Rita Rudaitis-Renaud
Ambassador of Canada to Guatemala and High Commissioner of Canada to Belize

Message from the Ambassador

I welcome you to Canada’s web page for Guatemala and Belize.  It is an honour and a privilege to represent Canada in these two beautiful countries.

Canada and Belize have positive bilateral relations, based in part on our shared historical traditions, systems of government and cultural ties as members of the Commonwealth. Canada works in Belize in several areas including development, defense, citizen security and climate change.  We invite you to follow us on our Facebook page of the High Commission of Canada to Belize or on Twitter at @CanadainBelize.

Canada has an overall good relationship with Guatemala, spanning more than 58 years of bilateral engagement and 45 years of development cooperation. We collaborate to promote security, human rights, good governance and economic opportunities for all. We work together to improve the lives of the most vulnerable - women, youth, Indigenous populations and marginalized groups. Our commercial relations continue to grow and diversify as we work on promoting responsible business conduct and a mutually beneficial trade and investment relationship.

The Canadian Embassy aims to providing Canadian visitors all the information they might need to enjoy their stay in Guatemala or Belize, and visit their beautiful touristic sites, under the advisory of our Consular Section.  Before starting your trip, visit the information available in our pages for Travel to Guatemala, or Travel to Belize.

The Commercial Section works closely with different Canadian companies that wish to establish links with Guatemala and/or Belize.  These companies have a lot to offer and many of them make important contributions to the economy of both countries.  In Guatemala there is a Canada-Guatemala Chamber of Commerce, which supports its members to expand their opportunities for investment in the country.

Canada and Guatemala maintain an active cooperation in a number of key areas for both countries.  Canada supports growth that works for all and inclusive governance, with a focus on Indigenous women and youth. Canada is helping to improve food security and nutrition while increasing climate change resilience and economic growth opportunities in the agricultural sector. Canada also supports Guatemala’s anti-corruption efforts and access to justice for the most vulnerable. Canada is engaged in building capacity for women’s organizations and supporting women leaders to ensure that gender equality and the empowerment of women and girls are integrated into all initiatives.  Belize benefits from the Caribbean Development Program. Canada’s security programs (including the Anti-Crime Capacity Building Program and the Peace and Stabilization Operations Program) have funded projects aimed at improving citizen security, justice, and fundamental human rights over the past several years in both countries.

Young people, who wish to explore the possibilities to study in Canada, visit our site to see the many alternatives offered by Canadian institutions.

It is a pleasure for me to represent my Government and invite you to take a look at all that Canada has to offer in every area, culture, education, tourism, trade.

The Visa Application Process is simpler, providing our visitors with a more agile process.  I invite you to read about the different options available and choosing the option that best fulfills your needs.

I am sure that when exploring this web page you will get to know more about the services offered by this Mission and answer questions you might have.

Sincerely,

Rita Rudaitis-Renaud
Ambassador to Guatemala
High Commissioner to Belize

Biography

Rita Rudaitis-Renaud (Master’s of Public Administration [MPA], Queen’s University, 1986, BA Honours (Political Science), University of Toronto, 1984).  She joined the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade in January 2001 as Associate Director, Planning Program Analysis and Planning Division, and has held positions as Director, Property Program, Executive Director, Employee Services and recently Director, Client Relations Division in the International Platform Branch.

Positions overseas included Moscow from 2007-2010 where she served as Counsellor (Management) and Consul General and was later posted to Mexico City where she served as the Minister Counsellor (Management) and Consul General from 2012-2015.

Prior to joining the Department of Foreign Affairs, Ms. Rudaitis-Renaud was Director of the Foreign Affairs and Defence Division at the Treasury Board Secretariat.  Previously, she has also worked in the Department of National Revenue Customs and Excise both at headquarters and in the region in Shawinigan, Quebec.  She also worked in the Ontario Government in the Ministry of Housing and at the Canadian Institute of International Affairs.

She is married to Jean-Louis Renaud.

Ambassador - Rita Rudaitis Renaud

Mme Rita Rudaitis-Renaud
Ambassadrice du Canada au Guatemala et Haute Commissaire du Canada au Belize

Message de l'ambassadrice

Soyez bienvenues sur le site web du Canada au Guatemala et au Belize. J’ai l’honneur et le privilège de représenter le Gouvernement du Canada dans ces deux beaux pays.

Le Canada et le Belize ont des relations bilatérales positives, fondées en partie sur nos traditions historiques communes, nos systèmes de gouvernement et nos liens culturels en tant que membres du Commonwealth. Le Canada travaille au Belize dans plusieurs domaines, notamment le développement, la défense, la sécurité des citoyens et les changements climatiques. Nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur notre page Facebook @Haut-commissariat du Canada au Belize ou sur Twitter @CanadaauBelize.

