Canada - Jamaica Relations

Canada - Jamaica Relations

Canada and Jamaica’s bilateral relationship is close and wide-ranging. With the largest population in the Caribbean, Jamaica is a longstanding and key partner for Canada. Canada is actively engaged with Jamaica on a broad range of issues including; security and defence cooperation, trade and investment links, and development. Canada and Jamaica cooperate within the Commonwealth, the United Nations and the Organization of American States.

Canada is a key international partner for Jamaica in its efforts to fight crime and violence. Jamaica has benefited from Canadian support through the Anti-Crime Capacity Building Program and the Counter-Terrorism Capacity Building Program (CTCBP). Assistance has been provided for training in areas such as polygraph operations, cyber-security, maritime border security, and anti-money laundering techniques.

Jamaica, along with the other CARICOM countries, is a recipient of development assistance through the $600 million, twelve-year Caribbean Regional Development Program announced in 2007. There are three main pillars addressed under this program: sustainable economic development, justice sector reform and disaster mitigation.

Trade and Investment                   

Canada and Jamaica have a longstanding and mutually beneficial trade and investment relationship and there continues to be room to grow. In 2017, Jamaica was Canada's third largest bilateral merchandise market among the CARICOM countries. Canada is a critical player in Jamaica’s financial sector.

Canada's exports to Jamaica in 2017 totaled $123 million and consisted mostly of pharmaceutical products, fish, and machinery and mechanical appliances.

Canadian imports from Jamaica in 2017 stood at $168 million and consisted mostly of chemical products and food products.

Military Cooperation

Over many years Canada has assisted Jamaica in the construction and development of the Jamaican Military Aviation School and other training centers which have become regional hubs for countries throughout the Caribbean. Canada and Jamaica regularly engage in military exercises that provide essential training opportunities for both forces.

People to People Links

Canadians and Jamaicans are working in areas of key importance, including security, human rights and development. There are many links between our two countries including through tourism, volunteer opportunities, commercial ventures and educational exchanges.

Canada and Jamaica have a longstanding history of academic cooperation through a variety of agreements between our education institutions and through scholarship programs. Since 2007, more than 200 Jamaican students have been awarded scholarships by the Government of Canada to study in Canada. Information on available scholarships can be found on the Scholarships website.

There is a large Jamaican community in Canada estimated at 300,000 people, and hundreds of thousands of Canadians visit Jamaica every year. These interactions encourage ongoing positive relations between our two countries.

Seasonal Agricultural Workers Program (SAWP)

Jamaica participates in the Canadian Seasonal Agricultural Workers Program (SAWP). This organized labour mobility program helps thousands of Jamaican workers come to Canada annually to meet the temporary seasonal needs of Canadian agricultural producers.

Official Representation

Jamaica is represented in Canada by the High Commission of Jamaica in Ottawa. Jamaica also has consulates in Toronto, Winnipeg, Edmonton, and Victoria.

Canada is represented in Jamaica by the High Commission of Canada in Kingston.

May 2018

Relations Canada - Jamaïque

Relations Canada - Jamaïque

Les relations bilatérales entre le Canada et la Jamaïque sont étroites et touchent un large éventail d'activités. Comptant la population la plus importante des Caraïbes, la Jamaïque est un partenaire clé et de longue date pour le Canada. Le Canada est activement engagé avec la Jamaïque sur des questions très diverses, telles que la coopération en matière de sécurité et de défense, les liens commerciaux et d’investissement, ainsi que le développement. Les deux pays coopèrent également au sein du Commonwealth, de l’Organisation des Nations Unies et de l’Organisation des États américains.

Le Canada est aussi un partenaire international essentiel de la Jamaïque dans la lutte contre la criminalité et la violence. La Jamaïque a obtenu l’aide du Canada par l’intermédiaire du Programme d’aide au renforcement des capacités de lutte contre la criminalité (le PARCLC) et du Programme d’aide au renforcement des capacités antiterroristes (le PARCA). Le Canada a offert une aide pour la formation dans les domaines tels que le fonctionnement des polygraphes, la cybersécurité, la sécurité aux frontières maritimes et les techniques de lutte contre le blanchiment d’argent.

La Jamaïque, avec les autres pays de la CARICOM, reçoit une aide au développement par l’entremise du Programme de développement régional des Caraïbes annoncé en 2007 et doté de 600 millions de dollars, échelonnés sur douze ans. Le Programme s’articule sur trois grands axes : le développement économique durable, la réforme du secteur judiciaire et l’atténuation des catastrophes.

Commerce et investissements              

Le Canada et la Jamaïque entretiennent des relations commerciales et d’investissement mutuellement avantageuses et de longue date, et ces relations continuent de s’épanouir. En 2017, la Jamaïque était le troisième partenaire du Canada en importance en ce qui concerne les échanges bilatéraux, parmi les pays de la CARICOM. Le Canada est également un acteur essentiel dans le secteur financier de la Jamaïque.

En 2017, les exportations du Canada vers la Jamaïque se chiffraient à 123 millions de dollars et consistaient surtout en produits pharmaceutiques, poisson, machinerie et appareils mécaniques.

Les importations canadiennes de la Jamaïque se chiffraient à 168 millions de dollars en 2017 et consistaient surtout en produits chimiques et alimentaires.

Coopération militaire

Pendant de nombreuses années, le Canada a aidé la Jamaïque à construire et à mettre sur pied l’École de l’armée de l’air jamaïcaine et d’autres centres de formation qui sont devenus des centres d’activités pour tous les pays des Caraïbes. Le Canada et la Jamaïque mènent régulièrement des exercices militaires qui représentent des occasions essentielles de formation pour les deux forces armées.

Liens interpersonnels

Les Canadiens et les Jamaïcains travaillent dans des domaines très importants, tels que la sécurité, les droits de la personne et le développement. De nombreuses relations unissent nos deux pays, que ce soit par le tourisme, le bénévolat, le commerce ou les échanges éducatifs.

Le Canada et la Jamaïque collaborent depuis longtemps dans le domaine universitaire, grâce à une gamme d’ententes entre nos établissements d’enseignement et à des programmes de bourses d’études. Depuis 2007, plus de 200 étudiants jamaïcains ont obtenu des bourses du gouvernement du Canada pour étudier au Canada. Pour de plus amples renseignements concernant les bourses d'études qui sont offertes, consultez le site Web des Bourses.

Il y a une grande communauté jamaïcaine au Canada, estimée à 300 000 personnes, et  des centaines de milliers de Canadiens visitent la Jamaïque chaque année. Ces interactions favorisent des relations positives continues entre nos deux pays. 

Programme des travailleurs agricoles saisonniers (PTAS)

La Jamaïque participe au Programme des travailleurs agricoles saisonniers (PTAS). Ce programme de mobilité de la main-d’œuvre organisée aide  des milliers de travailleurs de la Jamaïque à venir au Canada chaque année pour répondre aux besoins temporaires saisonniers des producteurs agricoles canadiens.

Représentation officielle

La Jamaïque est représentée au Canada par le Haut-commissariat de la Jamaïque à Ottawa. Elle a également des consulats à Toronto, à Winnipeg, à Edmonton et à Victoria.

Le Canada est représenté en Jamaïque par le Haut-commissariat du Canada à Kingston.

Mai 2018