Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

HongKong.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Bilateral Relations

Canada-Hong Kong Relations

Canada is represented in the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region and the Macao Special Administrative Region by its consulate general in Hong Kong. For mainland China, Canada is represented by the Embassy of Canada to China in Beijing and its consulates general.

Hong Kong is represented in Canada by the Embassy of the People’s Republic of China in Canada, in Ottawa. Hong Kong also has an economic and trade office in Toronto.

Canada’s bilateral relations with Hong Kong reflect longstanding and comprehensive political, commercial and people-to-people ties. In addition to deep-rooted historical ties, Canada and Hong Kong share common values, among them respect for the rule of law, human rights and individual freedoms. Canada and Hong Kong enjoy strong cooperation in several key areas, including trade and investment, mutual legal assistance and public health.

On July 1, 1997, following 150 years of British colonial rule, Hong Kong became a Special Administrative Region of the People’s Republic of China. Since then, Hong Kong has been governed under the “one country, two systems” framework set out in the Basic Law, a document also referred to as Hong Kong’s “mini-constitution.” Under this approach, Hong Kong is guaranteed its own legislature, legal and judicial systems and economic autonomy under a capitalist system and way of life. Overall, the Basic Law provides Hong Kong with a large degree of autonomy, while the Central Government of the People’s Republic of China holds responsibility over matters of national defence and foreign relations.

Canada and Hong Kong also enjoy productive cooperation in the context of multilateral organizations of which they are both members, such as the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation forum and the World Trade Organization.

Hong Kong boasts one of the largest Canadian communities abroad (an estimated 300,000 people). This community, along with the significant number of Canadians of Hong Kong descent in Canada, plays an important role in building vibrant bilateral relations. 

Canada’s presence in Hong Kong is also reflected in the existence of several Hong Kong-Canadian associations, such as the Chinese Canadian Association, the Canadian Club of Hong Kong and the Canadian University Association, which acts as an umbrella group for some 20 active Canadian university alumni associations. The Canadian Chamber of Commerce in Hong Kong is one of the largest Canadian chambers of commerce outside Canada, with over 1,200 members.

Hong Kong is a mature, trade- and services-driven economy with a per capita GDP (at purchasing power parity) comparable to that of a number of developed economies. Hong Kong has a solid, well-capitalized banking system, free market environment, established legal institutions and world-class infrastructure. Hong Kong has consistently been designated the world’s freest economy by various international indexes and rankings.

In terms of trade with Canada, Hong Kong ranks third as a global destination for Canadian exports of services, with these services worth $2.9 billion in 2017; financial, engineering, information technology and professional services are predominant. In 2017, Hong Kong ranked as Canada’s 13th largest market for merchandise exports, with these exports worth $2.2 billion. For instance, Hong Kong is Canada’s third largest export market in the world for fruit and tree-nut products and fourth largest market for fish and seafood. In addition to importing agricultural products, Hong Kong is an active trading hub in Asia for Canadian products and commodities such as jewellery and silverware, precious metals, and computer and electronic products, among others. Other important Canadian exports to Hong Kong include navigational and medical instruments, and transportation signaling systems.

In addition, Hong Kong is the third largest financial market in Asia and an important source of foreign direct investment in Canada. In 2017, Hong Kong was Canada’s second most popular destination for investment in Asia. The total stock of Canadian direct investment in Hong Kong in 2017 stood at $10.6 billion, and the total stock of Hong Kong direct investment in Canada stood at $12.4 billion over the same period.

The Canada-Hong Kong Avoidance of Double Taxation Treaty (2013) and the bilateral Foreign Investment Promotion and Protection Agreement (2016) offer opportunities to further strengthen the robust Canada-Hong Kong bilateral trade and investment relationship.

July 2018


* If you require a plug-in or a third-party software to view this file, please visit the alternative formats section of our help page.

Supplemental content

Footer

Date Modified:
2018-07-13

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

HongKong.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Relations bilatérales

Relations Canada-Hong Kong

Dans la Région administrative spéciale de Hong Kong et la Région administrative spéciale de Macao, le Canada est représenté par son consulat général à Hong Kong. En Chine continentale, le Canada est représenté par l’ambassade du Canada à Beijing et ses consulats généraux.

Hong Kong est représenté au Canada par l’ambassade de la République populaire de Chine à Ottawa. Hong Kong a également un bureau économique et commercial à Toronto.

