Message from the High Commissioner

Welcome to the website of the High Commission of Canada in Jamaica. It is an honour for me to represent Canada in Jamaica. Our two countries have built a productive bilateral relationship and Jamaica is a key partner for Canada in the Caribbean

The staff at the High Commission in Kingston work to deliver a wide range of programs, including consular services, political and economic relations, trade and investment, international education, development cooperation, security cooperation and immigration processing. Through our Consulate offices in Montego Bay (Jamaica), in Nassau (Bahamas), and in Grand Cayman (Cayman Islands), we also offer emergency services to the large number of Canadians living in or vacationing in the region.

Canada has identified the Americas, including the Caribbean, as a foreign policy priority, and through our engagement in the region we work to increase mutual economic opportunity, address insecurity and strengthen institutions, and foster lasting relationships with our partners in the Americas. Canada’s long standing engagement with Jamaica, including with government, civil society, business and academic partners, supports our commitment to these objectives.

Because we share a common language and similar systems of government, geographical proximity, and a Commonwealth heritage, Canada and Jamaica enjoy a solid and deep-rooted friendship. We are like-minded partners on many issues, including governance, security and cooperation in international fora. But the presence of extensive diaspora communities in Canada and the large number of tourists, traders, investors and family members who travel back and forth is the glue that binds us together.

I invite you to explore this website to learn more about Canada’s bilateral relationships with Jamaica, The Bahamas, the Turks and Caicos Islands and the Cayman Islands.

If you are a Canadian resident or citizen visiting, working or living in any of these territories, please take a moment to register online at the Registration of Canadians Abroad webpage, or come by the High Commission of Canada in Kingston, or any of our Consulate Offices in person, so we have your coordinates should we need to assist you in the case of a natural disaster or emergency situation.

I also invite you to follow me on Twitter @peters_lj.

Welcome!

Laurie Peters
High Commissioner


Biography - High Commissioner Laurie Peters

Laurie Peters (BA [English Literature and French], Trent University, 1985) joined Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada in 2011 as counsellor and head of public affairs at the Embassy of Canada to Japan, a position she held until 2015. During this time, she also served as a senior trade commissioner overseeing the international education and culture industry portfolios. In her most recent work as executive director, public affairs, Ms. Peters has led the international dimension of Canada’s 150th anniversary of Confederation for Global Affairs Canada. In this capacity, she established a team to advance a revitalized public diplomacy program and a strengthened global brand for Canada. Before joining the department, Ms. Peters was the director of public affairs for Aga Khan Foundation Canada. She also worked with Canadian Heritage as the director of communications and public affairs for the Canada Pavilion at the 2005 World Exposition in Aichi, Japan. She spent most of her early career in various management roles at the National Capital Commission, including as director and chief spokesperson for strategic communications.

Message du haut-commissaire

Bienvenue au site Web du Haut-commissariat du Canada en Jamaïque. Je suis honoré de représenter le Canada en Jamaïque. Nos deux pays ont développé une relation bilatérale productive et la Jamaïque est un partenaire clé pour le Canada dans les Caraïbes.

Le personnel du haut-commissariat à Kingston assure la prestation d’une large gamme de programmes, notamment des services consulaires, des relations politiques et économiques, des programmes dans le domaine du commerce et des investissements, de l’éducation internationale, de la coopération au développement, de la coopération en matière de sécurité et du traitement de l’immigration. Grâce à nos consulats à Montego Bay (Jamaïque), à Nassau (Bahamas) et à Grand Caïman (îles Caïmans), nous offrons également des services d’urgence à un grand nombre de Canadiens résidant ou en vacances dans ces régions.

Le Canada a hissé la région des Amériques, y compris les Caraïbes, au rang de priorité de la politique étrangère, et grâce à notre engagement dans la région, nous travaillons à accroître les possibilités économiques mutuelles, combattre l’insécurité et renforcer les institutions et favoriser des relations durables avec nos partenaires dans les Amériques. L’engagement de longue date du Canada avec la Jamaïque, notamment avec le gouvernement, la société civile, les partenaires commerciaux et universitaires, soutient notre mandat à atteindre ces objectifs.

Parce que nous partageons une langue commune et des systèmes de gouvernance semblables, une proximité géographique et un legs commun du Commonwealth, le Canada et la Jamaïque partagent de solides et profonds liens d’amitié. Nous sommes animés du même esprit en tant que partenaires sur de nombreuses questions, notamment la gouvernance, la sécurité et la coopération au sein des instances internationales. La présence de communautés importantes de la diaspora au Canada et le nombre considérable de touristes, des commerçants, des investisseurs et des membres de la famille qui font des allers-retours constituent le ciment qui nous lie les uns aux autres.

Je vous invite à consulter ce site Web pour en apprendre davantage sur les relations bilatérales entre le Canada et la Jamaïque, les Bahamas, les îles Turks et Caicos et les îles Caïmans

Si vous êtes un résident ou un citoyen canadien visitant l’un de ces territoires, y travaillant ou y résidant, veuillez prendre un moment pour vous inscrire en ligne sur la page Web Inscriptions des Canadiens à l’étranger, ou en vous rendant au haut-commissariat du Canada à Kingston, ou à tout autre consulat en personne, afin que nous ayons vos coordonnées s’il nous faut vous offrir une assistance en cas de catastrophe naturelle ou de situation d’urgence.

Je vous invite aussi à me suivre su Twitter @peters_lj.

Bienvenue!

Mme Laurie Peters
Haut-commissaire


Biographie - Haut-commissaire Mme Laurie Peters

Mme Laurie Peters (B.A. [littérature anglaise et français], Université Trent, 1985) s’est jointe à Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada en 2011 à titre de conseillère et chef des Affaires publiques à l’ambassade du Canada au Japon, poste qu’elle a occupé jusqu’en 2015. Au cours de cette période, elle a également assumé le rôle de déléguée commerciale principale chargée des portefeuilles de l’éducation internationale et de la culture. Dans le cadre du plus récent poste qu’elle a occupé, à titre de directrice générale du Secteur des affaires publiques, Mme Peters a dirigé la dimension internationale du 150e anniversaire de la Confédération du Canada pour Affaires mondiales Canada. À ce titre, elle a mis sur pied une équipe pour faire progresser la revitalisation du Programme de diplomatie ouverte et le renforcement de l’image de marque mondiale du Canada. Avant de se joindre au Ministère, Mme Peters a été directrice des Affaires publiques de la Fondation Aga Khan Canada. Elle a également travaillé à Patrimoine canadien en tant que directrice des Communications et des affaires publiques pour le pavillon du Canada dans le cadre de l’exposition universelle de 2005 à Aichi, au Japon. Elle a passé la plus grande partie du début de sa carrière à la Commission de la capitale nationale où elle a assumé diverses fonctions en gestion, notamment en tant que directrice et porte-parole principale des Communications stratégiques.