Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

HongKong.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home

Canada Day 2018 – National Day Message from the Consul General of Canada

Dear Hong Kong and Macao friends,

It is my great pleasure to extend my sincerest best wishes to each of you as we celebrate Canada’s 151st anniversary of Confederation.  It is our distinct privilege to share this auspicious day with the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region as we also recognize the 21st anniversary of its Establishment Day.

Not only do we have the same July 1 birthday. Canada and Hong Kong also share similar Commonwealth values and heritage, including diversity, fundamental freedoms, and our commitment to good governance and the rule of law. We also hold the solemn bond forged by the heroic sacrifice made by the 554 Canadian soldiers who lost their lives in defending Hong Kong in the Battle of Hong Kong in 1941. With so many threads woven between us, it is little wonder that Canada and Hong Kong enjoy such close relations.

From a small immigration office, established 95 years ago in 1923, Canada’s representation in Hong Kong and Macao has grown into what is today one of our country’s largest diplomatic missions abroad. With an estimated 300,000 Canadian citizens living here, we affectionately say “Hong Kong is Canada’s largest city in Asia”. This year, Canadians in Hong Kong and Macao are celebrating Canada’s close friendship with the two Special Administrative Regions with the theme “Canada: Your Ultimate Destination”. Be it for tourism, for a place to study and live, or for investment, Canada has something for everyone!

Canada remains one of the most popular destinations for Hongkongers, demonstrated by the annual increase in Hong Kong youth pursuing their studies in Canada. We are also excited to share our vibrant cities, beautiful natural attractions and diverse cultures with our visitors. Approximately 150,000 Hongkongers visited Canada in 2017, with up to 46 flights a week connecting us.

Our robust and expanding trade and investment ties also underpin the Canada-Hong Kong relationship. Hong Kong currently ranks third globally as a destination for Canadian exports of services, which includes a diverse range of sectors such as finance, engineering, information technology and professional services. In addition, the stock of Canadian direct investment in Hong Kong reached approximately HKD$64.96 billion (CAD$10.4 billion) at the end of 2017, making Hong Kong Canada’s second-most popular destination for investment in Asia. With a strong, stable, and predictable business climate, Canada also welcomes foreign direct investment from Hong Kong and other parts of the world, in sectors such as advanced manufacturing, agri-food, clean technology, digital technology, health sciences, bio-sciences, and clean resources.

In the past year, high-level Canadian visitors to Hong Kong include Minister of Finance Bill Morneau, for his first post-budget tour in Asia, and Minister of International Trade François-Philippe Champagne.  The leaders of all of Canada’s top universities also came to Hong Kong to share innovative ideas and build new partnerships. These and other Canadian leaders are eager to solidify our unique relationship.

On the special occasion of Canada’s National Day and Hong Kong’s Establishment Day, let us celebrate the many unique and successful ties that bind us. We hope that with your continued support these vibrant ties can continue to grow and strengthen in the future.

Happy Canada Day!

Jeff Nankivell
Consul General

Footer

Date Modified:
2018-06-26

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

HongKong.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil

Fête du Canada 2018 – Message du consul général du Canada à l’occasion de la fête nationale

Chers amis de Hong Kong et de Macao,

C’est avec grand plaisir que j’adresse à chacun et à chacune de vous mes meilleurs vœux à l’occasion du 151e anniversaire de la Confédération. Nous avons l’insigne honneur de partager cette heureuse journée avec la Région administrative spéciale de Hong Kong qui célèbre son 21e anniversaire.

Non seulement nous partageons la date anniversaire du 1er juillet, mais le Canada et Hong Kong ont en commun les valeurs et le patrimoine hérités du Commonwealth, notamment la diversité, les libertés fondamentales et l’engagement envers la bonne gouvernance et la règle de droit. Nous avons aussi des liens solennels forgés par le sacrifice héroïque consenti par les 554 soldats canadiens qui ont perdu la vie en défendant Hong Kong, lors de la bataille de Hong Kong de 1941. Avec des liens aussi nombreux entre nous, il n’est pas étonnant que le Canada et Hong Kong entretiennent des relations aussi étroites.

Depuis le modeste bureau d’immigration ouvert il y a 95 ans, en 1923, la représentation canadienne à Hong Kong et à Macao a évolué au point de devenir l’une des plus grandes missions diplomatiques canadiennes à l’étranger. Considérant que quelque 300 000 citoyens canadiens vivent ici, nous nous plaisons à dire que « Hong Kong est la plus grande ville canadienne en Asie ». Cette année, les Canadiens de Hong Kong et de Macao célèbrent l’amitié du Canada avec les deux régions administratives spéciales, sur le thème « Le Canada, votre ultime destination ». Qu’il s’agisse de tourisme, d’un endroit où vivre et étudier ou d’investissements, le Canada plaira à tous !

Le Canada demeure l’une des destinations les plus populaires auprès des Hongkongais, comme en témoigne l’augmentation annuelle du nombre de jeunes de Hong Kong qui poursuivent leurs études au Canada. Nous aimons particulièrement partager avec nos visiteurs le dynamisme de nos cités, nos magnifiques sites naturels et nos cultures variées. Environ 150 000 Hongkongais ont visité le Canada en 2017, et le nombre de vols aériens qui nous relient atteint 46 par semaine.

Solides et en croissance, nos liens commerciaux et d’investissement sous-tendent aussi la relation entre le Canada et Hong Kong. Actuellement, Hong Kong est la troisième destination dans le monde pour les exportations canadiennes de services, dans une gamme de secteurs dont les finances, le génie, les technologies de l’information et les services professionnels. De plus, le stock d’investissement direct du Canada à Hong Kong a atteint à la fin de 2017 environ 64,96 milliards $ HKG (10,4 $ CA), faisant de Hong Kong la deuxième plus populaire destination au Canada pour les investissements en Asie. Jouissant d’un climat d’affaires robuste, stable et prévisible, le Canada accueille aussi les investissements directs de Hong Kong et d’autres parties du monde, dans des secteurs comme la fabrication avancée, l’agroalimentaire, les technologies propres, les technologies numériques, les sciences de la santé, les biosciences et les ressources propres.

Au cours de la dernière année, nous avons reçu à Hong Kong des visiteurs canadiens de haut niveau, notamment le ministre des Finances Bill Morneau, à l’occasion de sa première tournée post budgétaire en Asie, et le ministre du Commerce international François-Philippe Champagne. Les dirigeants de toutes les plus grandes universités canadiennes sont aussi venus à Hong Kong pour partager des idées innovatrices et établir de nouveaux partenariats. Avec bien d’autres dirigeants canadiens, ils aspirent à renforcer notre exceptionnelle relation.

En cette occasion particulière de la fête du Canada et du Jour de l’établissement de la Région administrative spéciale de Hong Kong, célébrons ensemble les nombreux liens exceptionnels et fructueux qui nous unissent. Nous espérons qu’avec votre appui soutenu, ces liens dynamiques continueront à l’avenir de se multiplier et de se renforcer.

Bonne fête du Canada!

Jeff Nankivell
Consul général

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2018-06-26