Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

HolySee.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Our Office
  4. >
  5. About the Holy See

Visiting the Vatican

The following information addresses questions often put to the Canadian Embassy to the Holy See:


Tourism Information

Links and Information on Ticket Reservations and Other Services at the Vatican

Ticket Reservations for Papal Events - for information on reserving tickets for papal general audiences and liturgical celebrations. (N.B. In the summer, papal audiences are sometimes held at the papal residence in Castelgandolfo, outside of Rome.)

Vatican Museums - for information on admission, guided tours and the Museums’collections. 

Vatican Museums and Vatican Gardens: on-line ticket office

Vatican Necropolis - for information on visiting the archeological excavations under St. Peter's Basilica

Papal certificates / Apostolic Blessings - Apostolic blessings on parchment are available through the Office of Papal Charities ("Elemosineria"): 
Tel +39-06-6988-3135
Fax +39-06-6988-3132.

Papal Basilicas - for information on
Saint Peter's Basilica
Basilica of Saint John Lateran
Basilica of Saint Paul Outsite-The-Wall
Saint Mary Major Basilica


Information on stays other than for tourism

Please note: the following Information is provided on a unofficial basis and is subject to change.

If you are planning to travel to Rome for professional, voluntary work, or study activities associated with the Vatican (e.g. for work in a religious order or congregation, voluntary work in a charitable organization, or study in a pontifical university or institute), we recommend that you ensure you have proper status with also Italian authorities.

Though the Vatican City State and the Holy See are sovereign entities, travelling to Rome for work or study activities associated with them may require some kind of entry permit from Italian authorities.

This often means, especially for longer stays, that an Italian visitor, work or study visa is required and must be applied for and obtained from an Italian Embassy or Consulate before entering Italy.


Getting married at the vatican

Canadian Roman Catholics wishing to get married at the Vatican should first and foremost contact their local parish for information. Please note that there are two parishes that operate within Vatican City State: one is the Parish of St. Peter that takes care of ceremonies within St. Peter’s Basilica. The other is the parish of the Church of St. Anna which is a separate church located within Vatican City State.

A marriage performed at the Vatican is considered legally valid for all intents and purposes. Either the marriage act and/or the marriage certificate issued by Vatican authorities may be used to register your marriage in your province of residence.

Please note that before obtaining any documentation from Canadian government officials, preparations for the marriage must begin with your local parish priest. He will inform you of diocesan regulations and help you initiate the procedures for getting married at the Vatican. This latter information is also available at the Vatican Parish Office at +39 06 6989-5435 or at the website of the Church of Sant’Anna in the Vatican.

The procedures and documentation required by the Vatican may vary according to the parish at the Vatican. The website of the Church of Santa Susanna in Rome also offers useful advice and a list of the documents required by the Vatican. According to their experience, preparations should begin no more than six months and no less than four months before the intended wedding date.

For advice on how to obtain a “Nihil Obstat” or a Certificate of Non-Impediment to Marriage Abroad, visit the Canadian Embassy to Italy website.

Once the marriage is celebrated, it is your responsibility to obtain a copy of your marriage act. You may do so by making arrangements with the Vatican Parish Office.

For your ease of reference, in order to obtain authentication of the marriage act, the priest’s signature must be certified by the Vatican Civil Status Office and the Secretariat of State. If you wish to register the marriage act in Canada, where possible, the Vatican signatures on it must also be authenticated at one of the following institutions:

  • the Embassy of Canada to the Holy See, Via della Conciliazione 4/d, Rome, Italy
  • the Office of the Italian Prefecture, Viale Ostiense 131 / L, Rome, Italy, and subsequently at the Consular Office at the Embassy of Canada to Italy, Via Zara 30, Rome, Italy
  • the Apostolic Nuncio to Canada, 72 Manor Avenue, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Please note that translation to English or French of your marriage act and/or certificate is required for registration in Canada. It is your responsibility to make arrangements for this, and the translated copy may be certified and sworn in front of a Canadian notary or consular official.

If you would like to request more information, please email us at vatcn@international.gc.ca

Footer

Date Modified:
2013-01-30

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

HolySee.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Nos bureaux
  4. >
  5. À propos du Saint-Siège

Visiter le Vatican

Les renseignements suivants repondent à des questions souvent poser à l'Ambassade du Canada près le Saint-Siège :


Information touristique

Liens et renseignements pour réserver billets et autres services au Vatican

Certificats papales / Bénédictions apostolique: les bénédictions apostolique sur parchemins sont disponibles auprès du Bureau des charités papales ("Elemosineria"):
Tél +39-06-6988-3135
Télécopieur +39-06-6988-3132.

