Canada - Kyrgyz Republic Relations

Canada established diplomatic relations with the Kyrgyz Republic (also known as Kyrgyzstan) in 1992. Canada is represented in the republic by its embassy in Astana, Kazakhstan, and maintains an honorary consulate in Bishkek. The Kyrgyz Republic is represented in Canada by its embassy in Washington, D.C., and has an honorary consulate in Montréal, Quebec.

Canada makes regular contributions to multilateral and regional programs in the Kyrgyz Republic, and a part of Canada’s contributions to the Global Fund to Fight AIDS, Tuberculosis and Malaria currently fund programming there. The Canadian government also funds a major health and education program run by the Aga Khan Foundation and aimed at improving basic health outcomes in the country. Canada is a contributor to the UNESCO education monitoring program in the Kyrgyz Republic, as well as to the University of Central Asia, which is based in the republic and has campuses there and in other Central Asian states.

The Canadian embassy in Astana manages the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives, through which funding assistance is provided to local NGOs active in the Kyrgyz Republic.

The Kyrgyz Republic is Canada’s second-largest commercial partner in Central Asia, and Canada’s technical expertise in the extractive sector greatly contributes to the country’s economic development. In 2017, trade between Canada and the republic was valued at $10.51 million, a decrease of 27% from 2016.

Canada’s merchandise exports to the Kyrgyz Republic in 2017 totalled a value of $10.15 million and comprised principally machinery, chemical products, food products and vehicles. Canada imports from the republic totalled a value of roughly $356,000, with the bulk made up of base metal products, telecom equipment, machinery, textiles and dried fruits.

July 2018

Relations Canada - Kirghizie

Le Canada a établi des relations diplomatiques avec la République kirghize (aussi connue comme le Kirghizistan) en 1992. Le Canada est représenté dans la République par une ambassade à Astana, au Kazakhstan, et il maintient un consulat honoraire à Bichkek. La République kirghize est représentée au Canada par son ambassade à Washington, de même que par le biais de son consulat honoraire à Montréal, au Québec.

Le Canada contribue régulièrement à des programmes multilatéraux et régionaux dans la République kirghize, et à l’heure actuelle, une partie des contributions du Canada au Fonds mondial de lutte contre le sida, la tuberculose et le paludisme finance des activités dans le pays. Le gouvernement canadien finance également un important programme de santé et d’éducation exécuté par la Fondation Aga Khan, qui vise l’amélioration des indicateurs fondamentaux en santé dans la République. Le Canada est un contributeur au programme de surveillance de l’éducation de l’UNESCO en République kirghize, ainsi qu’à l’Université de l’Asie centrale, qui est établie dans la République et qui a des campus dans d’autres pays de l’Asie centrale.

L’ambassade du Canada à Astana gère le Fonds canadien pour les initiatives locales, qui appuie financièrement des ONG locales actives dans le pays.

La République kirghize est le deuxième partenaire commercial du Canada en importance en Asie centrale, et l’expertise technique du Canada dans le secteur de l’extraction contribue grandement au développement économique du pays. En 2017, le commerce bilatéral entre le Canada et la République s’est chiffré à 10,51 millions de dollars, une baisse de 27 % par rapport à 2016.

En 2017, les exportations canadiennes de marchandises vers la République kirghize ont totalisé 10,15 millions de dollars; elles ont comporté principalement de la machinerie, des produits chimiques, des produits alimentaires et des véhicules. Pour leur part, les importations canadiennes en provenance de la République se sont élevées à environ 356 000 $, comprenant surtout des produits en métaux communs, de l’équipement de télécommunication, de la machinerie, des produits textiles et des fruits séchés.

Juillet 2018