Contact and Office Information

Coronavirus disease (COVID-19)

Due to ongoing concerns related to the spread of COVID-19, preventative measures have been enacted throughout our global network of offices. Consular services remain available to Canadians. Many Government of Canada offices are encouraging clients to limit in-person visits. Canadians in need of assistance should contact the Government of Canada office nearest them by phone or e-mail before visiting in person. You can also contact the Emergency Watch and Response Centre.

For information on COVID-19, please visit the Government of Canada's official outbreak page and check our Travel Advice and Advisories. Make sure to register with the Registration of Canadians Abroad to get the latest updates at your destination.

General Contact Information

Street Address:
42 Independence Avenue
Accra, Ghana
Sankara Interchange (Ako Adjei Overpass)

Postal Address:
High Commission of Canada
P.O. Box 1639
Accra, Ghana
Telephone: 011 (233) 30 2211 521
Facsimile: 011 (233) 30 2211 523 / 2773 792 / 2211 524 (visas)

Hours of Operation:
Monday to Thursday: 7:30 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.
Friday: 7:30 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.


Services for Canadians

Canadian Citizen Services Appointments

The High Commission of Canada to Ghana in Accra provides services for Canadian Citizens (passport, citizenship and notarial services) on an appointment-only basis.

Assistance for Canadian Citizens Abroad

The High Commission provides consular services to Canadian citizens residing or travelling in Ghana, Togo and Sierra Leone.


Consular hours:
Monday to Thursday: 08:00 – 12:00
Monday to Thursday: 14:00 to 15:30 by appointments only.

Canada also offers services to Canadians in:

Consulate of Canada to Sierra Leone in Freetown

Defence Relations

Defence Attaché: Colonel Mireille Gignac
Deputy Canadian Defence Attaché: Lieutenant-Colonel Eric Montreuil, CD1
Assistant: Sergent Daniel Rochette, MB, CD1

Tel: 221-33-889-4763
Fax: 221-33-889-4725

The Canadian Defence Attaché in Dakar is cross-accredited to the following countries: Senegal, Cabo Verde, The Gambia, Guinea-Bissau, Guinea, Sierra Leone, Liberia, Ivory Coast, Ghana, Togo, Benin, Nigeria, Cameroon


Statutory Holidays - 2020

25 DecemberChristmas
28 DecemberBoxing Day (in lieu)

Statutory Holidays - 2021

1 JanuaryNew Year’s Day
7 JanuaryConstitution Day
8 MarchGhana Independence Day (in lieu)
2 AprilGood Friday
5 AprilEaster Monday
24 MayVictoria Day
1 JulyCanada Day
6 SeptemberLabour Day
11 OctoberThanksgiving
24 DecemberChristmas (in lieu)
27 DecemberBoxing Day (in lieu)