Basiliques papales - pour information sur:
Basilique de Saint-Pierre 
Basilique de Saint-Jean de Latran 
Basilique Saint-Paul-Hors-Les-Murs 
Basilique Sainte-Marie-Majeure


Séjours pour des raisons autres que touristiques

Note : les renseignements qui suivent sont officieux et pourraient subir des changements.

Si vous pensez venir à Rome pour des activités professionnelles, pour un travail de bénévolat ou pour des études liées au Vatican (par exemple pour travailler dans un Institut de Vie Consacrée, dans une organisation de charité, ou pour des études dans une université ou un institut pontifical), nous vous conseillons de régler vos documents de séjour avec les autorités italiennes, avant d'arriver à Rome.

Même si la Cité du Vatican et le Saint-Siège sont des entités souveraines, vous pourriez devoir obtenir un permis italien de séjour avant de vous rendre à Rome, même si le motif de votre séjour est parmi ceux mentionnés plus haut. Un visa d'étude, de travail, ou de visiteur est souvent requis, spécialment dans le cas de séjours prolongés. On doit alors le demander et l'obtenir d'une Ambassade ou d'un Consulat italien avant d'arriver à Rome.

À ce propos, veuillez-vous renseigner auprès d'une Ambassade ou d'un Consulat italien.


Se marier dans la cité du vatican

Les Canadiens catholiques romains qui ont l’intention de se marier dans la cité du Vatican doivent tout d’abord contacter leur paroisse d’appartenance pour obtenir des renseignements à ce sujet. À l’intérieur de la Cité du Vatican, on y retrouve deux paroisses : la paroisse de Saint-Pierre pour les fonctions et cérémonies dans la Basilique de Saint-Pierre et la paroisse pontificale de Sainte-Anne, une église séparée de la Basilique mais toujours à l’intérieur de la Cité du Vatican.

Les mariages qui sont célébrés au Vatican sont considérés valables aux plans juridique et légal.  Aussi bien l’acte que le certificat de mariage émis par les Autorités du Vatican peut être utilisé pour l’inscription dans les registres de la province de résidence. 

L’émission de documents de la part d’un agent du gouvernement du Canada pour célébrer un mariage au Vatican est soumise à l’obtention préalable d’autres documents de la paroisse d’appartenance. Il appartient à un prêtre de la paroisse d’appartenance au Canada d’informer les intéressés à propos des règlements diocésains et de les assister dans les procédures préparatoires pour se marier au Vatican.  Ces procédures pour se marier au Vatican sont aussi disponibles au Bureau paroissial du Vatican au numéro +39 06 6989-5435 de la Basilique Saint-Pierre et au numéro de l’Église de Sainte-Anne au +39 06 6988-3265 ainsi que sur le site web.

Les procédures à suivre et la documentation requise par les autorités du Vatican peut varier selon la paroisse au Vatican. Le site web de la paroisse de Santa Susanna à Rome donne aussi des renseignements utiles à ce sujet avec l’indication des documents requis par le Vatican.   Selon l’expérience de cette paroisse, les préparatifs ne devraient pas être entrepris avant six mois du mariage et au plus tard à quatre mois de la date envisagée du mariage.

Les instructions pour obtenir un “Nihil Obstat” ou un certificat de Non-empêchement au mariage peuvent être consultées sur le site de l’Ambassade du Canada en Italie.

Une fois le mariage célébré, il revient aux nouveaux mariés d’obtenir une copie du certificat de mariage de la paroisse au Vatican en prenant contact avec le Bureau paroissial au Vatican.

Concernant la procédure à suivre pour obtenir l’authentification de l’acte de mariage émis par une paroisse au Vatican, les intéressés doivent d’abord demander au prêtre signant l’acte de faire authentifier sa signature par l’Office de l’État civil au Vatican et par la Secrétairerie d’État.  Ensuite, si l’on désire enregistrer l’acte de mariage au Canada, là où c’est prévu, les signatures du Vatican doivent aussi être authentifiées  par un des organismes suivants:

  • Ambassade du Canada près le Saint-Siège, Via della Conciliazione 4/d, Rome, Italie
  • Office de la Préfecture italienne, Viale Ostiense 131 / L, Rome, Italie, et ensuite à la section consulaire de l’Ambassade du Canada en Italie, Via Zara 30, Rome, Italie
  • Nonciature Apostolique au Canada, 72, Avenue Manor, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Il est important de savoir que la traduction en anglais ou français de l’acte de votre mariage est requise pour l’inscription dans les registres civils au Canada.  Il est de la responsabilité des intéressés accomplir les procédures relatives et de faire authentifier la copie de la traduction par un notaire au Canada ou par un agent consulaire.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez nous envoyer un courriel à l'adresse: vatcn@international.gc.ca

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2013-01-30