Canada - Bahamas Relations

Canada - Bahamas Relations

Canada and The Bahamas enjoy a constructive and multifaceted relationship, based on a shared Commonwealth history. Canada and The Bahamas also work closely in multilateral forums such as the United Nations and the Organization of American States

The Bahamas benefits from Canadian partnerships to enhance their security through programs such as the Anti-Crime Capacity Building Program, which includes training opportunities for Bahamian law enforcement personnel.

The Bahamas, a member of CARICOM, also benefits from Canada’s Caribbean Regional Development Program – a $600 million, twelve-year program announced in 2007. The three priority areas under which projects are developed include; sustainable economic development, justice sector reform and disaster mitigation. In particular, The Bahamas are included in regional projects to promote Disaster Risk Management and Sustainable Economic Growth.

Trade and Investment

Two-way merchandise trade between Canada and the Bahamas in 2017 totaled $232 million dollars, an increase of 72 percent since 2016, making The Bahamas Canada’s sixth largest trading partner in the Caribbean, but fourth largest in CARICOM. The Bahamas was Canada’s second largest export market in the CARICOM in 2017, after Trinidad and Tobago. Canadian exports, valued at $219 million dollars, rose by almost 81% over 2016 levels. The majority of these exports were:  mineral fuels and oils ($183 million), prepared vegetables, fruits and nuts, furniture and bedding, milling products, pharmaceutical products and machinery.

In 2017, Canada imported merchandise valued at $12.9 million dollars from the Bahamas. The most important products were organic chemicals, fish and seafood, and salt.

Two way trade in services in 2016 was $366 million dollars with Canadian exports of $137 million dollars and imports of $229 million dollars. Canadian service providers, especially in education development and construction services, are making increasing inroads.

People to People Links

Canadian universities and colleges are a destination of choice for many Bahamian students, and partnerships have been formed between the College of The Bahamas and various Canadian institutions. Many Bahamian students have received Government of Canada scholarships since 2007. Information on available scholarships can be found on the Scholarships website.

The Bahamas receives tens of thousands Canadian tourists annually and has a large resident Canadian community. These interactions encourage ongoing positive relations between our two countries.

Official Representation

Canada established diplomatic relations with the Bahamas in 1973 after they achieved independence. The Bahamas is represented in Canada by the High Commission of the Bahamas in Ottawa.

Canada is represented in The Bahamas by the High Commission of Canada in Jamaica. Canadians in the Bahamas can access consular services at the Canadian Honorary Consulate located in Nassau.

November 2018

Relations Canada - Bahamas

Relations Canada - Bahamas

Le Canada et les Bahamas bénéficient d’une relation constructive et multidimensionnelle axée sur leur appartenance au Commonwealth. Les deux pays collaborent aussi étroitement dans les forums multinationaux tels que les Nations Unies et l’Organisation des États américains.

Les partenariats canadiens contribuent à la sécurité des Bahamas grâce, notamment, au  Programme d’aide au renforcement des capacités de lutte contre la criminalité, qui offre des possibilités de formation pour le personnel des forces de l'ordre des Bahamas.

À titre de membre de la CARICOM, les Bahamas bénéficient également du Programme de développement régional des Caraïbes du Canada, annoncé en 2007 et doté de 600 millions de dollars sur douze ans. Les trois secteurs prioritaires visés par les projets sont le développement économique durable, la réforme du secteur judiciaire et l’atténuation des catastrophes. En particulier, les Bahamas sont incluses dans les projets régionaux de promotion de la gestion du risque de catastrophes et de la croissance économique durable.

Commerce et investissements              

Dans le cadre de leur relation commerciale, le Canada et les Bahamas ont effectué des échanges commerciaux bilatéraux qui totalisaient 232 millions de dollars en 2017, représentant une hausse de 72 pour cent par rapport à 2016, ce qui fait des Bahamas le sixième partenaire commercial du Canada dans les Caraïbes, et le quatrième parmi les membres de la CARICOM. Les Bahamas constituaient le deuxième marché d’exportation le plus important du Canada parmi les membres du CARICOM en 2017, après Trinité-et-Tobago. Les exportations canadiennes s’élevaient à 219 millions de dollars, représentant une hausse de près de 81 pour cent par rapport à 2016. La plupart de ces exportations consistaient d’huiles et de carburants minéraux (183 millions de dollars), de légumes préparés, de fruits et de noix, de meubles et de literie, de produits de meunerie, de produits pharmaceutiques et de machinerie.

En 2017, le Canada importait pour environ 12,9 millions de dollars de marchandises des Bahamas. Ces importations étaient dominées par les produits chimiques organiques, le sel, le poisson,  les produits de la mer et le sel.

Le commerce bilatéral des services s’établissait en 2016 (la plus récente année pour laquelle ces données sont disponibles) à 366 millions de dollars, soit 137 millions de dollars en exportations du Canada et 229 millions de dollars en importations. Les fournisseurs de services canadiens, en particulier dans le secteur de l’éducation et de la construction, connaissent une importante progression.

Liens interpersonnels

Les universités et collèges canadiens sont une destination de choix pour bon nombre d’étudiants des Bahamas, et des partenariats ont été établis entre le Collège des Bahamas et plusieurs institutions canadiennes. Plusieurs étudiants bahamiens ont bénéficié de bourses d’études du gouvernement du Canada depuis 2007. Davantage de renseignements sur les bourses offertes sont disponibles sur le site des Bourses.

Les Bahamas reçoivent des dizaines de milliers de touristes canadiens par année et accueillent une importante communauté de résidents canadiens. Ces interactions encouragent le maintien de relations positives entre nos deux pays.

Représentation officielle

Le Canada a établi des relations diplomatiques avec les Bahamas en 1973, peu après leur indépendance. Les Bahamas sont représentées au Canada par le Haut-commissariat des Bahamas à Ottawa.

Le Canada est représenté aux Bahamas par le Haut-commissariat du Canada en Jamaïque. Les Canadiens aux Bahamas peuvent obtenir des services consulaires au Consulat honoraire canadien de Nassau.

May 2018