Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

japan.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home

Embassy of Canada appoints Alessia Cara, new Canadian music star,as Study in Canada Good will Ambassador for 2018 

Press release
October 26, 2018

In 2018 and 2019, Canada and Japan will be celebrating their 90th anniversary of diplomatic relations. In commemoration, the Embassy of Canada to Japan has appointed popular young singing star Alessia Cara as Study in Canada Goodwill Ambassador for 2018.

Alessia Cara, 22, is from the province of Ontario. Like fellow Canadian Justin Bieber, she became a star after posting music videos on the internet. Her debut album quickly jumped to the top five on U.S. music charts. Alessia already has an impressive list of accomplishments as a singer-songwriter with “Stay” (a collaboration with Zedd) now a megahit played seven billion times worldwide and her rendition of “How Far I’ll Go” used as the closing theme in Disney’s Moana. She received the 2018 Grammy Award for Best New Artist and is seen as a rising star by people around the world. Alessia has been appointed “Study in Canada Goodwill Ambassador” to deliver a message to Japanese youth who, by studying in Canada, likewise aspire to be players on the world stage. The appointment was recently confirmed with a certificate from the Embassy in Tokyo, and she has recorded an encouraging video message to Japanese youth in which she says:

I grew up in a school that taught me not only different languages like English and French, which are the two official languages, but I learned about different religions and different cultures, and I was opened up to so many different kinds of people, which I think is really great. I think it would be great if you studied there.

The video (a little under one minute in length) will be presented for the first time at the Embassy of Canada’s EduCanada Fair on November 2 and 3 in Tokyo. It will be shown later at other education events and seminars sponsored by the Embassy. 


For Reference

Past Study in Canada Goodwill Ambassadors

  • 2010 (80th Anniversary of Canada-Japan Relations) Nikki Yanofsky, jazz singer
  • 2018 (150th Anniversary of Canada’s Confederation) Shawn Mendes, singer-songwriter

About Study in Canada

  • Study in Canada takes many different forms—study at junior high and high schools, colleges, universities, language schools and other places. It is said that about 8,000 Japanese people per year obtain study permits to study in Canada for over 6 months. That figure does not include the vast majority who study for less than 6 months. Statistics from Languages Canada indicate that over 20,000 Japanese are in Canada studying the country’s official languages, English and French. www.languagescanada.ca/en/blog/blog/Sondage%20annuel%20de%20Langues%20Canada%202017

EduCanada Fairs  

  • The Embassy of Canada sponsors EduCanada Fairs every spring and fall, at which visitors can speak directly about study in Canada with representatives from between 70 and 85 educational institutions. The fairs in Tokyo attract between 1500 and 2000 visitors who come to find the right school for their purpose whether it be elementary, junior high, high school, summer program, language school, college, university, or something else.

EduCanada Fair Fall 2018
http://www.canada-ryugaku-fair.com/ 

  • Elementary, junior high, high school / language school / college / university / IEC-Working Holiday
     
  • Tokyo – Embassy of Canada (5 minutes’ walk from “Aoyama 1 Chome” Station on the Ginza, Hanzomon, or Toei Oedo subway lines)
    Friday, November 2, 5:00 – 7:00 p.m. 
    Saturday, November 3, 11:00 a.m.– 5:00 p.m.
    Please note: You must present photo I.D. to enter the Embassy of Canada.
     
  • Osaka – Umeda Center Building—16th floor   (6 minutes’ walk from Hankyu “Umeda” Station or 7 minutes’ walk from “Umeda” or “Higashi Umeda” subway stations)
    Sunday, November 4, 11:00 a.m.– 5:00 p.m.

Questions? : Tokyo.Education@international.gc.ca

Footer

Date Modified:
2018-11-06

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

japon.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil

L’Ambassade du Canada nomme Alessia Cara, nouvelle star de la musique canadienne, à titre d’ambassadrice de bonne volonté pour les études au Canada pour 2018

Communiqué de presse
26 octobre 2018

En 2018 et 2019, le Canada et le Japon célébreront leur 90e anniversaire de relations diplomatiques. En guise de commémoration, l’Ambassade du Canada au Japon a nommé Alessia Cara, jeune star de la chanson, ambassadrice de bonne volonté pour les études au Canada pour 2018.