Dans l'ensemble, le Canada entretient de bonnes relations avec le Guatemala, depuis plus de 58 années, ainsi que une coopération au développement depuis plus de 45 années. Nous collaborons en vue de renforcer la sécurité, les droits humaines, la bonne gouvernance et les opportunités économiques. Nous travaillons ensemble pour améliorer la vie des plus vulnérables - femmes, jeunes, populations autochtones et groupes marginalisés. Nos relations commerciales continuent de se développer et de se diversifier alors que nous travaillons à la promotion d’une conduite responsable des entreprises et d’une relation mutuellement bénéfique en matière de commerce et d’investissement.

L’ambassade du Canada a pour objectif de fournir aux visiteurs canadiens toutes les informations dont ils pourraient avoir besoin pour profiter de leur séjour au Guatemala ou au Belize et visiter leurs magnifiques sites touristiques, en suivant les conseils de notre section consulaire. Avant de commencer votre voyage, visitez les informations disponibles dans nos pages pour Voyager au Guatemala ou Voyager au Belize.

La section commerciale travaille en étroite collaboration avec différentes entreprises canadiennes qui souhaitent établir des liens avec le Guatemala et / ou le Belize. Ces entreprises apportent une contribution importante à l'économie des deux pays. Au Guatemala, il existe une chambre de commerce Canada-Guatemala qui aide ses membres à accroître leurs possibilités d’investissement dans le pays.

Le Canada et le Guatemala entretiennent une coopération active et appuie la croissance au service de tous et la gouvernance inclusive, en particulier pour les femmes et les jeunes autochtones. Les efforts canadiens contribuent à améliorer la sécurité alimentaire et la nutrition, tout en augmentant la résilience face aux changements climatiques et les possibilités de croissance économique dans le secteur agricole. Le Canada appuie également les efforts du Guatemala en matière de lutte contre la corruption et soutient l’accès à la justice pour les plus vulnérables. Le Canada travaille à renforcer les capacités des organisations de femmes et à appuyer les femmes leaders pour assurer que l’égalité des genres et le renforcement du pouvoir des femmes et des filles soient intégrés dans toutes les initiatives. Le Belize bénéficie du Programme pour les Caraïbes. Les programmes de renforcement des capacités en sécurité (y compris le Programme de renforcement des capacités de lutte contre le crime et le Programme des opérations de paix et de stabilisation) ont financé des projets visant à améliorer la sécurité des citoyens, la justice et les droits fondamentaux de la personne au cours des dernières années dans les deux pays.

Les jeunes qui souhaitent explorer les possibilités d’étudier au Canada peuvent se rendre sur notre site web pour découvrir des nombreuses alternatives offertes par les institutions canadiennes.

C’est un plaisir pour moi de représenter mon gouvernement et de vous inviter à jeter un coup d’œil sur tout ce que le Canada peut vous offrir dans tous les domaines: la culture, l’éducation, le tourisme et le commerce.

Le processus de demande de visa est plus simple, offrant à nos visiteurs un processus plus agile. Je vous invite à prendre connaissance des différentes options disponibles et à choisir celle qui répond le mieux à vos besoins.

Je suis sûr qu'en explorant cette site web, vous en apprendrez plus sur les services offerts par cette mission et vous trouverez des réponses à vos questions.

Cordialement, 

Rita Rudaitis-Renaud
Ambassadrice au Guatemala
Haut-commissaire au Belize

Biographie

(M.A.P., Université Queen’s, 1986; B.A. avec spécialisation [sciences politiques], Université de Toronto, 1984) s’est jointe au ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international en 2001 à titre de directrice associée, Direction de la planification et de l’analyse des programmes, et elle a aussi occupé les postes de directrice, programme des biens immobiliers, directrice générale, Services aux employés et, plus récemment, directrice, Direction des relations avec les clients dans le Secteur de la plateforme internationale. Parmi les postes qu’elle a occupés à l’étranger, elle a été affectée à Moscou de 2007 à 2010, comme conseillère en gestion, puis comme consule générale, et à Mexico de 2012 à 2015, à titre de ministre-conseillère en gestion et de consule générale. Avant de se joindre au Ministère, Mme Rudaitis-Renaud a été directrice de la Division des affaires étrangères et de la défense au Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor. Auparavant, elle a occupé des postes au sein du ministère du Revenu national, du gouvernement de l’Ontario et de l’Institut canadien des affaires internationales.

Ambassadrice Rita Rudaitis Renaud