Canada - Kenya Relations

Canada - Kenya Relations

Canada established diplomatic relations with Kenya at the time of its independence in 1963. Canada’s High Commission in Nairobi is our  largest mission in Africa, accredited to Kenya as well as Burundi, Rwanda, Somalia, and Uganda, and the United Nations Environment Programme and UN-Habitat. Kenya is represented in Canada by a High Commission in Ottawa.

Canada and Kenya have an excellent relationship founded on a range of shared interests including poverty reduction, sustainable economic growth, the empowerment of women and girls, supporting refugees, and regional security and stability. Reflecting these common goals, President Kenyatta attended the G7 Summit in Charlevoix (QC) in 2018, as well as the Women Deliver Conference in Vancouver (BC) in 2019.

In November 2018, Canada co-hosted with Kenya a Sustainable Blue Economy Conference in Nairobi that addressed challenges such as growing the maritime economies of developing countries, the role of women in the Blue Economy, marine security, and the impact of climate change.

Kenya is host to the International Peace Support Training Centre (IPSTC) in Nairobi, with support from Canada which has a full-time Canadian Forces officer deployed there.. Kenya has been a member of Canada’s Military Training and Cooperation Programme since 1970, with over 440 Kenyan officers trained to date.

International assistance

In 2017-18, Canada provided $83.84 million in international assistance to Kenya. Canada’s international assistance is well aligned with Kenya’s overarching Vision 2030 strategy, and our support is helping Kenyans by:

  • increasing employment and economic opportunities, especially for women
  • improving access to quality health care for women and children
  • providing a safe, quality learning environment, and skills building, and technical and vocational training.

Canada’s support to Kenya includes humanitarian assistance, regional programming, and Canadian civil society initiatives.   The humanitarian assistance is directed to refugees from neighbouring countries as well as Kenyan communities impacted by cyclical drought and flooding.

Commercial relations

Canada has a well-established trade relationship with Kenya. In 2018, two-way merchandise trade reached $174.5 million. This consisted of $141.4 million in exports to Kenya and $33.1 million in imports from Kenya. Exports to Kenya mainly include vehicles and equipment, vegetable products, and textile products. Imports from Kenya are primarily vegetable products and textile products.

Relations Canada - Kenya

Relations Canada - Kenya

Le Canada a établi des relations diplomatiques avec le Kenya pendant l’indépendance de ce pays en 1963,.  le haut-commissariat du Canada à Nairobi, qui est la plus importante mission du Canada en Afrique, accrédité auprès du Burundi, du Rwanda, de la Somalie et de l’Ouganda, et du Programme des Nations Unies pour l’environnement et du Programme des Nations Unies pour les établissements humains. Au Canada, le Kenya est représenté par un haut-commissariat à Ottawa.

Les relations entre le Canada et le Kenya sont excellentes et reposent sur de nombreux intérêts communs, notamment la réduction de la pauvreté, la croissance économique durable, le renforcement du pouvoir des femmes et des filles, le soutien aux réfugiés, ainsi que la sécurité et la stabilité régionales.  Reflétant ces objectifs communs, le président Kenyatta a participé au Sommet du G7 à Charlevoix (QC) en 2018, ainsi qu'à la conférence Women Deliver à Vancouver (C-B), en 2019.

En novembre 2018, le Canada a co-organisé, avec le Kenya, une conférence sur l'économie bleue durable à Nairobi. Cette conférence a abordé des défis tels que la croissance des économies maritimes des pays en développement, le rôle des femmes dans l'économie bleue, la sécurité maritime et l’impact du changement climatique.

Le Kenya est l’hôte du Centre international de formation pour le soutien de la paix à Nairobi,que le Canada soutient par le biais d’un officier des Forces canadiennes à plein temps déployé là-bas.  Le Kenya est membre du Programme de l’instruction et de la coopération militaires du Canada depuis 1970, avec plus de 440 officiers kényans formés jusqu’à maintenant.

Aide internationale

En 2017-2018, le Canada a versé 83,84 millions de dollars en aide internationale au Kenya. L’aide internationale déployée par le Canada concorde bien avec la stratégie globale kényane intitulée Vision 2030, et nos efforts visent à aider les Kényans en faisant ce qui suit :

  • Accroître les possibilités économiques et d’emploi, surtout pour les femmes.
  • Améliorer l’accès aux soins de santé des femmes et des enfants.
  • Offrir un environnement d’apprentissage de qualité et sécuritaire, ainsi que la renforcement des compétences, et formation technique et professionnelle

L’appui du Canada au Kenya comprend de l’aide humanitaire, des programmes régionaux et des initiatives de la société civile canadienne. L'aide humanitaire est destinée aux réfugiés des pays voisins ainsi qu'aux communautés kenyanes touchées par la sécheresse cyclique et les inondations.

Relations commerciales

Le Canada entretient une relation commerciale solide avec le Kenya. En 2018, le commerce de marchandises entre les deux pays s’est chiffré à 174,5 millions de dollars. Ces échanges comprenaient des exportations vers le Kenya d’une valeur de 141,4 millions de dollars et des importations à partir du Kenya d’une valeur de 33,1 millions de dollars. Les exportations vers le Kenya sont principalement composées de véhicules et d’équipement, de produits d’origine végétale et de produits textiles. Les importations en provenance du Kenya sont principalement composées de produits d’origine végétale et de produits textiles.