Vaccine Alliance and the World Bank’s Global Financing Facility, among others.  She also led Government of Canada preparations for Canada’s hosting of Women Deliver 2019.  

In a career marked by a strong engagement and keen interest in issues of gender equality, and international development, Ms. Baker was previously posted abroad as Senior Director and Head of Development Cooperation for Ethiopia and Pan Africa Programs in Addis Ababa. She was the founding Chief Operating Officer for the Queen Rania Foundation in Amman, Jordan, and Chief of Staff to the President of the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA). She has held various other positions within the Government of Canada, including at CIDA, the Ministry of Justice, Status of Women Canada, and Human Resources Development Canada.

Ms. Baker holds a Bachelor of Law (LLB) and Bachelor of Arts from Dalhousie University (Canada) and a Masters of Public Administration from Queen’s University (Canada), where she received the Queen’s University Award of Academic Achievement.

 

Footer

Date Modified:
2021-08-04

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

France.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Nos bureaux

Biographie de la Chargée d'affaires Mme Amy Baker

Madame Amy Baker est depuis le 1er août 2021 Chargée d’affaires de l’Ambassade du Canada en France. Madame Baker a rejoint l’Ambassade en 2019, en tant que Ministre plénipotentiaire et Cheffe de Mission Adjointe. Elle a accédé à ce rôle après avoir exercé en tant que directrice générale de la santé et de la nutrition à Affaires Mondiales Canada. À ce titre, elle a représenté le Canada au sein des conseils d'administration internationaux du Fonds mondial, de Gavi (l’Alliance du Vaccin), ainsi qu’auprès du Mécanisme de financement mondial de la Banque mondiale.  Elle a également dirigé les préparatifs du gouvernement du Canada en vue de l'accueil par le Canada du sommet « Women Deliver 2019 ».

Dans son parcours marqué par un engagement fort et un vif intérêt pour les questions de développement international et pour l’égalité des genres, Madame Baker a également été en poste à l'étranger en tant que directrice principale et responsable de la coopération au développement pour l'Éthiopie et des programmes panafricains à Addis-Abeba. Elle a été la première directrice des opérations pour la Fondation de la Reine Rania à Amman, en Jordanie, et Cheffe de cabinet du Président de l'Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI),. Elle a occupé divers autres postes au sein du gouvernement canadien, notamment à l'ACDI, au ministère de la justice, à Condition féminine Canada et à Développement des ressources humaines Canada.

Madame Baker est titulaire d'un baccalauréat en droit (LLB) et d'un baccalauréat ès arts de l'université Dalhousie (Canada) ainsi que d'une maîtrise en administration publique de l'université Queen's (Canada) où elle a reçu le Queen's University Award of Academic Achievement.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2021-08-04