Canada Gives Women Rights Organizations in Kenya a major boost

April 1st, 2019 – Nairobi, Kenya - Global Affairs Canada and CARE

Canada is pleased to announce, in partnership with CARE International, a new CAD 7,8M Women’s Voice and Leadership initiative that will strengthen the capacity of Women’s Rights Organizations in Kenya to promote gender equality.  

The initiative, funded by Canada and led by CARE Kenya, will support approximately 120 women’s rights organizations across the country. It will support them to enhance their structures, programming and ability to deliver quality services to promote women’s and girls’ rights and equal opportunities for everyone. It will also enhance the effectiveness of women’s rights platforms in Kenya.

“Canada is proud of its contribution to Kenya’s Women’s Voice and Leadership initiative. We strongly believe that gender equality is one of the most effective ways to eradicate poverty. This initiative will help to promote a vibrant, sustained and healthy women’s rights movement that will ensure women’s voices are heard to the benefit of everyone,” said Canadian High Commissioner to Kenya Lisa Stadelbauer in her opening remarks at the project launch in Nairobi.

“We are truly excited about the potentials of the Women’s Voice and Leadership program. This innovative feminist program, designed and run by local women’s organizations, will link together women’s groups throughout the country, allowing them to engage, learn and multiply their successes. The ripple effect of this program will have a positive impact for generations” said CARE Canada President and CEO Gillian Barth.

Quick Facts

The Women’s Voice and Leadership initiative, which was launched in 2017 as part of Canada’s Feminist International Assistance Policy, responds to the needs of local women’s organizations and movements in developing countries, which are working to advance the rights of women and girls and promote gender equality.

CARE International in Kenya

CARE is a leading humanitarian and development organization fighting global poverty. CARE places a special focus on working alongside women and girls because, equipped with the proper resources, they have the power to lift whole families and entire communities out of poverty. CARE commenced its humanitarian programme in Kenya in 1968. Since then CARE has built a substantial development and humanitarian program including refugee operations; emergency response; livelihoods and resilience; food security; climate change adaptation; water, sanitation and hygiene; sexual, reproductive and maternal health; women and girls’ economic empowerment, youth employability and inclusive governance.

Le Canada donne un gros coup de pouce aux Organisations de Défense des Droits des Femmes au Kenya

1er avril 2019 – Nairobi, Kenya - Affaires Mondiales Canada et CARE

Le Canada, en partenariat avec CARE International, est heureux d’annoncer une nouvelle initiative Voix et Leadership des Femmes de 7,8 millions de dollars canadiens visant à renforcer les capacités des Organisations de Défense des Droits des Femmes au Kenya pour promouvoir l’égalité des sexes.

L’initiative, financée par le Canada et dirigée par CARE Kenya, appuiera environ 120 organisations de défense des droits des femmes à travers le pays. Elle les aidera à améliorer leurs structures, leurs programmes et leur capacité à fournir des services de qualité afin de promouvoir les droits des femmes et des filles et l’égalité des chances pour tous. Il renforcera également l’efficacité des plates-formes des droits des femmes au Kenya.

« Le Canada est fier de sa contribution à l’initiative Voix et Leadership des Femmes au Kenya. Nous sommes fermement convaincus que l’égalité des sexes est l’un des moyens les plus efficaces d’éliminer la pauvreté. Cette initiative contribuera à promouvoir un mouvement de défense des droits des femmes dynamique, durable et sain qui garantira que les voix des femmes seront entendues au profit de tous », a déclaré la haut-commissaire du Canada au Kenya, Lisa Stadelbauer, lors du lancement du projet à Nairobi.

« Nous sommes vraiment enthousiasmés par les potentialités du programme Voix et Leadership des Femmes. Ce programme féministe novateur, conçu et géré par des organisations féminines locales, établira un lien entre les groupes de femmes à travers le pays, leur permettant de s’engager, d’apprendre et de multiplier leurs succès. Les répercussions de ce programme auront un impact positif pour les générations futures », a déclaré la Présidente et Directrice Générale de CARE Canada, Gillian Barth.

Présentation Rapide

L'initiative Voix et Leadership des Femmes a été lancée en 2017 dans le cadre de la Politique d'Assistance Internationale du Féminisme du Canada et répond aux besoins des organisations et mouvements de femmes locaux dans les pays en développement, qui s'emploient à promouvoir les droits des femmes et des filles et à promouvoir l'égalité des sexes.

CARE International au Kenya

CARE est une organisation humanitaire et de développement de premier plan luttant contre la pauvreté dans le monde. CARE s’attache tout particulièrement à travailler aux côtés des femmes et des filles car dotées des ressources appropriées, elles ont le pouvoir de sortir des familles et des communautés entières de la pauvreté. CARE a lancé son programme humanitaire au Kenya en 1968. Depuis, CARE a mis en place un programme de développement et humanitaire important, comprenant des opérations en faveur des réfugiés; de réponse d'urgence; de moyens de subsistance et de résilience; de sécurité alimentaire; d’adaptation au changement climatique; d’eau, d’assainissement et d’hygiène; de santé sexuelle, reproductive et maternelle; d’autonomisation économique des femmes et des filles, d’employabilité des jeunes et de gouvernance inclusive.