Âgée de 22 ans, Alessia Cara est originaire de l’Ontario. À l’instar de son compatriote canadien Justin Bieber, elle est devenue une vedette après avoir mis des vidéoclips en ligne sur Internet. Son premier album s’est rapidement hissé dans le top cinq des palmarès américains. Alessia compte déjà une liste impressionnante de faits d’armes en tant qu'auteure-compositrice-interprète, dont « Stay » (une collaboration avec Zedd), qui est maintenant un méga-succès joué sept milliards de fois à travers le monde, et son interprétation de « How Far I’ll Go », thème final de Moana, un long-métrage d’animation de Disney. Elle a reçu le Grammy de la meilleure nouvelle artiste pour 2018 et est considérée comme une étoile montante par le public partout dans le monde. Alessia a été nommée « ambassadrice de bonne volonté pour les études au Canada » pour transmettre un message aux jeunes Japonais qui, en étudiant au Canada, aspirent également à jouer un rôle sur la scène mondiale. Sa nomination a récemment été confirmée par un certificat de l’Ambassade du Canada à Tokyo et elle a d’ailleurs enregistré un message vidéo d’encouragement à l’intention des jeunes Japonais dans lequel elle a déclaré que:

J'ai grandi en fréquentant une école où j’ai non seulement appris différentes langues comme l'anglais et le français, les deux langues officielles du Canada, mais où je me suis également familiarisée avec différentes religions et cultures, et où j’ai pu m’ouvrir à tant de différents types de personnes, ce qui est génial à mon avis. Je pense que ce serait formidable si vous pouviez aller là-bas pour y étudier.

La vidéo (d’un peu moins d’une minute) sera présentée pour la première fois au salon ÉduCanada de l’Ambassade du Canada les 2 et 3 novembre à Tokyo. Elle sera de nouveau projetée lors d’autres événements et séminaires liés à l’éducation parrainés par l’Ambassade qui auront lieu par la suite.


À titre de référence

Anciens ambassadeurs de bonne entente pour les études au Canada

  • 2010 (80e anniversaire des relations Canada-Japon) Nikki Yanofsky, chanteuse de jazz
  • 2018 (150e anniversaire de la Confédération canadienne) Shawn Mendes, chanteur-compositeur

À propos des études au Canada

  • Les études au Canada peuvent prendre plusieurs formes différentes—on peut étudier dans des écoles secondaires de 1er cycle et 2e cycle, des collèges, des universités, des écoles de langue et d’autres établissements. On estime qu’environ 8,000 Japonais obtiennent des permis d’études chaque année pour se rendre au Canada pour y étudier pendant plus de 6 mois. Ce nombre n’inclut pas la vaste majorité des Japonais qui effectuent des séjours d’études de moins de 6 mois. Les statistiques de Langues Canada indiquent que plus de 20,000 Japonais sont au Canada pour y étudier les deux langues officielles du pays, l’anglais et le français. www.languagescanada.ca/en/blog/blog/Sondage%20annuel%20de%20Langues%20Canada%202017  

Salons ÉduCanada

  • Chaque printemps et chaque automne, l’Ambassade du Canada parraine des salons ÉduCanada au cours desquels les visiteurs peuvent discuter des études au Canada directement avec des représentants de 70 à 85 établissements d’enseignement. Les salons de Tokyo attirent entre 1500 et 2000 visiteurs à la recherche de la bonne école pour atteindre leurs objectifs, qu’il s'agisse d’une école élémentaire, d’une école secondaire de premier cycle, d’une école secondaire de second cycle, d’un programme d’été, d’une école de langues, d’un collège, d’une université ou d’autres établissements.

Salon ÉduCanada de l’automne 2018
http://www.canada-ryugaku-fair.com/

  • École primaire, école secondaire de premier cycle, école secondaire de second cycle / école de langue / collège / université / EIC – vacances-travai
     
  • Tokyo – Ambassade du Canada (5 minutes à pied de la station de métro « Aoyama 1 Chome » sur les lignes de métro Ginza, Hanzomon ou Toei Oedo)
    Vendredi le 2 novembre de 17h à 19h
    Samedi 3 novembre de 11h à 17h
    Veuillez noter que vous devez présenter une pièce d’identité avec photo pour entrer à l’Ambassade du Canada.
     
  • Osaka – Umeda Center Building—16e étage (6 minutes à pied de la station de métro Hankyu «Umeda» ou 7 minutes à pied des stations de métro «Umeda» ou «Higashi Umeda»)
    Dimanche le 4 novembre de 11h00 à 17h00

Des questions? : Tokyo.Education@international.gc.ca

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2018-11-06