Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

japan.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Our Offices
  4. >
  5. Prince Takamado Gallery

Bend

December 12, 2019 – April 3, 2020

Embassy of Canada Prince Takamado Gallery

November 15, 2019

Exhibition announcement

The Embassy of Canada is pleased to present a contemporary art exhibition which brings together five artists whose work embraces varying media and conceptual interests but demonstrates shared influences from studying Ikebana (Japanese flower arranging). These flower based practices engage environmental awareness around season, change, time and sustainability. Elisabeth Belliveau, Jon Sasaki, Celia Perrin Sidarous, Ewelina Skowronska and Justin Waddell use found, repurposed, and recycled objects and materials in their work. All the artists create works in relation to environments both natural and urban - exploring objects, plants and adaptation. Discourse surrounding socio-economics, resourcefulness, and the history of still-life and objects in art is highlighted throughout the exhibition. 

Curator : Michelle Deanne Schultz

Elisabeth Belliveau is Acadian-Canadian and has attended residencies in Japan at Tokyo Wonder Site, Youkobo Art Projects Tokyo and Studio Kura Itoshima. Her studies at the Ohara School of Ikebana in Tokyo continue to influence her stop-motion animation and sculpture practice. Her work currently explores digital still life and the Anthropocene.

Jon Sasaki is a Japanese-Canadian multi-disciplinary artist based in Toronto, who has travelled and created work in Japan. His work often repurposes objects, explores humour, resourcefulness and adaptation.

Celia Perrin Sidarous is a Canadian artist of Egyptian descent based in Montréal. She engages the genre of still life using archaeological images, as well as collected found objects and images arranged before the camera. Her work explores representations of place, history and memory through photography, film, and ceramics. Her spatial, compositional practice addresses deep time in a non-linear manner.

Ewelina Skowronska was born in Poland and is currently based in Tokyo. Her work addresses feminism and representations of women's bodies often incorporating forms and compositions derived from Ikebana and flowers. Ewelina studied Ikebana at the Ohara School of Ikebana and attended artist residencies for printmaking and ceramics this year in Edmonton, Banff, San Francisco and New York. 

Justin Waddell is a third generation Japanese-Canadian artist. He is currently researching the history of the Nikkei Internment in Canada during WWII. His work employs Ikebana influenced techniques - through shibori (a Japanese dying technique) textiles, jewelry, ceramics, and photography. 

Details

Date: December 12, 2019 – April 3, 2020

  • Weekdays 10:00 a.m. - 5:30 p.m.
  • Closed on weekends, December 24 – January 3 and Embassy holidays

Place: Embassy of Canada Prince Takamado Gallery
(7-3-38 Akasaka, Minato-ku, Tokyo)

Admission: Free

Contact:
Embassy of Canada, Public Affairs Section
Tel: 03-5412-6310
E-mail: TOKYO.CC@international.gc.ca

Media contact: Tel: 03-5412-6444

Follow us on Twitter @CanEmbJapan

N.B.:  Visitor access to the Embassy of Canada requires government-issued photo identification.

Note that for security, bags will be checked. 

Footer

Date Modified:
2019-11-19

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

japon.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Nos bureaux
  4. >
  5. Galerie Prince Takamado

Courber

Du 12 décembre 2019 au 3 avril 2020

Galerie Prince Takamado de l’Ambassade du Canada

Le 15 novembre 2019

Annonce d’exposition

L’Ambassade du Canada est heureuse de présenter une exposition d’art contemporain regroupant cinq artistes dont les œuvres couvrent divers médias et intérêts conceptuels, mais témoignent d’influences communes découlant de l’étude de l’ikebana (l’art de l’arrangement floral japonais). Ces pratiques fondées sur l’utilisation des fleurs procèdent d’une conscience environnementale s’articulant autour des saisons, du changement, du temps et de la durabilité. Élisabeth Belliveau, Jon Sasaki, Celia Perrin Sidarous, Ewelina Skowronska et Justin Waddell utilisent des objets et des matériaux trouvés, réaffectés et recyclés dans leurs œuvres. Tous les artistes créent des œuvres en relation aux environnements naturels et urbains - explorant les objets, les plantes et l’adaptation. Le discours entourant la socio-économie, l’ingéniosité et l’histoire des natures mortes et des objets d’art est mis en évidence tout au long de l’exposition.

Commissaire: Michelle Deanne Schultz

Élisabeth Belliveau est une Acadienne-Canadienne qui a effectué des résidences au Japon à Tokyo Wonder Site, Youkobo Art Projects Tokyo et Studio Kura Itoshima. Ses études à l’école d’ikebana Ohara à Tokyo continuent d’influencer sa pratique de l’animation en volume et de la sculpture. Elle explore présentement les natures mortes numériques et l’Anthropocène.

Jon Sasaki est un artiste multidisciplinaire canadien d’origine japonaise basé à Toronto qui a voyagé et créé des œuvres au Japon. Ses œuvres réaffectent souvent des objets, et explorent l’humour, l’ingéniosité et l’adaptation.

Celia Perrin Sidarous est une artiste canadienne d’origine égyptienne basée à Montréal. Elle aborde le genre de la nature morte en utilisant des images archéologiques, ainsi que des objets trouvés et des images disposés devant la caméra. Son œuvre explore les représentations du lieu, de l’histoire et de la mémoire à travers la photographie, le film et la céramique. Sa pratique spatiale et compositionnelle aborde le temps profond de manière non linéaire.

Ewelina Skowronska est née en Pologne et est présentement basée à Tokyo. Son œuvre aborde le féminisme et les représentations du corps des femmes en incorporant souvent des formes et des compositions dérivées de l’ikebana et des fleurs. Ewelina a étudié l’ikebana à l’école Ohara et effectué des résidences d’artistes en gravure et céramique à Edmonton, Banff, San Francisco et New York cette année.  

Justin Waddell est un artiste canadien d’origine japonaise de troisième génération. Il mène présentement des recherches sur l’histoire de l’internement des Canadiens d’origine japonaise au Canada pendant la Seconde guerre mondiale. Son œuvre utilise des techniques influencées par l’ikebana - à travers le shibori (une technique japonaise de teinture), les textiles, les bijoux, la céramique et la photographie.

Détails

Date: Du 12 décembre 2019 au 3 avril 2020

  • Jours de semaine, 10h00-17h30
  • Fermée les fins de semaine, du 24 décembre au 3 janvier et les jours fériés de l’Ambassade.

Lieu: Galerie Prince Takamado de l’Ambassade du Canada
(7-3-38 Akasaka, Minato-ku, Tokyo)

Entrée: Gratuite

Contact:

Section des affaires publiques de l’Ambassade du Canada

Tél.: 03-5412-6310

Courriel : TOKYO.CC@international.gc.ca

Contact avec les médias: Tél.: 03-5412-6444

Suivez-nous sur Twitter @AmbCanJapon

N.B.: Les visiteurs doivent avoir une pièce d’identité avec une photo émise par un gouvernement pour avoir accès à l’Ambassade du Canada.

Veuillez noter que les sacs seront fouillés par mesure de sécurité.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2019-11-19