Canada - Kazakhstan relations

Canada established diplomatic relations with Kazakhstan in 1992. Kazakhstan is represented in Canada by the Embassy of Kazakhstan in Ottawa. Canada is represented in Kazakhstan by the Embassy of Canada to Kazakhstan in Nur-Sultan. Immigration and visa applications by Kazakh citizens are processed by the Canadian embassies in Warsaw and Moscow. 

Canada and Kazakhstan enjoy strong bilateral relations that continue to deepen. Kazakhstan is an important regional player and a strong partner for Canada in many multilateral forums and international organizations, including the UN, the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe, International Monetary Fund, World Bank and World Trade Organization. 

Canada is a strong supporter of Kazakhstan’s 100 Concrete Steps Initiative, and Canada regularly shares its models and experience in a variety of sectors, including public-sector reform, immigration policy and economic reform. Kazakhstan’s “one stop shop” for clients seeking any government permits and or registration is based on Canadian systems architecture. Canada is also committed to supporting the development of Kazakhstan’s vocational and technical education system, and Canadian post-secondary institutions are recruiting students in Kazakhstan, providing an opportunity for Kazakh students to study in Canada. 

The Canadian Embassy to Kazakhstan, in Nur-Sultan, manages the Canadian Fund for Local Initiatives program, through which funding assistance is provided to local NGOs active in Kazakhstan. The embassy also promotes bilateral relations through a variety of other avenues. For instance, on February 28th, 2019 the embassy hosted the 2019 Advancing Women in Business Initiative which gathered more than 250 leading business women, senior government officials, NGOs and diplomatic representatives to discuss two key themes: the importance of having women in positons of leadership, and the importance of mentorship as a way of supporting future leaders. 

Trade and investment

Kazakhstan is Canada’s largest commercial partner in Central Asia. In Canada’s Global Markets Action Plan, Kazakhstan is designated as a priority emerging market with a range of opportunities for Canadian companies. 

Kazakhstan has 15% of the world’s uranium resources and in 2009, replaced Canada as the top uranium producer. With 3.2% of the world’s petroleum reserves, Kazakhstan is also a growing player in energy security and is asserting itself as a key alternative source of supply to EU and East Asian markets. Canadian companies represent a significant group of investors in Kazakhstan, mostly in the extractive industries. Agriculture continues to be an important sector for Canada–Kazakhstan bilateral relations, with particular focus on agricultural machinery and cattle. Increasingly, Canadian companies are providing valued guidance on farm management and along all points of the agricultural value chain. 

In 2019, Canadian bilateral merchandise trade with Kazakhstan was $614 million, up from $524 million in 2018. Canadian exports were $159 million, consisting mainly of nuclear reactors, boilers, and machinery, and aerospace products. Canadian imports were $455 million, consisting mainly of inorganic chemicals and organic or inorganic compounds. Canadian companies represent a significant group of investors in Kazakhstan, mostly in the extractive industries. Canadian foreign direct investment in Kazakhstan stood at $2.7 billion in 2018, up from $1.4 billion in 2017. 

In October 2015, the Canada Eurasia Russia Business Association (CERBA) announced the launch of the Kazakhstan-Canada Business Council (KCBC). The Council is co-chaired by the CEO of Cameco, and the head of Kazatomprom. CERBA and the Chamber of International Commerce of Kazakhstan serve as Secretariat. The goal of the Council is to contribute to the further growth of bilateral economic relations. 

Related information

Relations Canada - Kazakhstan

Le Canada a établi des relations diplomatiques avec le Kazakhstan en 1992. Le Kazakhstan est représenté au Canada par une ambassade à Ottawa. Au Kazakhstan, le Canada est représenté par une ambassade à Nur-Sultan. Les demandes d’immigration et de visa présentées par les citoyens du Kazakhstan sont traitées par les ambassades du Canada à Varsovie et à Moscou. 

Le Canada et le Kazakhstan entretiennent de solides relations bilatérales, qui continuent de se renforcer. Le Kazakhstan est un acteur régional important, en plus d’être un solide partenaire du Canada dans de nombreux forums multilatéraux et organisations internationales, notamment au sein de l’ONU, de l’Organisation pour la sécurité et la coopération en Europe, du Fonds monétaire international, de la Banque mondiale et de l’Organisation mondiale du commerce.

Le Canada appuie pleinement l’initiative des 100 mesures concrètes menée par le Kazakhstan et partage régulièrement avec ce dernier ses modèles et son expérience dans divers secteurs, notamment les réformes du secteur public, les politiques en matière d’immigration et les réformes économiques. Le "guichet unique" du Kazakhstan pour les clients cherchant à obtenir un permis ou un enregistrement du gouvernement est basé sur l'architecture des systèmes canadiens. Le Canada est en outre déterminé à appuyer le système de formation technique et professionnelle au Kazakhstan, et les établissements postsecondaires canadiens recrutent des étudiants du Kazakhstan afin de leur donner l’occasion de poursuivre des études au Canada. 

L’ambassade du Canada au Kazakhstan, à Nur-Sultan, gère le Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales, qui fournit une aide financière aux organisations non gouvernementales locales menant des activités au Kazakhstan. Par exemple, le 28 février 2019, l'ambassade a accueilli l’évènement « 2019 Advancing Women in Business Initiative » qui a réuni plus de 250 femmes d'affaires de premier plan, des hauts fonctionnaires, des ONG et des représentants diplomatiques pour discuter deux thèmes clés : l'importance d'avoir des femmes aux postes de direction, et l'importance du mentorat comme moyen de soutenir les futurs dirigeants. 

Commerce et investissements 

Le Kazakhstan est le plus important partenaire commercial du Canada en Asie centrale. Dans son Plan d’action sur les marchés mondiaux, le Canada a d’ailleurs désigné le Kazakhstan comme marché émergent prioritaire offrant une vaste gamme de débouchés aux entreprises canadiennes.

Le Kazakhstan possède 15 % des ressources mondiales d’uranium ; en 2009, il a détrôné le Canada en tant que principal producteur d’uranium. Détenant 3,2 % des réserves mondiales de pétrole, le Kazakhstan est également un acteur important en ce qui concerne la sécurité énergétique, et il s’affirme comme une source d’approvisionnement alternative importante pour les marchés de l’Union européenne et de l’Asie orientale. Les entreprises canadiennes représentent un groupe important d'investisseurs au Kazakhstan, principalement dans les industries extractives. Cameco Corporation, basée à Saskatoon, est le plus grand investisseur canadien au Kazakhstan en raison de sa participation au projet de mine d'uranium d'Inkai. 

L’agriculture continue d’être un secteur important pour les relations entre les deux pays, particulièrement en ce qui a trait à la machinerie agricole et aux bovins. Les entreprises canadiennes fournissent de plus en plus de précieux conseils sur la gestion agricole, de même que sur les différentes étapes de la chaîne de valeur du secteur agricole.

En 2019, le commerce bilatéral de marchandises entre le Canada et le Kazakhstan s'élevait à 614 millions de dollars, contre 524 millions en 2018. Les exportations canadiennes s'élevaient à 159 dollars, principalement constituées de réacteurs nucléaires, de fer ou d'acier, d'équipements agricoles et de machines pour le pétrole et le gaz. Les importations canadiennes se sont élevées à 455 millions de dollars, principalement constituées de pétrole brut.  

En octobre 2015, l'Association d'affaires Canada Eurasie Russie (CERBA) a annoncé le lancement du Conseil d'affaires Kazakhstan-Canada (KCBC). Le Conseil est coprésidé par le Cameco et Kazatomprom. CERBA et la Chambre de commerce internationale du Kazakhstan en assurent le secrétariat. L'objectif du Conseil est de contribuer à la poursuite de la croissance des relations économiques bilatérales. 

Renseignements connexes 

Fiche d’information Canada - Kazakhstan