Canada – Caribbean Community (CARICOM) Relations

Canada has strong historical ties and a robust relationship with Caribbean countries based on our Commonwealth and Francophonie connections, and our shared values of democracy, human rights and the rule of law. Canada and Caribbean countries enjoy strong people-to-people ties. Nearly one million people residing in Canada are of Caribbean descent, and over two million Canadians travel to CARICOM countries annually. Canada is enriched by the Caribbean diaspora, who make significant contributions to Canada’s social, cultural and economic fabric.

The Caribbean Community (CARICOM) is a regional grouping of Caribbean countries that includes: Antigua & Barbuda, the Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, the Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, Haiti, Montserrat, Saint Kitts & Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent & the Grenadines, Suriname, and Trinidad & Tobago. Associate members are Anguilla, Bermuda, the British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Turks & Caicos Islands. The CARICOM Secretariat is based near Georgetown, Guyana. The Canadian High Commission in Georgetown (Guyana) is accredited to CARICOM.

Canada is an engaged partner with CARICOM and its members with collaboration in areas such as climate and economic resilience, emergency response, technical assistance, economic growth, security cooperation, human rights, education, and health.

Canada has long-standing commercial relationships and important two-way merchandise trade with CARICOM countries. Canadian companies are active in various sectors including financial services, natural resources and energy, clean technology, tourism, and education.

Related links

Relations entre le Canada et la Communauté des Caraïbes (CARICOM)

Le Canada entretient des liens historiques étroits et une relation solide avec les pays des Caraïbes grâce à nos liens avec le Commonwealth et la Francophonie et à nos valeurs communes quant à la démocratie, aux droits de l’homme et à la primauté du droit. Le Canada et les pays des Caraïbes entretiennent de solides relations interpersonnelles. Près d'un million de personnes résidant au Canada sont d'origine caribéenne et plus de deux millions de Canadiens se rendent chaque année dans les pays de la CARICOM. Le Canada est enrichi par la diaspora des Caraïbes, qui apporte une contribution significative au tissu social, culturel et économique du Canada. 

La Communauté des Caraïbes (CARICOM) est un groupement régional de pays des Caraïbes qui inclut Antigua et Barbuda, les Bahamas, la Barbade, le Belize, le Commonwealth de la Dominique, la Grenade, la Guyane, la Jamaïque, Haïti, Montserrat, Saint-Kitts-et-Nevis, Sainte-Lucie, Saint-Vincent-et-les Grenadines, Suriname et Trinité-et-Tobago. Les membres associés sont Anguilla, les Bermudes, les îles Vierges britanniques, les îles Caïmans, les îles Turques et Caïques. Le Secrétariat de la CARICOM est situé près de Georgetown, au Guyana. Le Haut-commissariat du Canada à Georgetown (Guyana) est accrédité auprès de la CARICOM. 

Le Canada est un partenaire engagé auprès de la CARICOM et de ses membres et collabore activement avec ces derniers dans des domaines tels que la résilience climatique et économique, les interventions d'urgence, l'assistance technique, la croissance économique, la coopération en matière de sécurité, les droits de l'homme, l'éducation et la santé. 

Le Canada entretient des relations commerciales de longue date avec les pays de la CARICOM. Le commerce bilatéral de marchandises du Canada avec les membres de la CARICOM est important, et les entreprises canadiennes sont actives dans divers secteurs, notamment les services financiers, les ressources naturelles et l'énergie, les technologies propres, le tourisme et l'éducation.