Canada-Sierra Leone Relations

Canada - Sierra Leone Relations

Diplomatic relations

Canada and Sierra Leone established diplomatic relations in 1961.

Canada and Sierra Leone are connected by a unique historical link. Freetown, the capital of present-day Sierra Leone, was founded in 1792 by a contingent of over one thousand settlers, including some from Halifax and other areas of Nova Scotia. These were mostly former slaves from the United States who had sought freedom in the remaining British territories in North America following the American war of independence. Even today, one can see the influence of the Canadian Maritime provinces in Freetown in the style of construction and the names of streets and businesses. This affinity is reflected today in the good working relationship, which allows Canada and Sierra Leone to cooperate on a broad spectrum of issues in various forums, including the United Nations Peacebuilding Commission.

Canada in Sierra Leone

Canada is represented in Sierra Leone by the High Commission of Canada in Accra.

Sierra Leone in Canada

Sierra Leone has been represented in Canada since 1973 by the Embassy of Sierra Leone in Washington, D.C.

Common memberships

Relations between Canada and Sierra Leone are based on more than fifty years of cooperation on the global scene, in particular in the United Nations and the Commonwealth.

Trade and investments

Trade relations

In 2018, two-way merchandise trade totalled $33.1 million, consisting of $9.1 million in exports to Sierra Leone and $24 million in imports from Sierra Leone. Top Canadian merchandise exports to Sierra Leone included miscellaneous textile articles, vehicles and parts.

Trade agreement

In 2012, Canada concluded negotiations with Sierra Leone for a code-share only Air Transport Agreement, allowing for Canadian carriers to offer code-share services into Sierra Leone.

Development and humanitarian assistance

In 2017-2018, Canadian official development assistance to Sierra Leone was estimated at $14.77 million and was provided primarily through multilateral channels.

In response to the August 2017 mudslides in Sierra Leone, Canada supported emergency relief operations and provided emergency response to those affected through the Canadian Red Cross Society and CARE Canada ($236 250). Canada has provided $1 million through the UN Development Program and the UN Peacebuilding Fund to support Sierra Leone’s March 2018 elections, and was an active observer during those elections. The elections were judged free and fair by the National Electoral Commission and by international observers including the African Union, the Economic Community of West African States, the EU and the Commonwealth.

Canada is a top donor to several global initiatives that benefit Sierra Leone, including GAVI – the Vaccine Alliance ($91M provided to Sierra Leone since 2000) and the Global Partnership for Education (GPE, $30M provided to Sierra Leone since 2008).

Through the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives program, Canada annually supports small-scale, local projects in Sierra Leone. These have recently included addressing sexual and gender-based violence, with a focus on preventing female genital mutilation/cutting, promoting the political participation of women and youth and promoting responsible political reporting by media.

During Sierra Leone’s civil war, from 1991 to 2002, Canada was one of the world’s leading humanitarian donors and has continued its support through the UN Peacebuilding Commission and the Residual Special Court for Sierra Leone. More recently, Canada was one of the earliest responders to the Ebola crisis and committed more than $130 million to help address the health, humanitarian and security implications of the crisis in Sierra Leone, as well as Guinea and Liberia.

As part of its commitment to the Global Partnership against the Spread of Weapons and Materials of Mass Destruction, Canada is supporting Sierra Leone to build its capacity to mitigate ongoing threats posed by Ebola and other high consequence pathogens. This support includes the provision of a new “BioBank” and laboratory for storage and work on Ebola samples from the 2014-15 outbreak ($8.5M committed to date). Ebola experts from Public Health Agency of Canada and Public Health England are supporting the training component ($4.81M) of this project.

