Canada - Guyana Relations

The Canadian diplomatic presence in Guyana started with the opening of the Commission of Canada in Georgetown, in March 1964. In May 1966, Guyana gained independence and full diplomatic relations were established.

In Guyana, Canada is represented by the High Commission of Canada to Guyana and Suriname in Georgetown. Since 2003, the High Commissioner is also Canada’s Plenipotentiary Representative to the Caribbean Community (CARICOM), which is headquartered in the greater Georgetown area.

Guyana is represented in Canada by the High Commission of Guyana in Ottawa. Guyana also has a Consulate in Toronto.

Foreign Policy

The strong bilateral relations between Canada and Guyana result from political ties through the Commonwealth, commercial links, development assistance and immigration. Bilateral treaties between Canada and Guyana include an Avoidance of Double Taxation Agreement (1987) and an Air Services Agreement (2005).

Canada and Guyana also share extensive people-to-people ties: the Guyanese diaspora in Canada is estimated to be around 200,000. Guyana benefits from bilateral funding through the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives; and Canada’s Caribbean Regional Development program, which also supports Caribbean collaboration and integration efforts.

Security

Canada is committed to improving security in a manner that safeguards freedom, democracy, human rights, and the rule of law. Canada’s security programming in the Caribbean is strategically regional to ensure all countries can collectively combat transnational crime and to prevent against the displacement of criminal activity from one country to others nearby.

Canada’s contributes to regional security activities throughout the Caribbean through its Anti-Crime Capacity Building Program which contributes to several international organizations, including the Organization of American States and UN Office on Drugs and Crime, on programmes to build regional capacities to combat transnational organized crime.

Trade 

Canadian exports to Guyana in 2017: CAD $28.6 million (cereals; assorted food products; machinery and mechanical appliances).

Canadian imports from Guyana in 2017: CAD $661 million (base metals [mostly gold]; cocoa beans; other food products).

Canada-Guyana business relations encompass a plethora of trade initiatives which include but are not limited to Agriculture; Oil & Gas; Mining, Promoting Canadian expertise at world class mining events, and Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR).

May 2018

Relations Canada - Guyana

La présence diplomatique canadienne au Guyana remonte à l'ouverture de la Commission du Canada dans la capitale guyanienne, Georgetown, en mars 1964. En mai 1966, lors de l'accession à l'indépendance du Guyana, des relations diplomatiques complètes ont été établies entre les deux pays.

Au Guyana, le Canada est représenté par le haut-commissariat du Canada auprès du Guyana et du Suriname. Depuis 2003, le haut-commissaire du Canada au Guyana occupe également les fonctions de représentant plénipotentiaire du Canada auprès de la Communauté des Caraïbes (CARICOM), dont le siège est situé dans la grande région de Georgetown.

Le Guyana est représenté au Canada par le haut-commissariat du Guyana à Ottawa. Il y a aussi un consulat du Guyana à Toronto.

Politique étrangère                       

Les relations bilatérales solides entre le Canada et le Guyana sont le résultat de liens politiques tissés au sein du Commonwealth, de liens commerciaux, de l'aide au développement et de l'immigration. Les deux pays ont conclu un certain nombre de traités bilatéraux, y compris l'Accord de 1987 sur la double imposition et l'Accord de 2005 sur les services aériens.

Des liens interpersonnels étroits se sont aussi tissés entre le Canada et le Guyana : la diaspora guyanienne au Canada compte environ 200 000 ressortissants. Le Guyana bénéficie d’un financement bilatéral par l’entremise du Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales et du Programme régional des Caraïbes du Canada, qui soutient également les efforts de collaboration et d’intégration des Caraïbes.

Sécurité

Le Canada est déterminé à améliorer la sécurité de manière à préserver la liberté, la démocratie, les droits de la personne et la primauté du droit. La programmation du Canada dans les Caraïbes est de nature régionale pour des raisons stratégiques, car tous les pays de la région peuvent ainsi mener une lutte collective contre la criminalité transnationale et empêcher le déplacement d’activités criminelles d’un pays vers les pays voisins.

Le Canada contribue à la sécurité régionale dans les Caraïbes par l’entremise de son Programme d’aide au renforcement des capacités de lutte contre la criminalité (PARCLC). Ce programme appuie plusieurs organisations internationales, dont l’Organisation des États américains (OEA) et l’Office des Nations Unies contre la drogue et le crime (ONUDC), dans la mise en œuvre de programmes visant à renforcer les capacités régionales de lutte contre le crime organisé transnational.

Commerce

Exportations canadiennes vers le Guyana en 2017 : 28,6 millions de dollars canadiens (céréales; produits alimentaires divers; machines et appareils mécaniques).

Importations canadiennes en provenance du Guyana en 2017 : 661 millions de dollars canadiens (métaux de base [surtout de l’or]); fèves de cacao; autres produits alimentaires).

Les relations commerciales entre le Canada et le Guyana englobent une pléthore d’initiatives commerciales dont, entre autres, l’agriculture, le pétrole et le gaz, l’industrie minière, la promotion de l'expertise canadienne lors d'événements miniers de classe mondiale, ainsi que la responsabilité sociale des entreprises (RSE).

Mai 2018