Canada - Tajikistan relations

Canada and Tajikistan established diplomatic relations in 1992. On March 28, 2022, Canada and Tajikistan will be marking their 30th anniversary of diplomatic relations.

Tajikistan established an embassy in Washington, D.C, in 2003, which also covers Canada although without formal accreditation. The Canadian embassy in Nur-Sultan, Kazakhstan is accredited to Tajikistan.

Tajikistan is a strong partner for Canada in many multilateral forums and international organizations, including the United Nations. Canada stood by Tajikistan with necessary emergency assistance, including in response to the global COVID ‑19 pandemic. The Canadian government is proud to support a major health and education program, implemented by the Aga Khan Foundation, aimed at improving basic health outcomes in the country.

The Canadian Embassy to Kazakhstan, the Kyrgyz Republic and Tajikistan manages the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives , through which funding assistance is provided to local NGOs active in Tajikistan.

Canadian commercial relations with Tajikistan are limited; however, over the last few years, some Canadian companies have been active in Tajikistan—mostly in the mining (gold and silver) and infrastructure sectors. In 2020 , Canada’s merchandise exports (mainly food products and base metal products) to Tajikistan were valued at $3.1 million and imports to Canada from Tajikistan were valued at $ 102,146.

Related information

Relations Canada - Tadjikistan

Le Canada a établi des relations diplomatiques avec le Tadjikistan en 1992. Le 28 mars 2022, le Canada et le Tadjikistan célébreront le 30e anniversaire de leurs relations diplomatiques.

Le Tadjikistan a établi une ambassade à Washington en 2003 qui couvre également le Canada, mais sans accréditation officielle. L’ambassade du Canada à Nur-Sultan, au Kazakhstan, est accréditée auprès du Tadjikistan.

Le Tadjikistan est un solide partenaire du Canada dans de nombreux forums multilatéraux et organisations internationales, y compris les Nations Unies. Le Canada a soutenu le Tadjikistan en lui fournissant l’aide d’urgence nécessaire, notamment en réponse à la pandémie mondiale de COVID‑19. Le gouvernement canadien est fier de soutenir un programme majeur de santé et d’éducation, dirigé par la Fondation Aga Khan, et qui a pour objet d’améliorer les résultats pour la santé de base dans le pays.

L’ambassade du Canada au Kazakhstan, en République kirghize et au Tadjikistan, gère le Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales, par lequel l’aide financière est fournie aux organisations non gouvernementales locales menant des activités au Tadjikistan.

Les relations commerciales entre le Canada et le Tadjikistan sont limitées ; toutefois, au cours des dernières années, certaines entreprises canadiennes ont été actives au Tadjikistan, surtout dans les secteurs des mines (or et argent) et des infrastructures. En 2020, les exportations canadiennes de marchandises (principalement des produits alimentaires et des produits de métaux communs) vers le Tadjikistan se sont chiffrées à 3,1 millions de dollars, et les importations canadiennes en provenance du Tadjikistan étaient évaluées à 102 146 $.

Renseignements connexes