Peace and security

Since February 2009, Canada has chaired the Sierra Leone Configuration of the UN Peacebuilding Commission through Canada’s permanent mission to the UN in New York. The UN Peacebuilding Commission is an inter-governmental advisory body that supports post-conflict states in their peacebuilding, recovery, reconstruction and development efforts. As an indication of the progress achieved, Sierra Leone has progressed from a recipient country of peacekeepers to one that now contributes armed forces personnel to peace operations such as:

  • UN - African Union Mission in Darfur
  • UN Mission in South Sudan
  • African Union Mission in Somalia
  • UN Multidimensional Integrated Stabilization Mission in Mali
  • UN Interim Security Force for Abyei
  • UN Interim Force in Lebanon

Canada was highly involved with the Special Court for Sierra Leone (SCSL), contributing $18 million and chairing its Management Committee until the SCSL concluded its work on December 31, 2013. The Residual Special Court for Sierra Leone (RSCSL) was created in January 1, 2014, to carry on the remaining functions of the SCSL, including archiving, witness protection and dealing with any judicial work stemming from the SCSL’s mandate. Canada continues to make valuable contributions to the RSCSL; for example, Canada chairs the RSCSL Oversight Committee and maintains a Canadian roster judge, who can be called upon if needed.

August 2018

Relations entre le Canada et la Sierra Leone

Relations Canada - Sierra Léone

Relations diplomatiques

Le Canada a établi des relations diplomatiques avec la République de Sierra Leone en 1961.

Les deux pays sont unis par un lien historique particulier. Freetown, la capitale de la Sierra Leone contemporaine, a été fondée en 1792 par un groupe de plus de mille colons, dont certains venus de Halifax et d’autres régions de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Il s’agissait, pour la plupart, d’anciens esclaves venus des États-Unis chercher la liberté dans les territoires nord-américains restés sous la Couronne britannique après la guerre d’indépendance des États-Unis. Aujourd’hui encore, on peut voir l’influence des provinces maritimes canadiennes dans le style architectural de Freetown et les noms de rues et d’entreprises. Cette affinité, qui se reflète aujourd’hui dans les bonnes relations entretenues par le Canada et la Sierra Leone, permet aux deux pays de coopérer sur une foule d’enjeux dans le cadre de divers forums, notamment au sein de la Commission de consolidation de la paix des Nations Unies.

Le Canada en Sierra Leone

Le Canada est représenté en Sierra Leone par le Haut-commissariat du Canada à Accra.

La Sierra Leone au Canada

Depuis 1973, la Sierra Leone est représentée au Canada par l’ambassade de Sierra Leone à Washington D.C.

Organisations communes

Les relations qu’entretiennent le Canada et la Sierra Leone sont fondées sur plus de cinquante ans de coopération sur la scène internationale, en particulier au sein des Nations Unies et du Commonwealth.

Commerce et investissements

Échanges commerciaux

En 2018, les échanges commerciaux bilatéraux entre les deux pays se sont chiffrés  à un  total de 33,1 millions de dollars, soit 9,1 millions de dollars d’exportations canadiennes en Sierra Leone et 24 millions de dollars d’importations canadiennes provenant de la Sierra Leone. Parmi, les principales exportations canadiennes figuraient des articles textiles divers ainsi que des véhicules et leurs pièces.

Accords commerciaux

En 2012, le Canada et la Sierra Leone ont conclu un Accord sur le transport aérien (ATA) permettant aux transporteurs canadiens d'offrir des services de partage de codes aériens en Sierra Leone.

Aide humanitaire et au développement

En 2017-2018, le Canada a accordé à la Sierra Leone 14,77 millions de dollars en aide publique au développement, principalement par l’intermédiaire de mécanismes multilatéraux.

À la suite des coulées de boue survenues en août 2017 en Sierra Leone, le Canada a soutenu les opérations de secours d’urgence et fourni une aide d’urgence aux personnes touchées, par l'entremise de la Société canadienne de la Croix-Rouge et de CARE Canada (236 250 $). Le Canada a versé 1 million de dollars par l’intermédiaire du Programme des Nations Unies pour le développement et du Fonds des Nations Unies pour la consolidation de la paix afin d’appuyer la tenue des élections de mars 2018 en Sierra Leone et a participé activement à ces élections en tant qu’observateur. Les élections ont été jugées libres et équitables par la Commission électorale nationale et par les observateurs internationaux, dont l’Union africaine, la Communauté économique des États de l’Afrique de l’Ouest, l’Union européenne et le Commonwealth.

