Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada


  1. Home

Alice Munro – The Nobel Prize in Literature, 2013

Alice Munro
Alice Munro

"Master of the Contemporary Short Story"

We join Margaret Atwood and millions of other Canadians in celebrating Alice Munro’s success with a hearty "Hooray!"

Munro is one of Canada’s literary giants, known for her short stories which capture the human spirit. She is the first Canadian to win the Nobel Prize for Literature since Saul Bellow in 1976, was awarded the 2009 Man Booker International Prize, and is a three-time winner of the Governor General’s award for fiction, Canada’s highest literary honour.

She said in a statement: "I’m particularly glad that winning this award will please so many Canadians. I’m happy, too, that this will bring more attention to Canadian writing."


Date Modified: