Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

Italy.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. For Canadians
  4. >
  5. Living / Travelling in Italy

Marriage


You wish to get married in Italy?

Italian law requires EACH non-Italian wishing to be married in Italy to present a "Nulla Osta" (Certificate of non-Impediment) or equivalent documentation.

The Government of Canada does not issue "Nulla Osta". However, to assist Canadians to meet the Italian requirements, the Embassy of Canada issues a declaration containing the relevant information.

Requests for the declaration can be made by mail or in person, by appointment. Our delivery service standards are 5 business days from the time we receive a complete application.

Obtaining a Declaration (Nulla Osta) from the Embassy in Rome

You must first complete and swear an affidavit to the effect that there is no impediment to the proposed marriage. You may swear the affidavit in Canada, at the Embassy in Rome or at one of our Consulates, or at another Government of Canada office abroad.

Then, the affidavit and the attached documents listed below must be sent or brought, by appointment, to the Embassy of Canada in Rome.

Each Canadian Citizen must complete and swear the following Marriage Affidavit. The affidavit may be sworn:

Submit the sworn affidavit to the Embassy of Canada in Rome, together with all of the following supporting documents, by mail or by appointment:

  1. certified true copy of his/her own valid Canadian passport
  2. proof of Canadian Citizenship:
    • for persons born in Canada, original or certified true copy of both sides of the long-form birth certificate, which includes information on the parents
    • for persons born outside of Canada, original or certified true copy of both sides of the Certificate of Canadian Citizenship
       
  3. original or certified true copy of a marriage record search issued by the Vital Statistics office of each Canadian Province and/or Territory where he/she resided since reaching the age of 16; each search must cover the entire period during which the person has resided in that Province or Territory
  4. original or certified copy of the applicant’s final divorce certificate or decree (if divorced)
  5. original or certified copy of a deceased spouse’s death certificate(if widowed)
  6. certified copy of the fiancé(e)’s valid passport
  7. copy of the consular processing fee payment receipt, or payment in person by MasterCard or Visa
  8. mailing/pick-up instructions (mailing is done by registered post to a foreign or Italian address at no additional cost)

IMPORTANT: If you and your fiancé(e) are both Canadian citizens, you will each need to swear an affidavit, and each obtain a declaration from the Embassy of Canada. Please consider that fees will, therefore, also be doubled.

Fees

Fees are payable for each declaration and for each affidavit, if sworn at the Embassy; they are non-refundable. For more information, please see Fees and Method of Payment.

Where do I submit the application?

By mail or courier:

Embassy of Canada
Consular Affairs (LN)
Via Zara, 30
00198 Rome
Italy

In person: same address as above, by appointment, Monday to Friday from 9 a.m. to noon

What to Do After Obtaining the Declaration

  1. Present the declaration to the competent "Prefettura - Ufficio Legalizzazioni" (provincial authority) to be formally authenticated. Please refer to the list of all "Prefetture" in Italy.
     
  2. After it has been authenticated, you must present it to the Marriage Office of the Municipality in Italy. Banns are waived if neither party is Italian nor residing in Italy.
     
  3. The Municipal authorities will request the couple to return (usually in 2 or 3 days) with 2 witnesses PLUS an interpreter (if one or both parties are not familiar with the Italian language) to execute a declaration before the "Ufficiale dello Stato Civile" (Registrar of Vital Statistics) of the Municipality. Arrangements are then concluded and a date is scheduled for the civil marriage ceremony. Two witnesses PLUS an interpreter (if necessary) must be present at the civil marriage ceremony.

    Although the Italian authorities usually extend assistance to foreigners wishing to marry in Italy, a date for a civil marriage ceremony is generally NOT scheduled unless the above-mentioned declaration (see point 3) has first been executed by the couple.

    The waiting period (from the date the required documents are presented to the marriage office to the date of the civil marriage ceremony) may vary depending on the season of the year and on the number of requests received by the municipality.

    Some municipalities levy marriage fees for non-residents.

Please note: Until recently, a woman whose previous marriage was terminated within the last 300 days had to obtain a waiver from the competent "Procura della Repubblica" (Court) in Italy in order to marry in Italy. Depending on the locality, this requirement may no longer be applied. You are advised to check with the “Comune” where you wish to marry.

The Embassy of Canada in Rome does not assist with marriage arrangements. If you, or a delegated person, are unable to make the necessary arrangements with the local Municipality, you may wish to contact an agency to assist you. See the list of agencies.

