Governor General’s visit to the Republic of Rwanda

#

Her Excellency Julie Payette, Governor General of Canada laying a wreath at the Kigali Genocide Memorial, witnessing the lighting of the Flame of Remembrance, and taking part in the Walk of Remembrance in Kigali.

At the invitation of the President of the Republic of Rwanda, Paul Kagame, Her Excellency the Right Honourable Julie Payette, Governor General of Canada attended the 25th Commemoration of the Genocide against the Tutsi. Along with more than 25 dignitaries, she participated in the commemoration events held in Kigali, on April 7.

Her Excellency lay a wreath at the Kigali Genocide Memorial and witnessing the lighting of the Flame of Remembrance, after which she attended the official commemoration ceremony, and took part in the Walk of Remembrance and the night vigil. Meaning “remember” in Kinyarwanda, Kwibuka25 honoured the lives lost and forever changed by the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi, so that it is neither forgotten nor repeated.

The visit also provided an opportunity for the Governor General and her accompanying delegation of prominent personalities to participate in other engaging activities. They met young boys and girls benefiting from a Right To Play program. The Canadian NGO works to protect, educate and empower children to rise above adversity using all forms of play. They also visited the African Institute for Mathematical Sciences (AIMS) to engage with young students, emphasising the importance of education, promoting careers in science and technology, especially women, with a view to contribute to Africa’s development.

The long-standing partnership between Canada and Rwanda was strengthened, notably through the Governor General’s meeting with President Kagame, during which they discussed shared values and priorities, discussions with local and international NGOs, as well as informal interactions with the Canadian community and friends of Canada.

Her Excellency Julie Payette, Governor General of Canada with Canadian dignitaries, in Kigali for the 25th Commemoration of the Genocide against the Tutsi.

Her Excellency Julie Payette Governor General of Canada meeting with Rwandan President, H.E Paul Kagame.

Her Excellency Julie Payette Governor General of Canada meeting with Rwandan President, H.E Paul Kagame.

Visite de la Gouverneure Générale en République du Rwanda

#

Son Excellence Julie Payette, Gouverneure Générale du Canada, a déposé une couronne au Mémorial du Génocide de Kigali, où elle a également été témoin de l'allumage de la Flamme du Souvenir et a participé à la Marche du Souvenir.

Sur l'invitation du Président de la République rwandaise, Paul Kagame, Son Excellence la Très Honorable Julie Payette, Gouverneure Générale du Canada, a assisté à la 25ème Commémoration du Génocide contre les Tutsis. Avec plus de 25 dignitaires, elle a participé aux événements commémoratifs qui se sont tenus à Kigali, le 7 avril.

Son Excellence a déposé une couronne au Mémorial du Génocide de Kigali et a assisté à l'allumage de la Flamme du Souvenir, après quoi elle a assisté à la cérémonie de commémoration officielle, et participé à la Marche du Souvenir et à la veillée nocturne. Signifiant « souvenons-nous » en kinyarwanda, Kwibuka25 a honoré les vies perdues et à jamais changées par le Génocide de 1994 contre les Tutsis, de sorte que cela ne soit ni oublié ni répété.

La visite a également été l’occasion pour la Gouverneure Générale et la délégation de personnalités éminentes qui l’accompagnent de participer à d’autres activités engageantes. Ils ont rencontré des jeunes garçons et filles bénéficiant d’un programme de Right To Play. L'ONG canadienne s'emploie à protéger, éduquer et responsabiliser les enfants afin qu'ils surmontent l'adversité en utilisant toutes les formes de jeu. Ils ont également visité l’Institut Africain des Sciences Mathématiques (AIMS) pour dialoguer avec les jeunes étudiants, en soulignant l’importance de l’éducation et en promouvant les carrières scientifiques et technologiques, en particulier des femmes, en vue de contribuer au développement de l’Afrique.

Le partenariat de longue date entre le Canada et le Rwanda a été renforcé, notamment par la réunion de la Gouverneure Générale avec le président Kagame, au cours de laquelle ils ont discuté des valeurs et des priorités partagées, des discussions avec des ONG locales et internationales, ainsi que des échanges informels avec la communauté canadienne et les amis du Canada.

Son Excellence Julie Payette, Gouverneure Générale du Canada avec des dignitaires canadiens, à Kigali, à l'occasion de la 25ème commémoration du Génocide contre les Tutsis.

Son Excellence Julie Payette, Gouverneure Générale du Canada, rencontre le président rwandais, S.E Paul Kagame.

Son Excellence Julie Payette, Gouverneure Générale du Canada, rencontre le président rwandais, S.E Paul Kagame.