Les relations bilatérales que le Canada entretient de longue date avec Hong Kong reflètent de grands liens politiques, commerciaux et interpersonnels. Outre ces liens historiques qui sont profondément ancrés, le Canada et Hong Kong partagent des valeurs communes dont le respect de l’état de droit, des droits de la personne et des libertés individuelles. Le Canada et Hong Kong collaborent de manière étroite dans plusieurs secteurs clés, y compris le commerce et l’investissement, l’assistance légale mutuelle et la santé publique.

Après 150 ans de régime colonial britannique, Hong Kong est devenue, le 1er juillet 1997, une région administrative spéciale de la République populaire de Chine. Depuis lors, Hong Kong est gouvernée d’après la politique « un pays, deux systèmes » prescrit par la Loi fondamentale, un document également désigné sous le nom de « mini-constitution » de Hong Kong. Cette approche donne à Hong Kong l’assurance de pouvoir conserver sa propre assemblée parlementaire, ses systèmes juridique et judiciaire et son autonomie économique, conformément aux système et mode de vie capitalistes. Dans l’ensemble, la Loi fondamentale confère à Hong Kong un grand degré d’autonomie, tout en laissant au gouvernement central de la République populaire de Chine la responsabilité en matière de défense nationale et d’affaires étrangères.

Le Canada et Hong Kong coopèrent efficacement dans le cadre d’organisations multilatérales, telles que la Coopération économique Asie-Pacifique et l’Organisation mondiale du commerce, dont ils sont tous deux membres.

Hong Kong abrite une des plus importantes communautés canadiennes à l’étranger (évaluée à 300 000 personnes). Cette communauté, ainsi que le nombre considérable de Canadiens d’origine hongkongaise au Canada, jouent un rôle important dans l’établissement de relations bilatérales fructueuses.

La présence du Canada à Hong Kong se reflète également par l’existence de nombreuses associations canado-hongkongaises. Entre autres, on retrouve la Chinese Canadian Association, le Canadian Club of Hong Kong et la Canadian University Association, qui chapeaute environ 20 associations actives d’anciens élèves canadiens. La Chambre de commerce canadienne à Hong Kong, l’une des plus importantes chambres de commerce canadiennes à l’extérieur du Canada, compte plus de 1 200 membres.

Hong Kong dispose d’une économie mature axée sur le commerce et les services et son PIB par habitant (selon la parité des pouvoirs d’achat) se compare à ceux de plusieurs pays industrialisés. Hong Kong dispose d’un système bancaire solide bien pourvu en capitaux, d’un cadre de libre-échange, d’institutions juridiques établies et d’une infrastructure de renommée internationale. Elle ne cesse d’être désignée comme étant l’économie la plus libre du monde selon divers indices et classement internationaux.

Sur le plan du commerce avec le Canada, Hong Kong est le troisième plus grand marché d’exportation de services du Canada; en 2017, ces services étaient évalués à 2,9 milliards de dollars, avec une prépondérance des services financiers, professionnels, d’ingénierie et de technologies de l’information. En 2017, Hong Kong s’est classé au 13e rang des plus grands marchés d’exportation de marchandises du Canada, avec une valeur totale de 2,2 milliards de dollars. Par exemple, Hong Kong est le troisième plus important marché d’exportation du Canada pour les fruits et les noix ainsi que le quatrième marché pour les poissons et les fruits de mer. Outre l’importation de produits agricoles, Hong Kong constitue une plaque commerciale active en Asie pour les produits canadiens, comme les bijoux et l’argenterie, les métaux précieux ainsi que les produits informatiques et électroniques. Parmi les autres exportations canadiennes d’importance à destination de Hong Kong, mentionnons les appareils médicaux et de navigation de même que les systèmes de signalisation en matière de transport.

De plus, Hong Kong est le troisième plus grand marché financier en Asie ainsi qu’une importante source d’investissements directs étrangers au Canada. En 2017, Hong Canada a été la deuxième destination la plus populaire du Canada pour les investissements en Asie. Toujours en 2017, le stock total des investissements directs canadiens à Hong Kong s’est élevé à 10,6 milliards de dollars, tandis que le stock total des investissements directs hongkongais au Canada a atteint 12,4 milliards de dollars.

Canada et Hong Kong dispose d’un accord en vue d’éviter les doubles impositions (2013) ainsi que d’un accord bilatéral de promotion et de protection des investissements étrangers (2016), lesquels offrent la possibilité de renforcer des relations commerciales et d’investissement bilatérales déjà solides.

Juillet 2018


* Si vous avez besoin d'un plugiciel ou d'un logiciel tiers pur accéder a ce ficher, veuillez consultez la section formats de rechange de notre page aide.

Contenu supplémentaire

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2018-07-13