Message from the High Commissioner

Welcome to the High Commission of Canada in Georgetown, Guyana, the primary channel for communications between the Government of Canada and the Governments of Guyana and Suriname and the Secretariat of the Caribbean Community (CARICOM).

I am privileged to represent Canada and remain committed to collaborating with the Governments and citizens of Guyana, Suriname and CARICOM in championing the values of inclusive governance, including by promoting human rights, and diversity while advancing Canada’s Feminist International Assistance Policy in all aspects of our work, including trade and investment and development cooperation.

Canada enjoys a long history of strong and friendly relations with Guyana, Suriname and CARICOM. I look forward to strengthening further the relationship between our countries.

Canada shares many similarities with our hemispheric neighbours Guyana and Suriname.  Our countries are endowed with remarkable natural beauty and abundant natural resources that provide the foundation for our economies. Our populations are diverse and peaceful pluralism is the cornerstone of our societies. We share strong democratic values and membership in the United Nations, Organisation of American States and the Commonwealth where we put those values into practice.

Through the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives, Canada has been privileged to partner alongside vibrant civil society and government organizations in both Guyana and Suriname to address a divergent range of issues, from economic diversification to gender equality to promoting and safeguarding our democratic principles.

Guyana is Canada’s largest merchandise trading market within CARICOM and the third largest in the Caribbean. Canadian companies have a robust presence in Guyana in the gold, financial, aviation, oil and gas, clean technologies, infrastructure and education sectors.

Canada’s relationship with Suriname is centered on mutually beneficial investment and trade, mostly in the extractives sector. More Surinamese students, pursuing higher education, are choosing Canada as their study destination, contributing to a rich cultural exchange.

The Government of Canada considers CARICOM a key partner in the region. Canada remains committed to working with CARICOM to build the best possible future for the Caribbean, reflected in our Regional Development Program, which fosters Caribbean collaboration and integration efforts. Canada’s engagement in the CARICOM region focuses on promoting growth that works for everyone, advancing regional integration and cooperation, strengthening security and democratic institutions, and building lasting relationships. 

Canada recognizes that a collective effort is needed to tackle our shared responsibilities, such as climate change, poverty, and insecurity. This is why Canada is committed to working multilaterally with our many partners, including Guyana, Suriname and CARICOM, on issues of global importance.

In this respect, I look forward to hearing from you. Please like us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter or contact us by email at grgtn@international.gc.ca.

I encourage fellow Canadians coming to Guyana and/or Suriname to register with the High Commission online using the Registration of Canadians Abroad tool to receive emergency alerts and information.  The Government of Canada’s travel website – Travel.gc.ca – has country-specific travel advice and advisories to assist you.

I also encourage citizens of Guyana and Suriname wishing to visit Canada to use this website to learn about visa options. You may wish to consult our Visa Application Centre for further assistance. Please consider applying online, so that you may keep your passport with you until a final decision is made.

Yours sincerely,

Lilian Chatterjee
Canada's High Commissioner to the Cooperative Republic of Guyana
CARICOM Representative
Canadian Ambassador to Suriname (designate)


Biography – Lilian Chatterjee

Lilian Chatterjee (BJ Hons [Journalism], Carleton University, 1980; MA, Norman Paterson School of International Affairs, Carleton University, 1985) joined the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA) in 2003. She was previously director general for the Canadian Partnership Branch, Communications Branch and Strategic Policy and Performance Branch where she organized Canada’s 2010 G8 Development Ministers’ Meeting, which led to the Muskoka Initiative on Maternal, Newborn and Child Health. At Global Affairs Canada, she served as director general for Social Development Partnerships, in the Partnerships for Development Innovation Branch, and most recently, she was the director general for Strategic Integration, in the Europe, Middle East and Maghreb Branch. She is also the departmental champion for psychological health and well-being in the workplace.

Lilian Chatterjee Twitter

Message de la Haut Commissaire

Bienvenue au Haut-Commissariat du Canada auprès du Guyana, le principal canal de communication entre le gouvernement canadien et les gouvernements du Guyana et du Suriname et la CARICOM (Communauté des Caraïbes).

Je suis privilégiée de représenter le Canada et de continuer à m'engager dans une collaboration avec les gouvernements et les citoyens du Guyana, du Suriname et de la CARICOM pour défendre les valeurs de la gouvernance inclusive, y compris la promotion des droits de la personne et la diversité, tout en faisant progresser la politique d'assistance internationale féministe du Canada dans tous les aspects de notre travail, y compris celui du commerce, de l'investissement et de la coopération en matière de développement.

Le Canada a une longue histoire de relations durables et amicales avec le Guyana, le Suriname et la CARICOM. Je suis heureuse de m’engager à conserver et renforcer les relations entre nos pays.