Religious Ceremonies

Roman-Catholic
In the case of a religious marriage ceremony to be performed at a Roman-Catholic Church, you must present the declaration issued by the Embassy, duly legalized by the competent Prefettura, to the Parish priest in Italy, in addition to all documents required by the Church. The Parish priest will arrange for the registration of the religious marriage with the competent Italian Vital Statistics authorities. The marriage must be so registered in order to have civil value in Italy.

Non Roman-Catholic
To our knowledge, marriages performed at non-Roman Catholic houses of worship require a civil ceremony as well. It is suggested that you contact the religious leader as early as possible to obtain appropriate information.

What to Do After the Marriage

Marriages that are legally performed in a foreign country are usually valid in Canada, and you do not need to register them in Canada. If you have questions about the validity of your foreign marriage, contact the Vital Statistics Office of your province or territory.

It is recommended that, before leaving Italy or with the help of the wedding planner if one is present, the newly-married couple obtain from the municipality (Comune) where the marriage was celebrated several copies of a marriage certificate in multilingual format, called Estratto dell’atto di matrimonio in formato plurilingue. For this certificate to be recognized in Canada, the following steps must be undertaken subsequent to its issuance: the signature of the officer must be authenticated by the competent Procura or Prefettura and then sent to the Embassy of Canada in Rome for authentication.

Footer

Date Modified:
2015-03-05

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Italie.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Pour les Canadiens
  4. >
  5. Vivre et voyager en Italie

Mariage


Souhaitez-vous vous marier en Italie?

Selon la loi italienne, CHAQUE ressortissant de nationalité autre qu'italienne souhaitant se marier en Italie est tenu de présenter un Nulla Osta (certificat de non-empêchement) ou un document équivalent.

Le Gouvernement du Canada n'émet point de Nulla Osta. Cependant, afin d'assister les citoyens canadiens à satisfaire les exigences prévues par la loi italienne, l'Ambassade du Canada à Rome prépare une déclaration contenant les informations pertinentes.

La demande pour la déclaration peut être faite par la poste ou en personne, sous rendez-vous. Les délais sont de 5 jours ouvrables dès la réception d’une demande complète.

Obtenir une déclaration (Nulla Osta) de l'Ambassade à Rome

Vous devez d'abord compléter et assermenter un affidavit déclarant qu'il n'existe aucun empêchement à votre mariage. Vous pouvez assermenter l'affidavit au Canada, à l'Ambassade du Canada à Rome ou à un des Consulats, ou encore à un bureau du Gouvernement du Canada à l’étranger.

Ensuite, l’affidavit et tous les documents mentionnés ci-dessous doivent être envoyés ou portés, sous rendez-vous, à l’Ambassade du Canada à Rome.

Chaque citoyen canadien doit compléter et assermenter cet Affidavit de Mariage. L’affidavit peut être assermenté :

Envoyer l’affidavit assermenté à l’Ambassade du Canada à Rome, par la poste ou en personne sous rendez-vous, avec tous les documents suivants:

  1. copie certifiée conforme de son passeport canadien valide
  2. preuve de citoyenneté canadienne :
    • pour les personnes nées au Canada, l’original ou la copie certifiée conforme des deux côtés du certificat de naissance canadien grand format, qui inclut l’information des parents
    • pour les personnes nées à l’extérieur du Canada, l’original ou la copie certifiée conforme des deux côtés du certificat de citoyenneté canadienne
       
  3. l’original ou la copie conforme de la recherche d’enregistrement de mariage émis par le bureau du registraire de l’état civil de chaque Province canadienne et/ou Territoire où il/elle a vécu depuis l’âge de 16 ans ; chaque recherche doit couvrir la période entière durant laquelle vous avez vécu dans cette Province/ce Territoire
  4. l’original ou la copie certifiée conforme du certificat ou du jugement irrévocable de divorce (si divorcé/e)
  5. l’original ou la copie certifiée conforme du certificat de décès du conjoint/e précédent/e (si veuf ou veuve)
  6. l’original ou la copie certifiée conforme du passeport valide du fiancé/e
  7. copie du reçu du paiement des frais consulaires ou le paiement en personne par Visa ou MasterCard
  8. instructions pour la livraison ou le retrait en personne (nous envoyons les documents par lettre recommandée à une adresse étrangère ou italienne sans frais additionnels)

IMPORTANT : Si vous et votre fiancé(e) êtes tous deux canadiens, vous aurez chacun besoin d'assermenter un affidavit et d'obtenir chacun votre propre déclaration. Rappelez-vous que des frais devront alors être payés pour chaque personne.

