Alan Hamson, Ambassador of Canada to Kazakhstan

Biography

Alan Hamson (BA Hons [Political Science], McGill University, 2004; LLM [International Law], University of London, 2012; MPA [Public Administration], Royal Military College, 2014) joined Foreign Affairs Canada in 2004.

In Ottawa, he has worked in the Human Rights, Humanitarian Affairs, and International Gender Equality Division (2004 to 2005), in the National Security Branch of the Privy Council Office (2013 to 2015) and as Director of Strategic Planning and Coordination in the Peace and Stabilization Operations Program (2018 to 2021).

His overseas assignments have included postings in Beijing (2006 to 2009), at the Provincial Reconstruction Team in Kandahar, Afghanistan (2009 to 2010) and in Kabul, Afghanistan (2010 to 2012). He was also Canada’s Ambassador to South Sudan (2016 to 2018).

Additionally, he undertook a short assignment at the Permanent Mission of Canada to the United Nations in New York (2005) and served with the International Committee of the Red Cross in Cali, Colombia (2015 to 2016).

He speaks English, French, Spanish, and Chinese (Mandarin) and is learning Russian.

He is a graduate of the National Security Programme at Canadian Forces College.

Alan Hamson, Ambassadeur du Canada au Kazakhstan

Biographie

M. Alan Hamson (B.A. avec spécialisation [sciences politiques], Université McGill, 2004; LL.M. [droit international], Université de Londres, 2012; M.A.P. [administration publique], Collège militaire royal, 2014) s’est joint à Affaires étrangères Canada en 2004.

À Ottawa, il a travaillé à la Direction des droits de la personne, des affaires humanitaires et de l’égalité internationale entre les sexes (de 2004 à 2005), au Secrétariat de la sécurité et du renseignement du Bureau du Conseil privé (de 2013 à 2015), et comme directeur de la planification stratégique et de la coordination au sein du Programme pour la stabilisation et les opérations de paix (de 2018 à 2021).

Il a occupé divers postes à l’étranger, notamment à Beijing (de 2006 à 2009), au sein de l’équipe de reconstruction provinciale à Kandahar, en Afghanistan (de 2009 à 2010), et à Kaboul, en Afghanistan (de 2010 à 2012). Il a également occupé le poste d’ambassadeur du Canada au Soudan du Sud (de 2016 à 2018).

En outre, il a effectué une brève affectation à la mission permanente du Canada auprès des Nations Unies à New York (2005), et a travaillé au Comité international de la Croix-Rouge à Cali, en Colombie (de 2015 à 2016).

Il parle anglais, français, espagnol, et chinois (mandarin), et il apprend le russe.

Il est diplômé du Programme de sécurité nationale du Collège des Forces canadiennes.