Canada supports security and stability in Haiti

Canada provides significant support to the security and stability of Haiti through a number of Canadian departments and agencies working together closely. This includes the personnel of Global Affairs Canada (GAC) working at headquarters and at the Embassy of Canada in Port-au-Prince. They are supported by colleagues from the Canada Border Services Agency, the Canada Revenue Agency, the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, and National Defence and the Canadian Armed Forces. Each department and agency plays a key role in delivering Canadian aid to Haiti.

Global Affairs Canada

Collectively, GAC’s aid programming and diplomatic and policy dialogue efforts support security and stability in Haiti. GAC is responsible for the provision of Canada’s humanitarian and development assistance to Haiti. Moreover, political dialogue with Haitian and international partners ensure that all actions taken to rebuild Haiti strive to be effective and well-coordinated. Among various initiatives, GAC is supporting through a project the development and professionalization of the Haitian National Police (HNP), and since 2010, the Peace and Stabilization Operations Program has funded several projects aimed notably at the strengthening of democratic institutions in charge of security and justice, reconstruction, as well as violence and conflict prevention.

Canada Border Services Agency and the Canada Revenue Agency

As part of GAC’s Tax Mobilization Support Project, the Canada Border Services Agency and the Canada Revenue Agency are providing Haiti with long-term technical assistance and training in the following areas: development of management structures; composition and structure of organizational framework; legal framework; human resources; operating procedures; and cooperation, partnerships and communications. The project supports the Haitian government's ability to generate revenue by strengthening the performance of its customs.

Royal Canadian Mounted Police

Through the Royal Canadian Mounted Police's International Peace Operations Program, Canadian civilian police officers from agencies across Canada have been serving in Haiti as advisors to the HNP in the areas of management, professional standards, training and mentoring. Since 1993, Canadian police from municipal, regional, provincial and the Royal Canadian Mounted Police are also participating in various UN missions in Haiti – including the current one in support of justice in Haiti (MINUJUSTH).  Engagement in Haiti has been the RCMP's largest and longest-standing international contribution.

National Defence and the Canadian Armed Forces

Operation HAMLET, namely the deployment of five staff officers serving in senior appointments, was the Canadian Armed Forces’ participation in the United Nations Stabilization Mission in Haiti (MINUSTAH). This mission, which began in 2004 in response to a United Nations Security Council resolution, ended on October 15, 2017 and was replaced by MINUJUSTH, a new mission of smaller size and scope. Currently there are no Canadian military staff in Haiti given that MINUJUSTH has no military component.

Le Canada appuie la sécurité et la stabilité en Haïti

Le Canada apporte un soutien important à Haïti en matière de sécurité et de stabilité par le biais de ses ministères et de ses organismes qui travaillent étroitement ensemble. Cela comprend les employés d’Affaires mondiales Canada (AMC)à l'administration centrale ainsi que dans notre ambassade à Port-au-Prince. Ils sont appuyés par des collègues de  l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada, l'Agence du revenu du Canada,  la Gendarmerie royale du Canada, ainsi que la Défense nationale et les Forces armées canadiennes. Chacun de ces ministères et organismes joue un rôle clé dans la prestation de l'aide canadienne à Haïti.

Affaires mondiales Canada

Dans son ensemble, la programmation d’aide au développement et les efforts de dialogue diplomatique et sur les politiques d’AMC appuient la sécurité et la stabilité en Haïti. Dans un premier temps, AMC est responsable de l'acheminement de l'aide humanitaire et de l'aide au développement du Canada en Haïti. De plus, le dialogue politique canadien avec nos partenaires haïtiens et internationaux fait en sorte que tous les efforts déployés pour rebâtir le pays aspirent à être efficaces et bien coordonnés. Entres autres initiatives,  AMC appuie, par l’entremise d’un projet, le développement et la professionalisation de la Police nationale d’Haïti (PNH),et le Programme pour la stabilisation et les opérations de paix (PSOPs) a financé depuis 2010 plusieurs projets visant notamment le renforcement des institutions démocratiques en charge de la sécurité et de la justice, la reconstruction ainsi que la prévention de la violence et des conflits.

Agence des services frontaliers du Canada et l'Agence du revenu du Canada

Dans le cadre du projet Mobilisation des recettes fiscales (financé par AMC), l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada et l'Agence du revenu du Canada fournissent au pays de l'aide technique à long terme et de la formation dans les domaines suivants : développement des structures de gestion; composition et structure du cadre organisationnel; cadre juridique; ressources humaines; procédures d'exploitation; coopération, partenariats et communications. Le projet vise à aider le gouvernement haïtien à augmenter ses recettes fiscales en améliorant les procédures douanières. 

Gendarmerie royale du Canada

Par le biais des déploiements de la  Sous-direction des missions de paix internationales de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC), des membres de la police civile canadienne de divers organismes à l'échelle du Canada servent Haïti en tant que conseillers auprès de la PNH dans les domaines de la gestion, des normes professionnelles, de la formation et de l'encadrement. Depuis 1993, la GRC et des agents de police canadiens aux niveaux municipal, régional et provincial participent aussi à diverses missions des Nations Unies en Haïti – incluant la mission actuelle d’appui à la justice en Haïti (MINUJUSTH). L’engagement dans ce pays constitue la plus importante et plus longue contribution internationale de la GRC.

La Défense nationale et les Forces armées canadiennes

L’opération Hamlet, soit le déploiement de cinq officiers d’état-major occupant des postes supérieurs,  a constitué t la participation des Forces armées canadiennes à la Mission des Nations Unies pour la stabilisation en Haïti (MINUSTAH). Cette mission,  qui a débuté en 2004 pour donner suite à une résolution du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies, a pris fin le 15 octobre 2017 et a été remplacée par MINUJUSTH, une nouvelle mission de taille et mandat plus réduits.  Présentement, il n’y a plus de militaires canadiens en Haïti en raison du fait que la MINUJUSTH n’a aucune composante militaire.