Statement on the Conviction of Kazakhstani Human Rights Defenders Maks Bokayev and Talgat Ayan

Canada joins the European Union, the United States, and others in expressing our concern over the decision of a Kazakhstani court to sentence human rights defenders Maks Bokayev and Talgat Ayan to five years imprisonment for their alleged roles in organizing peaceful demonstrations in the spring of 2016.  The rights to freedom of expression and peaceful assembly are fundamental to democratic and inclusive societies.  Human rights defenders play a key role in protecting and promoting human rights, strengthening the rule of law, and ensuring long-term social stability.

Canada shares the concerns raised by the UN Special Rapporteur on the rights to freedom of peaceful assembly and of association, and encourages Kazakhstan to ensure that fundamental freedoms are protected, in line with Kazakhstan’s constitution and its obligations under international law. Canada also remains concerned over the conduct and fairness of the legal process under which these two individuals were convicted, and encourages Kazakhstan to guarantee free and fair trials. Canada reiterates its recommendation made under Kazakhstan’s last Universal Periodic Review that Kazakhstan take steps to further strengthen the impartiality and independence of the judiciary and thoroughly investigate any allegations or complaints of corruption in its courts.

Canada continues to support institutional reforms in Kazakhstan and urges authorities to ensure that laudable progress is not undermined by the repression of the right of citizens to demonstrate peacefully or through the criminalization of peaceful dissent. The free exchange of ideas and perspectives creates opportunities to build inclusive and prosperous societies.

Déclaration sur la Condamnation des Défenseurs des Droit de l’Homme kazakhstanais Maks Bokayev et Talgat Ayan

Le Canada rejoint l'Union européenne, les États-Unis et les autres pour exprimer notre inquiétude face à la décision d'un tribunal kazakhstanais de condamner les défenseurs des droits de l’Homme Maks Bokayev et Talgat Ayan à cinq ans d'emprisonnement pour leur rôle présumé dans l’organisation des manifestations pacifiques au printemps 2016. Les droits à la liberté d'expression et de réunion pacifique sont fondamentaux pour les sociétés démocratiques et inclusives. Les défenseurs des droits de l'homme jouent un rôle essential dans la protection et la promotion des droits de l'homme, le renforcement de l'état de droit et la stabilité sociale à long terme.

Le Canada partage les préoccupations exprimées par le Rapporteur spécial des Nations unies sur les droits à la liberté de réunion pacifique et d'association, et encourage le Kazakhstan à veiller à ce que les libertés fondamentales soient protégées, conformément à la Constitution du Kazakhstan et à ses obligations découlant du droit international. Le Canada reste préoccupé par la conduite et l'équité du processus juridique dans lequel ces deux individus ont été condamnés, et encourage le Kazakhstan à garantir des procès libres et équitables. Le Canada réitère sa recommandation formulée dans le cadre du dernier Examen périodique universel du Kazakhstan selon lequel le Kazakhstan doit prendre des mesures pour renforcer l'impartialité et l'indépendance du pouvoir judiciaire et enquêter de manière approfondie toute allégation ou plainte de corruption dans ses tribunaux.

Le Canada continue à soutenir les réformes institutionnelles au Kazakhstan et exhorte aux autorités à veiller à ce que les progrès louables ne soient pas ébranlés par la répression du droit des citoyens de manifester pacifiquement ou par la criminalisation de la dissidence pacifique. Le libre échange d'idées et de perspectives crée des occasions de bâtir des sociétés inclusives et prospères.