Le Canada est l'un des principaux donateurs à plusieurs initiatives mondiales dont bénéficie la Sierra Leone, y compris GAVI – l’Alliance du Vaccin (91 millions de dollars versés à la Sierra Leone depuis 2000) et le Partenariat mondial pour l'éducation (PME, 30 millions de dollars versés à la Sierra Leone depuis 2008).

Au moyen du Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales, le Canada appuie chaque année des projets locaux à petite échelle en Sierra Leone. Ces projets concernaient notamment la lutte contre la violence sexuelle et fondée sur le genre, en mettant l'accent sur la prévention des mutilations génitales féminines/excision, la promotion de la participation politique des femmes et des jeunes et la promotion d’une couverture médiatique responsable pour les sujets traitant de politique.

Pendant la guerre civile en Sierra Leone, de 1991 à 2002, le Canada a été l’un des principaux donateurs d’aide humanitaire et il a continué d’offrir son soutien par l’intermédiaire de la Commission de consolidation de la paix des Nations Unies et du Tribunal spécial résiduel pour la Sierra Leone. Plus récemment, le Canada a été l’un des premiers intervenants dans la crise d’Ebola et il s’est engagé à verser plus de 130 millions de dollars pour remédier aux conséquences de la crise sur les plans sanitaire, humanitaire et sécuritaire en Sierra Leone, et également en Guinée et au Libéria.

Dans le cadre de son engagement envers le Partenariat mondial contre les armes de destruction massive et matières connexes, le Canada appuie la Sierra Leone à renforcer sa capacité d'atténuer les menaces posées par le virus du Ebola et d'autres agents pathogènes. Ce soutien comprend l’installation d’une nouvelle biobanque et un laboratoire pour le stockage et les travaux sur les échantillons d'Ebola provenant de l'éclosion de 2014-2015 (8,5 millions de dollars engagés à ce jour). Des experts du virus d’Ebola de l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada et de l’Agence de santé de l’Angleterre appuient le volet formation (4.81 millions) de ce projet.

Paix et sécurité

Depuis février 2009, le Canada préside la formation Sierra Leone de la Commission de consolidation de la paix des Nations Unies par le truchement de sa mission permanente aux Nations Unies à New York. La Commission de consolidation de la paix des Nations Unies est un organe consultatif intergouvernemental qui soutient les États en situation d’après-conflit dans leurs efforts de consolidation de la paix, de relèvement, de reconstruction et de développement. Signe des progrès accomplis, la Sierra Leone est passée d’un pays qui recevait du personnel de maintien de la paix à un pays qui fournit des militaires pour participer à des opérations de paix, notamment :

  • Opération hybride de l’Union africaine et des Nations Unies au Darfour
  • Mission des Nations Unies au Soudan du Sud
  • Mission de l’Union africaine en Somalie
  • Mission multidimensionnelle intégrée des Nations Unies pour la stabilisation au Mali
  • Force intérimaire des Nations Unies pour Abiyé
  • Force intérimaire des Nations Unies au Liban

Le Canada a joué un rôle très important auprès du Tribunal spécial pour la Sierra Leone (TSSL) : il a versé au Tribunal 18 millions de dollars jusqu’à la clôture de ses travaux le 31 décembre 2013. Le Tribunal spécial résiduel pour la Sierra Leone (TSRSL), en fonction depuis le 1er janvier 2014, a été créé pour accomplir les tâches restantes du TSSL, soit l’archivage, la protection des témoins et l’administration des activités judiciaires découlant du mandat du TSSL. Le Canada continue d’apporter d’importantes contributions au TSRSL : en plus de présider son Comité de surveillance, il maintient à sa disposition un juge canadien de réserve, en cas de besoin.

Août 2018