Le Canada partage de nombreuses similitudes avec nos voisins de l'hémisphère, le Guyana et le Suriname. Nos pays sont dotés d'une beauté naturelle remarquable et de ressources naturelles abondantes qui constituent la base de nos économies. Or, nos populations sont diversifiées et le pluralisme pacifique est la pierre angulaire de nos sociétés. Nous partageons des valeurs démocratiques enracinées et nous sommes en outre membres des Nations Unies, de l'Organisation des États américains et du Commonwealth, où nous mettons ces valeurs en pratique.

Par l’entremise des fonds canadien d'initiatives locales, le Canada a eu le privilège de s'associer à des organisations civiles et gouvernementales actives au Guyana et au Suriname en vue de répondre aux questions que sont la diversification économique, la promotion de  l'égalité des sexes et la préservation de nos principes démocratiques.

Parmi CARICOM, le Guyana est le plus grand marché d'échange de marchandises du Canada et le troisième plus important dans les Caraïbes. Les entreprises canadiennes font sentir leur présence au Guyana dans les secteurs de l'or, de la finance, de l'aviation, du pétrole et du gaz, des technologies propres, de l'infrastructure et de l'éducation.

La relation du Canada avec le Suriname est plutôt axée sur les investissements et le commerce mutuellement bénéfiques, principalement dans le secteur des industries extractives. De plus en plus d'étudiants surinamais poursuivant des études supérieures, choisissent le Canada comme destination d'étude, contribuant ainsi à un riche échange culturel.

Le gouvernement du Canada considère la CARICOM comme un partenaire clé dans la région. Le Canada demeure déterminé à travailler avec la CARICOM pour bâtir le meilleur avenir possible pour les Caraïbes, comme en témoigne notre programme de développement régional qui favorise les efforts de collaboration et d'intégration dans les Caraïbes. Or, l'engagement du Canada dans la région de la CARICOM est axé principalement sur la promotion de la croissance économique pour tous, la promotion de l'intégration et de la coopération régionales, le renforcement de la sécurité et des institutions démocratiques et l'établissement de relations durables.

Le Canada reconnaît qu'un effort collectif est nécessaire pour s'attaquer à nos responsabilités partagées, tel que le changement climatique, la pauvreté et l'insécurité. C'est pourquoi le Canada s'est engagé à collaborer multilatéralement avec nos nombreux partenaires, notamment le Guyana, le Suriname et la CARICOM afin de répondre à des questions d'importance mondiale.

À cet égard, j'exprime ma hâte d'avoir de vos nouvelles. Je vous prie de nous « aimer » sur Facebook, suivez-nous sur Twitter ou contactez-nous par courriel à grgtn@international.gc.ca.

I encourage fellow Canadians coming to Guyana and/or Suriname to register with the High Commission online using the Registration of Canadians Abroad tool to receive emergency alerts and information.  The Government of Canada’s travel website – Travel.gc.ca – has country-specific travel advice and advisories to assist you.

J'encourage tous les canadiens voyageant au Guyana et/ou au Suriname à s'inscrire en ligne auprès du Haut-Commissariat en utilisant l'outil l’inscription des Canadiens à l’étranger dans le but de recevoir des alertes et des renseignements urgents. Le site web sur les voyages du gouvernement du Canada - Voyage.gc.ca – contient d’autant plus des conseils et des avis sur les voyages spécifiques à chaque pays pour vous aider.

Je tiens à encourager également les citoyens du Guyana et du Suriname souhaitant visiter le Canada à utiliser ce même site web pour en apprendre davantage sur les options de visa. En outre, vous pouvez consulter notre centre de demande de visa (VAC) pour obtenir de l'aide à cet effet. Je vous prie d’envisager de postuler en ligne afin que vous puissiez garder votre passeport avec vous jusqu'à ce qu'une décision finale soit prise.

Avec nos sentiments les meilleurs,

Lilian Chatterjee
Haut Commissaire du Canada auprès de la République coopérative du Guyana
Représentante auprès de la CARICOM
Ambassadeur canadien désigné auprès du Suriname


Biographie - Lilian Chatterjee

Lilian Chatterjee (B.J. Hons [journalisme], Université Carleton, 1980; M.A., Norman Paterson School of International Affairs, Université Carleton, 1985) a intégré l’Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI) en 2003. Elle a occupé le poste de directrice générale de la Direction générale du partenariat canadien, de la Direction générale des communications et de la Direction générale des politiques stratégiques et du rendement à l’ACDI. À Affaires mondiales Canada, elle a occupé le poste de directrice générale des Partenariats pour le développement social au sein de la Direction générale des partenariats pour l’innovation dans le développement. Elle a en outre organisé la réunion des ministres du Développement du G8 en 2010, laquelle a mené au lancement de l’Initiative de Muskoka sur la santé des mères, des nouveau-nés et des enfants. Plus récemment, elle a occupé le poste de directrice générale de l’intégration stratégique, au sein de la Direction générale de l’Europe, du Moyen-Orient et du Maghreb, et celui de championne du Ministère pour la santé et le mieux-être psychologiques en milieu de travail.

Lilian ChatterjeeTwitter