Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

HongKong.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home

UK and Canada host Global Conference on Media Freedom

The UK and Canadian governments will co-host a Global Conference for Media Freedom in London on 10 - 11 July 2019.

The aim is to shine a spotlight on media freedom, and in so doing to raise the cost to those abusing it. We will bring together partners from around the globe to raise individual cases in a better co-ordinated, sustained and more rigorous manner.

Speaking in advance of the event, the British Consul General in Hong Kong said:

We are seeing a new and dangerous trend of journalists being targeted simply for doing their jobs. The London Conference will support and protect journalists operating globally – whether in Hong Kong, the UK or anywhere else around the world. A free media is vital for economic prosperity, including here in Hong Kong where it is protected under the Basic Law.
- Andrew Heyn

The Canadian Consul General in Hong Kong said:

A free media is essential to democracy and a vibrant political system, without which societies risk falling into ignorance or conflict. Hong Kong’s long tradition of media freedom has been critical to its success as a global centre for business, culture and academia. Canada is pleased to work with the United Kingdom on this important event to help defend media freedom and improve the safety of journalists worldwide.
- Jeff Nankivell

Footer

Date Modified:
2019-07-10

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

HongKong.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil

Le Royaume-Uni et le Canada organisent une conférence mondiale sur la liberté des médias

Les gouvernements britannique et canadien co-organiseront une conférence mondiale sur la liberté des médias à Londres les 10 et 11 juillet 2019.

L’objectif est de braquer les projecteurs sur la liberté des médias et, ce faisant, d’augmenter les coûts pour ceux qui en abusent. Nous réunirons des partenaires du monde entier afin de traiter des cas individuels de manière mieux coordonnée, durable et rigoureuse.

Prenant la parole avant l'événement, le consul général de Grande-Bretagne à Hong Kong a déclaré:

« Nous constatons une nouvelle et dangereuse tendance à cibler les journalistes simplement pour leur travail. La conférence de Londres soutiendra et protégera les journalistes opérant dans le monde entier, que ce soit à Hong Kong, au Royaume-Uni ou ailleurs dans le monde. Un média libre est vital pour la prospérité économique, y compris ici à Hong Kong où il est protégé par la Loi fondamentale. »
- Andrew Heyn

Le consul général du Canada à Hong Kong a déclaré:

« Un média libre est essentiel à la démocratie et à un système politique dynamique, sans lequel les sociétés risquent de sombrer dans l'ignorance ou le conflit. La longue tradition de liberté des médias de Hong Kong a été déterminante pour son succès en tant que centre mondial des affaires, de la culture et du monde universitaire. Le Canada est heureux de collaborer avec le Royaume-Uni à cet événement important pour aider à défendre la liberté des médias et à améliorer la sécurité des journalistes dans le monde. »
- Jeff Nankivell

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2019-07-10