Message from the Ambassador

Welcome to the website of the Embassy of Canada in Haiti! It is with great fervor and enthusiasm that I consider my mandate as Canada's Ambassador to Haiti. Canada has long been a friend of Haiti and I am happy to be here to continue our collaboration. We support Haiti in its quest to build a safe, inclusive and democratic society, by placing the rights of women and girls and governance at the heart of our work. We support development, inclusive sustainable economic growth, as well as the stabilization of the country, through our development and peace and security programming, the deployment of Canadian police officers to the UN mission and the strengthening of the capacities of Haitian governmental institutions. We are investing in health, agriculture and education to improve the living conditions of Haitians. We work with Haitian civil society to ensure that all citizens have a voice and can actively participate in democratic processes. We celebrate the ongoing flourishing cultural ties between Canada and Haiti, showcasing the artistic and intellectual wealth that Haiti offers and highlighting the contributions of the Haitian community in Canada and in Haiti. 

Canada’s initiatives abroad are built on several key priorities that resonate around the world. Diversity and inclusion, a strong and open democracy and gender equality are pillars of a prosperous and burgeoning society. Canada firmly believes in these values ​​and is happy to share these priorities with Haiti, working together for the benefit of all. 

I extend a special invitation to you to follow us on social media to join the conversation and share your thoughts with us. I also recommend that you stay up to date with travel advice issued by Canada at: https://travel.gc.ca/travelling.

Stuart Savage
Ambassador of Canada to Haiti


Biography

Stuart Savage (BA [Economics], University of Windsor, 1990; BA Hons [International Relations], University of Windsor, 1991) joined External Affairs and International Trade Canada in 1994. At Headquarters, he served as director general for Geographic Coordination and Mission Support, director for Consular Special Case Support and Children's Issues and director for Intergovernmental Relations. He was also responsible for such files as regional security and peacekeeping, multilateral affairs, the G8 and bilateral relations. Abroad, he was ambassador to Guatemala and served in Pakistan, Spain, Mexico and Cuba and at Canada’s permanent mission to the United Nations, in New York City.

Ambassador - André Frenette

Message de l’ambassadeur

Bienvenue sur le site web de l’Ambassade du Canada en Haïti! C’est avec beaucoup d’enthousiasme et d’énergie que j’effectue mon mandat comme ambassadeur du Canada en Haïti. Le Canada est depuis longtemps un ami d’Haïti et je suis heureux d’être ici afin de poursuivre notre collaboration. Nous appuyons Haïti à construire une société sécuritaire, inclusive et démocratique, en mettant les droits des femmes et des filles et la gouvernance au cœur de notre travail. Nous soutenons le développement, la croissance économique inclusive et durable, ainsi que la stabilisation du pays, à travers notre programmation en développement et en paix et sécurité, le déploiement de policiers canadiens à la mission de l’ONU et le renforcement des capacités des institutions étatiques haïtiennes. Nous investissons en santé, en agriculture et en éducation afin d’améliorer les conditions de vie des Haïtiennes et Haïtiens. Nous travaillons avec la société civile haïtienne afin de donner une voix à tous les citoyens et citoyennes et assurer leur participation active dans les processus démocratiques. Nous célébrons les liens culturels déjà florissants entre le Canada et Haïti, en mettant en valeur la richesse artistique et intellectuelle qu’Haïti offre et en soulignant les contributions de la communauté haïtienne au Canada et en Haïti.

Les initiatives du Canada à l’étranger s’appuient sur plusieurs grandes priorités qui ont un écho à travers le monde. La diversité et l’inclusion, une démocratie forte et ouverte et l’égalité des genres sont des piliers d’une société prospère et florissante. Le Canada croit fermement en ces valeurs et est heureux de partager ces priorités avec Haïti, en travaillant ensemble au bénéfice de tous.

Je vous invite à nous suivre sur les médias sociaux pour vous joindre à la conversation et nous partager votre opinion. Je vous recommande aussi de vous tenir au courant des conseils aux voyageurs émis par le Canada à l’adresse suivante : https://voyage.gc.ca/voyager.

Stuart Savage
Ambassadeur du Canada en Haïti


Biographie

M. Stuart Savage (B.A. [économie], Université de Windsor, 1990; B.A. avec spécialisation [relations internationales], Université de Windsor, 1991) s’est joint à Affaires extérieures et Commerce extérieur Canada en 1994. À l’administration centrale, il a occupé les postes de directeur général de la Direction générale de la coordination géographique et de l’appui aux missions, de directeur du soutien des cas consulaires spéciaux et litiges concernant les enfants, et de directeur des relations intergouvernementales. Il a également été responsable de dossiers tels que la sécurité régionale et le maintien de la paix, les affaires multilatérales, le G8 et les relations bilatérales. À l’étranger, il a été ambassadeur au Guatemala et a été affecté au Pakistan, en Espagne, au Mexique et à Cuba, ainsi qu’à la mission permanente du Canada auprès des Nations Unies à New York.

Ambassador - André Frenette