Droits                                                    

Les droits sont payables pour chaque déclaration et pour chaque affidavit, si assermenté(s) à l'Ambassade de Rome ; ils ne sont pas remboursables. Voir Droits et mode de paiement pour d'autres informations.

Où envoyer la demande

Par la poste ou courrier :

Ambassade du Canada
Affaires consulaires (LN)
Via Zara, 30
00198 Rome
Italie

En personne: à l’adresse ci-dessus, sous rendez-vous, du lundi au vendredi de 9 h à midi.

Quoi faire après avoir obtenu la déclaration

  1. Présentez la déclaration à l'autorité provinciale compétente soit la « Prefettura - Ufficio Legalizzazioni » pour authentification formelle. Voir la liste complète des « Prefetture » en Italie.
     
  2. Une fois authentifiée, vous devez présenter la déclaration au bureau des mariages de la municipalité en Italie. Il y a dispense des bans si aucun des deux époux n'est italien ou ne réside en Italie.
     
  3. Habituellement les autorités municipales demandent aux futurs époux de revenir (deux à trois jours plus tard) avec deux témoins ET un interprète (si les futurs époux ne connaissent pas l'italien) afin d’effectuer une déclaration devant le fonctionnaire de l'état civil (Ufficiale dello Stato Civile) de la municipalité. Les dispositions seront alors prises et une date sera fixée pour la célébration du mariage civil.

    La date de la célébration du mariage civil généralement ne pourra être confirmée que lorsque la déclaration susmentionnée (voir 3) n'a pas été effectuée par le couple.

    La durée de cette procédure (de la présentation des documents au bureau des mariages à la date de la célébration du mariage civil) peut varier selon la période de l'année et le nombre de demandes reçues par la municipalité.

    Certaines municipalités exigent des frais de mariage pour les non-résidents dans la municipalité concernée.

Veuillez noter que, jusqu'à récemment, une femme dont le mariage précédent était dissous depuis moins de 300 jours devait obtenir une dispense de la « Procura della Repubblica » (Cour) italienne compétente pour se marier en Italie. Dépendamment du lieu de célébration, cette loi pourrait ne plus être appliquée. Nous vous avisons de vérifier auprès de la municipalité [Comune] où vous comptez vous marier.

L'Ambassade du Canada à Rome n’aide point avec les arrangements de mariage. Si vous ne connaissez personne en Italie qui puisse s'occuper de tous les arrangements auprès de la municipalité locale, vous pourriez avoir besoin des services d'une agence. Pour votre information, vous trouverez ci-contre une liste d'agences.

Cérémonies religieuses

Catholiques
Dans le cas d'un mariage religieux célébré dans une église catholique, la déclaration de l'Ambassade, dûment légalisée par la préfecture compétente, doit être présentée au curé de la paroisse en Italie, avec les autres documents que le curé aura indiqué. Le curé enregistrera le mariage auprès des autorités italiennes compétentes pour l'état civil. Le mariage aura une valeur civile uniquement que lorsque cet enregistrement aura été effectué.

Non catholiques
A notre connaissance, les cérémonies célébrées dans un lieu de culte autre que catholique doivent être accompagnées d'une cérémonie civile. Nous vous conseillons de contacter l'autorité religieuse appropriée dans les plus brefs délais afin d'obtenir les informations pertinentes.

Quoi faire après la célébration du mariage

Les mariages contractés dans un pays étranger de manière légale sont habituellement valides au Canada, et vous n’avez pas besoin de les inscrire au Canada. Si vous avez des questions concernant la validité d’un mariage contracté à l’étranger, communiquez avec le Bureau du directeur ou du registraire de l’état civil de votre province ou de votre territoire.

Nous suggérons que, avant de quitter l’Italie ou par les biais de leur agence, le cas échéant, les nouveaux mariés obtiennent, de la municipalité où le mariage a lieu, plusieurs copies d’un certificat de mariage en format plurilingue, en italien Estratto dell’atto di matrimonio in formato plurilingue. Pour être utilisé au Canada, ce certificat doit être authentifié, c’est-à-dire : il doit être soumis à la Procura ou Prefettura compétente pour la municipalité, où la signature de l’agent l’ayant émis sera authentifiée. Subséquemment, il doit être soumis à l’Ambassade du Canada à Rome, afin d’authentifier la signature et le sceau de la Procura ou Prefettura.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2017-02-10