Canada – Caribbean Community (CARICOM) Relations

Canada has strong historical ties and a robust relationship with Caribbean countries based on our Commonwealth and Francophonie connections, and our shared values of democracy, human rights and the rule of law. Canada and Caribbean countries enjoy strong people-to-people ties. Nearly one million people residing in Canada are of Caribbean descent, and over two million Canadians travel to CARICOM countries annually. Canada is enriched by the Caribbean diaspora, who make significant contributions to Canada’s social, cultural and economic fabric.

The Caribbean Community (CARICOM) is a regional grouping of Caribbean countries that includes: Antigua & Barbuda, the Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, the Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, Haiti, Montserrat, Saint Kitts & Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent & the Grenadines, Suriname, and Trinidad & Tobago. Associate members are Anguilla, Bermuda, the British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Turks & Caicos Islands. The CARICOM Secretariat is based near Georgetown, Guyana. The Canadian High Commission in Georgetown (Guyana) is accredited to CARICOM.

Canada is an engaged partner with CARICOM and its members with collaboration in areas such as climate and economic resilience, emergency response, technical assistance, economic growth, security cooperation, human rights, education, and health.

Canada has long-standing commercial relationships and important two-way merchandise trade with CARICOM countries. Canadian companies are active in various sectors including financial services, natural resources and energy, clean technology, tourism, and education.

Related links